E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 748 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
523 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discounted wine is also a great perk(in 80 reviews)

  • "Solid stance on work/life balance(in 79 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome company and even better people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are benefits to working for a large publicly traded large company and there are benefits to working for a family own company. Gallo is the best of both worlds having the power to make moves of a large publicly traded company while still holding the values of a family owned business.

    Cons

    Nothing bad enough to make a con list.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-13

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for the feedback, we appreciate you!

  2. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, the people, the people

    Cons

    Willingness to move and relocate often

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for the review!

  3. "Multiple Avenues for Professional Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being the largest winery, the brands that you're able to work with are endless.

    Cons

    With this rapid growth, they're constantly looking to better their organizational structure in which you need to be flexible and go with the flow.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your insight!

  4. "Dynamic Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the adult beverage industry CHANGE is happening at an historic pace and Gallo is leading the charge with portfolio innovation, systems upgrades, and investing in people. Exciting time to be with an amazing, family owned company.

    Cons

    Must be a self starter capable of working independently. If you need constant direction and motivation Gallo may not be the best fit for you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in people of all experience levels. From year 1 to, in some cases, year 40 or more people feel the investment Gallo makes in training, incentives, and job security and give back to their job an incredible level of engagement.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-11

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoy working at Gallo and will pass your "Advice to Management" along to leadership. Cheers!

  5. "Great Company and Great Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Hospitality Supervisor in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gallo provides a great environment to work in. Promoting growth and development from within. Great leadership who continue to hire the best which makes for some of the best team members ever!!

    Cons

    As with all large companies your ability to move positions is limited without a college degree.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-10

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 11, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your 5+ years of hard work. We appreciate all you do to make Gallo a great place to work!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "People matter here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People here are dedicated and care about their work. Employees are more than a number - people matter to the leadership of the company. I feel like an individual who is known and valued, and I can drive my career where I want it to go!

    Cons

    The heavy workload is intense and constant. We often don't stop to celebrate our successes before moving on to the next challenge. Change is also constant. Be prepared to handle it!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-05

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 5, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you taking the time to share your feedback. While we appreciate that our employees are so dedicated, we 100% agree that all of us need to stop and celebrate the wins. We will be sharing your feedback with our IT leadership team. Cheers to you!

  7. "Review2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookkeeper in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, Schedule, Competitive salary, flexibility

    Cons

    Until now I didn't find any, I am very pleasure working here

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-06

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 7, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for the review, we appreciate it!

  8. "Great Company !!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Statistical Processor in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The mission that drives this company is amazing, and it really unites everyone to work together as a team.

    Cons

    None so far, keep it up!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-06

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 6, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review and for your 10+ years at Gallo!

  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great group of co-workers -Company genuinely follows the values it preaches -Very collaborative environment -Everyone is willing to roll their sleeves up and do the work -Great healthcare and retirement benefits -Lots of perks, including shuttles from the East Bay

    Cons

    -Location makes it tough to retain talent -Tough to push marketing priorities through the organization when faced with urgent vs. important problems

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-06

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 6, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for the great feedback! We appreciate you!

  10. "Fantastic pay, work-life balance, and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The recruiting process is streamlined. The HR reps had the best communication out of all the companies I interviewed with. Every single person I have met smiles with genuine joy when asked about what it is like to work here. Great benefits too!

    Cons

    Two words: Help Desk :/// The support line is 24/7 online but 1/7 on the helpful scale

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! Excited for the future.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-05

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 5, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Great feedback that we will be sharing with our IT team. Thanks for all you do!

Found 748 reviews