Deakin University Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Deakin University Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Deakin University CEO Jane den Hollander
Jane den Hollander
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "friendly, good working environment, work ethics(in 12 reviews)

  • "Forward-thinking, always piloting new initiatives, flexible work arrangements can be negotiated, friendly environment(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Work load can be high, lack of experience in some managers, inconsistent rewards and benefits across areas and teams(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Assistant Review at Deakin University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Research Assistant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deakin University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary with many benefits, prompt response

    Cons

    A little bit far from the city center

    Deakin University2019-08-07
  2. "Deakin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Deakin University full-time

    Pros

    Very good IT I am enjoying working there

    Cons

    No cons so far. Very flexible workplace

    Deakin University2019-10-07
  3. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Deakin University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well looked after by management Good salary

    Cons

    Lack of employee benefits for casuals

    Deakin University2019-10-01
  4. "great campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deakin University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flexible work hours and opportunities for career growth

    Cons

    rapid growth is not be sustainable

    Deakin University2019-08-09
  5. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Waurn Ponds

    I have been working at Deakin University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and quiet: in Waurn Ponds, people are very friendly. If you are a researcher, it is very easy to find a quiet place to think about your problems.

    Cons

    There are not so many world class researchers at Deakin. The quality of undergrads student is not very high.

    Deakin University2019-07-31
  6. "Student at Deakin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Deakin University full-time

    Pros

    Good for self learning

    Cons

    some units are either not funded enough or not very well structures

    Deakin University2019-07-08
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Deakin University full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and good wages

    Cons

    Nothing particular comes to mind

    Deakin University2019-06-19
  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Fellow in Waurn Ponds

    I have been working at Deakin University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good research and educational environment

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment

    Deakin University2019-06-11
  9. "Flexible work arrangements, opaque management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Deakin University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work arrangements are available including flex time, flexible hours and reduced hours. Good for employees with a family.

    Cons

    Limited staff development. Opaque staff promotion and remuneration. Management via hearsay, favoritism, and politics.

    Advice to Management

    Staff development is important. Staff engagement is important.

    Deakin University2019-06-20
  10. "Flexible, fair and progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Burwood, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Deakin University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Forward-thinking, always piloting new initiatives, flexible work arrangements can be negotiated, friendly environment

    Cons

    Politics at the senior levels affects funding and some strange decisions result.

    Advice to Management

    Progress hampered by structure, many duplications and inefficiencies. Efforts to create inclusive culture & flexible work arrangements & tech to facilitate that are fantastic.

    Deakin University2019-06-06
Found 90 reviews