E. & J. Gallo Winery Manager Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
85 Ratings
  1. "My Time at Gallo"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Great company that treats you well!

    Cons

    You will be busy and always on, but that's sales!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 10, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your sharing your Gallo experience with us. Best of luck to you! Cheers!

  2. "Great Company Culture & Rewarding Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Work Type, Work-Life Balance

    Cons

    Promotion Criteria Transparency could be improved.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your feedback around clarifying the criteria around promotions. I will be forwarding this to our Marketing and HR leaders for visibility. Thanks for all you do!

  3. "Gallo"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager 

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Family Owned. Flexible Schedule. Great culture

    Cons

    Travel. Relocation required to advance

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It made our day! Cheers!

  4. "Family Owned Feels Like Home"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Leadership is goals-focused and supports their organization. Housing prices nearby are more reasonable than the local Bay Area counties.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is rare. If you don’t have an influential champion as a direct manager, many have to move out of the company to move up in role or responsibility.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 15, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback! We want to address your comments around upward mobility. The career advancement of our employees is important to us and we seek to fill open roles with internal talent whenever possible. Please reach out to your Manager and/or HR Manager to discuss your feedback in greater detail. Thanks for all you do!

  5. "Emphasis on growth and development!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    - ability to grow through exploring new roles within organization - great company that prioritizes a culture of learning and growth - benefits and pay are more than comparable for the area

    Cons

    - area: it is still pricey to live in the Central Valley compared to other parts of the country. Everything is within two hours, but nothing is close

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    February 18, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for the feedback! We wish you the best of luck in the future. Cheers!

  6. "Amazing company and fun industry, but not ideal location"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Company is family-owned and it is clear that they genuinely care about their employees. - Best-in-class training and education opportunities. - Forward-thinking marketing leaders, despite smaller budgets. - Strong leadership across multiple business units. It was invaluable have leaders with extensive experience & tenure. - Excellent benefits & perks.

    Cons

    - Headquarters in Modesto is not ideal and can make for a long commute. You can live affordably in Modesto, but there aren't a ton of jobs for a household with two full-time workers. - Promotion decisions were inconsistent. It can depend on work assignment and open roles, rather than merit.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    February 11, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best of luck in the future. Cheers!

  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong ability to rotate across positions, even across functions in some areas of the company. Very nice Modesto campus. Lots of tenured employees provide great knowledge balanced by fresh perspectives recruited from the outside. Gallo does not stand still. And let's face it, the wine industry is just a lot of fun.

    Cons

    With all the opportunities, the past year has been unusually busy with lots going on.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate all you do to make Gallo a great place to work. Happy Holidays!

  8. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly competitive and results oriented. A lot of opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Expectations are set very high

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate all you do! Happy Holidays!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Focus on Innovation and Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company is really focused on innovation and industry growth. They are willing to take risks on new products and new ideas. - They really foster the family environment in which you try and make each other better and stronger. You will challenge and push people to succeed but also be there to help catch them if they fall. - Salary and Benefits are competitive and they offer some telecommute options and the East Bay bus as an added benefit.

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be tough with certain roles. People need to realize that in some parts of the organization its a 24-5 or 24-7 operations and you need to support. - Senior/Executive leaders seems distant in understanding some of the overall team sacrifices it took for the implementation of SAP.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 5, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your honest feedback as well as the 3+ years you have spent with Gallo. We want you to know that we understand and truly appreciate the time, sacrifice and effort it took to implement SAP. For further visibility, your review will be shared with our IT and HR leadership teams. Thanks again for all you do! Cheers! Pete Vitarisi Sr. Director, Human Resources

  10. "Great traning/experience for first job out of college but needs to work on transparency"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company does a great job focusing on training their employees in sales, as well as, wine knowledge. You have to expect to work hard but you learn a lot. I had amazing co-workers, training and culture for my initial role out of college. Benifits are amazing compared to the market.

    Cons

    When you get into higher roles lack of transparencey from upper management leaves for unclear next steps and high turn over rates recently. Top level management expects people to follow blidly with no explination and is combative when anyone questions the process.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 1, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your honest and thoughtful feedback. We will be sharing your review with the Sales Leadership team. Best of luck to you!

Found 110 reviews