Dollar General Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Dollar General Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5848 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1641 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management constantly changes things on you(in 237 reviews)

  • "Long hours constantly changing expectations making it hard to do your job(in 214 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Typical Corporate Machine that undervalues its human resources."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Sales Associate in Ohio
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Our store manager is one of the hardest-working people I have ever met, and is the reason that the work environment is positive despite all of the shortcomings of the Corporate Plan for store operations.

    Cons

    Where to begin...Work hours are regularly cut, leaving too much work for the two people per shift (a manager and cashier), no support system for regular store maintenance (we went three weeks without AC last summer), overworking of managers (60-70 hrs/week), sales/average basket counts hurt employee morale when they write you up for not selling enough product, corporate distrusts employees more than customers (believe...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unline your corporate pockets and dole out some support to your stores, provide incentives for employees to experience success in a competitive environment. Most of your employees are loyal and spend enough time in your stores to consider them a second home. Treat them like loyal and coveted resources instead of suspect #1 and you will reap the benefits of having a company that is united and productive.

    Dollar General2013-04-29
  2. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Gilbert, SC

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Customer Service to customers

    Cons

    Pay rates for employee's not enough

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employee's

    Dollar General2019-06-18
  3. "Pay could have been a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Store Manager 

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fast growing - Great leaders

    Cons

    - Minimum wage - Poor work culture from executives - Abusive of power

    Dollar General2019-06-16
  4. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager Candidate in Pownal, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Many opportunities for growth in the company

    Cons

    None that I have experienced

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay to attract more talent

    Dollar General2019-06-14
  5. "Down Right Racist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Gladewater, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Because I get first pick on all the cute clothes and shoes for the kids

    Cons

    Working in an environment where you feel like CINDERELLA.

    Advice to Management

    Stop watching me because I'm black,and stop thinking that every black person steals. Yr ea at all employees the exact same

    Dollar General2019-06-14
  6. "I would take inventory and auditing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control in Spartanburg, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Coworkers are friendly and they get along well.

    Cons

    Better your knowledge in understanding the different fields in your career.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your employees motivated in every aspect.

    Dollar General2019-06-13
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Tampa, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay, flexibility, and plenty of room for advancemrnt

    Cons

    There were no cons other then having some difficult customers

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Dollar General2019-06-12
  8. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My customers were the best part of my job

    Cons

    There are none keep it going

    Advice to Management

    I love y’all keep up the good work

    Dollar General2019-06-12
  9. "Too many responsibilities for low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time

    Pros

    Alway something to do during the shift

    Cons

    The job title means nothing more than a sales associate that gets to do both assistant manager and sales associate duties. The salary is not worth the work

    Dollar General2019-06-13
  10. "Work life balance is an issue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed the actual work. My position gave me some control over the enviroment, so independently as a store I loved it and my staff.

    Cons

    Having work-life balance is hard. It is possible but you miss out on family.

    Advice to Management

    Managers need 2 days off a week.

    Dollar General2019-06-12
Found 5848 reviews