Dollar General Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Dollar General Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5996 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1707 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management constantly changes things on you(in 241 reviews)

  • "Long hours constantly changing expectations making it hard to do your job(in 215 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A nice plce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Checkout 

    I worked at Dollar General part-time

    Pros

    Good team environment for starter employees

    Cons

    Bad hours- did not accommodate my needs

    Dollar General2019-08-13
  2. "Typical Corporate Machine that undervalues its human resources."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Sales Associate in Ohio
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Our store manager is one of the hardest-working people I have ever met, and is the reason that the work environment is positive despite all of the shortcomings of the Corporate Plan for store operations.

    Cons

    Where to begin...Work hours are regularly cut, leaving too much work for the two people per shift (a manager and cashier), no support system for regular store maintenance (we went three weeks without AC last summer), overworking of managers (60-70 hrs/week), sales/average basket counts hurt employee morale when they write you up for not selling enough product, corporate distrusts employees more than customers (believe...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unline your corporate pockets and dole out some support to your stores, provide incentives for employees to experience success in a competitive environment. Most of your employees are loyal and spend enough time in your stores to consider them a second home. Treat them like loyal and coveted resources instead of suspect #1 and you will reap the benefits of having a company that is united and productive.

    Dollar General2013-04-29
  3. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Drasco, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and co-workers

    Cons

    None really. Great place to work

    Dollar General2019-08-16
  4. "Fast paced but steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stead hours and mixed shifts

    Cons

    No set days off and very fast paced environment

    Dollar General2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a good first retail job. As a cashier, as long as you're not a lead, you never are working alone the bulk of your shift. You get a lunch break - half an hour if you're there five hours and an hour if you work eight or more.

    Cons

    We were automatically clocked out at a specific time every night and were expected to finish working (pulling garbage, mopping, etc.) even after we were clocked out and this was not adjusted afterward. It can be hard to keep checking for customers at your register if you are assigned to shelve products or clean a distant area of the store. No chances for raises unless you get promoted to keyholder; it's strictly minimum...

    Show More
    Dollar General2019-08-14
  6. "A nice job for the Summers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good job for a first job, good people

    Cons

    Same as any other retail

    Dollar General2019-08-14
  7. "It's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice coworkers, paycheck every 2 weeks

    Cons

    minimum wage, other coworkers doing bare minimum of work

    Dollar General2019-08-14
  8. "bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time

    Pros

    love the customers and the working there part

    Cons

    none really, bad management in general

    Dollar General2019-08-15
  9. "Not the worst place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Lawrenceburg, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If fulltime, the benefits are fabulous! Health and life insurance, dental, vision, 401k, as well as perks for completion of various tasks in the benefits section of the website. The customers are great people.

    Cons

    Some districts have inside drama that no one should have to contend with.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, especially the ones that customers follow from store to store!

    Dollar General2019-08-12
  10. "It’s a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Shift Lead 

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a really laid back job , not hard work

    Cons

    You pretty much have to fend for yourself if you want off . Or at least the one I work at you do . And when it comes to your kids being sick and you have a doctors note to be off you still have to work !

    Dollar General2019-08-12
Found 5996 reviews