DraftKings Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

DraftKings Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
DraftKings CEO Jason Robins
Jason Robins
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons for this company at all(in 6 reviews)

  • "Without an HR overall DK will be in the headlines soon(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Surpassed my expectations and assumptions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The company is full of dynamic, intelligent, and young people - Explosive growth and exciting potential - You have the opportunity to make a difference because the company is small enough to quickly adapt change - Perks that do not come with strings attached: free manicures, massages, blowouts/haircuts, food, beer/wine, yoga, trivia nights, group outings - Gorgeous modern office in Back Bay

    Cons

    - Still very much a male organization (no women in executive positions, mostly male employees), but the company is actively and genuinely working on diversity, equity and inclusion

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in minds other than the sports-obsessed software engineer/analyst. I am happy to be a part of DraftKings even though I don't fit the typical DK stereotypes, and I want to see the company embrace even more cultural change. Continue being transparent and responsible.

    DraftKings2019-10-05

    DraftKings Response

    October 7, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your thoughtful review. These are exciting times at DraftKings, and our explosive growth mixed with great employees, perks, and office space makes DraftKings a fun place to work. Vanessa, who leads Inclusion, Equity, + Belonging, joined DraftKings to partner with all of us to provide an inclusive environment where everyone can do their best work. Feel free to reach out to her if you have any questions or suggestions. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. They push DraftKings to think more progressively to attract and retain high-caliber talent. Jason

    Show Less
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of people who are ace

    Cons

    Competitive culture, and stressful travel

    DraftKings2019-10-09

    DraftKings Response

    October 9, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best moving forward. Jason

  3. "Wholly Collaborate, Supportive, and Engaging Community of Innovative Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workplace experience 

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative Community, Supportive Management and Execs, Open Conversations Welcome, Open-Door Policy, Friendly Employees, Diverse Community, Dress Down Policy, Unlimited Vaca

    Cons

    Hours are not super flexible

    DraftKings2019-10-02

    DraftKings Response

    October 4, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your hard work. Workplace Experience is the core of keeping our offices running smoothly and providing a great experience for employees and visitors. We know the hours can be long, but please talk to your direct manager or HR Business Partner about how we can better support your work/life blend. Thank you again for your review. Jason

    Show Less
  4. "Great place to work with a couple caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Site Reliability Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can and will learn a lot Can wear many hats Infinite problems to solve Alcohol and gaming Great benefits

    Cons

    Mostly windows environment Making mistakes can be unforgivable A lot of old infrastructure that needs to be upgraded

    Advice to Management

    Don't say you won't do something punitive and come back weeks later with something punitive Be more forgiving. We learn from mistakes. Sometimes an overly complex solution will delay the solution. Did see a few PRs get denied because they weren't object oriented Python

    DraftKings2019-09-26

    DraftKings Response

    September 27, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    We appreciate your honest feedback and calling out our areas of improvement. We agree we can make changes as we continue to navigate uncharted territories and will share your review with Travis and team. Accountability and open feedback forces all of us to raise our game. Continue to hold us accountable and share your further thoughts on Glassdoor or internally with our HR team or your direct manager. Jason

    Show Less
  5. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time

    Pros

    -culture -energy -team environment -investing in the right things

    Cons

    I really love the company! I’m pretty new and I have been welcomed with open arms.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward!!

    DraftKings2019-09-20

    DraftKings Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Welcome to DraftKings! We are happy to read about your excitement working here. Please continue to let us know of areas of opportunities as we reinvent technology in sports. Jason

  6. "On the Right Track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time

    Pros

    I like the camaraderie amongst cross-functional teams. Even if someone does not understand your role, they will assist you in any manner. I respect the culture of saying what you mean. There's a lot of radical transparency, and the feedback helps you improve as an employee. The perks and benefits are good and continue to improve. I feel as I can be myself at DraftKings and do my best work.

    Cons

    Do more to implement company values into the culture and lexicon of the company. We have grown quite a bit and can use updated values as a compass for employees to follow.

    Advice to Management

    No one stays on top forever. Keep your foot on the pedal and continue to adapt and grow.

    DraftKings2019-09-18

    DraftKings Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Please continue to let us know how we can improve as a company. Jason

  7. "The interview sold the company to me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Owner in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I talked to was extremely friendly, they made me feel comfortable and the interview questions were conversational. Huge plus was that no one asked me the same question!

    Cons

    It took longer than I would have liked

    DraftKings2019-09-18

    DraftKings Response

    September 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for leaving your thoughts on DraftKings. Please continue to give us your feedback on how to improve the company and to support your career growth. Jason

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great on paper... just terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Snacks, perks, and new office space

    Cons

    HR is useless. The attempts at growth have been atrocious for our retention numbers. We lose good and tenured employees for more overpaid, lazy, and subpar employees. Diversity is a joke. We have lost two brown women (note we really only have four) but still showcase them on our website as tokens. Our issues are still very prominent to old employees who aren’t wowed by the snacks and $15k video game system in the... caf anymore. We all see through the bad exec leadership and the rampant favoritism and nepotism hires. You lose good quality people by underpaying them, micromanaging them, and then not supporting them or listening to their concerns. Stop drafting fake reviews.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites. See people for what they are and the work they produce. Clean house in your HR department. You have 10+ people, and no one contributes anything of value. You will continue to lose the people who helped you get to where DK is. Be genuine about your issues (racism, nepotism, unconscious bias, etc) and really be proactive and tackle them. Blowing smoke up people’s behind and gaslighting them... isn’t help your cause. Get rid of people who don’t contribute to the greatest success or you will continue to lose more of your tenured staff.

    Show More
    DraftKings2019-09-20

    DraftKings Response

    September 25, 2019VP, People

    We appreciate your thoughtful and candid feedback regarding your DraftKings experience. As Chief People Officer, I strive to provide a work environment where all employees can do their best work. I'm personally disappointed by your feedback and would like to meet with you in person to address your concerns. Please reach out to me directly. -Graham

    Show Less
  9. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are great, Room for improvements and growing

    Cons

    Benefits can be better in areas of medical and dental coverage, 401k contribution

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up, continuous improvement that's what makes us move forward!

    DraftKings2019-08-02

    DraftKings Response

    August 2, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are happy that you are enjoying working with your teammates. The benefits of a growing company are room for improvement. We are consistently looking for ways to improve the experience of our employees, and offering competitive benefits is always a goal for us. Continue to let us know how we can improve. Thank you, Jason

    Show Less
  10. "Proud to be at DraftKings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DraftKings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - DK Perks - Amazing work culture - Wonderful People

    Cons

    - Employee Recognition needs some improvement but I know we are working on it so nothing really.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the good work while we are growing. Proud to be at DraftKings

    DraftKings2019-07-04

    DraftKings Response

    July 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to have you at DraftKings and let us know how we can better support your career growth. Jason

Found 113 reviews