David Jones Employee Reviews about "amex cards"

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
David Jones CEO  Iain Nairn
Iain Nairn
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great staff discount, you will be spending a lot of money here(in 122 reviews)

  • "Good work environment, making long term friends and relationships(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pressure to sell AMEX cards versus the hours allocated as a casual(in 29 reviews)

  • "Heavy focus on individual sales and credit card sales(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "amex cards"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales assistant"

    5.0
     

    I worked at David Jones

    Pros

    Great discounts, 20% of all items included products on sale

    Cons

    Pushed to sell the amex cards

    David Jones2018-04-09
  2. "Amex cards are all that matters"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Garden City
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues who genuinely try.

    Cons

    Horrible and toxic work environment, built upon selling amex cards

    Continue reading
    David Jones2020-01-21
  3. "Stressful and boring"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Newcastle
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff are great and the discounts

    Cons

    I didn’t believe it when I read glass door reviews that David Jones would be so bad... I won’t make that mistake again! Definitely high stress pressure to sell Amex cards, and constant reviews on your work (even though I never show up late, have stayed back when asked because of short staff and not once called in sick even when I had the flu!)no wonder it’s hard for them to find reliable staff. I’m out of here!

    Continue reading
    David Jones2019-07-30
  4. "Great discount and brands to work with...But awful, awful management and training"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, great pay, workplace always clean and safe, lovely to work with nice brands, most of the staff is lovely too.

    Cons

    Awful management, too many inexperienced assistant managers on power trips who bully and micro manage hard working staff into leaving. Also doesn't matter how many KPIs you achieve on sales targets and customer capture, and how good your customer service is, if you can't sell an AMEX card say goodbye to your job.

    David Jones2019-06-08
  5. "Decent place to work in to earn extra money"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Sydney
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at David Jones part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Double staff discount days

    Cons

    Pressure to sell AMEX cards versus the hours allocated as a casual

    David Jones2019-05-09
  6. "Sales advisor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at David Jones part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, manager is friendly

    Cons

    Shortage of staff, too much pressure to sell AMEX cards

    David Jones2019-04-11
  7. "Good team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time

    Pros

    Nice people working with, excluding the manager

    Cons

    Always pushing about the Amex card

    David Jones2018-12-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Underwhelming"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time

    Pros

    - Staff discount - Friendly team - Flexible hours

    Cons

    - Amex card selling too much of a priority - this wasn't mentioned at all in the interview process ( if it had been I would never have applied) and it is wholly inappropriate to demand staff to bully customers into debt with a discredited credit company - 'Dark Ages' demeanour - DJs needs to keep up with the times of retail. Invest less money into things that dont matter and more into the staff who work the hours - Christmas is a farce - you would think there would be more budgeted hours for Christmas trade but the truth is there were even less available in hopes of creating a wider profit margin.

    David Jones2018-08-20
  9. "Too much focus on SAs to sell AMEX cards"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team culture, helpful team members

    Cons

    Minimum salary if you are just a regular sales assistant Too much pressure to selling the AMEX cards

    David Jones2018-05-08
  10. "David Jones Kotara"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Kotara
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at David Jones part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    20% staff discount, air conditioned..

    Cons

    Where do I start.. - management have ZERO empathy towards any staff member. - pushy towards Amex cards (even if the employee feels uncomfortable) - poor communication to staff on the selling floor - cold/cut off approach to handing staff Problems - robotic approach to customer service and standing on the floor

    Continue reading
    David Jones2018-03-01
Found 29 reviews