E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 23 September 2018
582 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
377 Ratings

582 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "In my department there is a strong emphasis of work life balance which is really important to me" (in 57 reviews)

  • "Amazing culture and great people" (in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be difficult" (in 62 reviews)

  • "Pretty long hours most of the time" (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Love Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Livingston, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Associate Engineer in Livingston, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They treat us very well and make the job feel rewarding

    Cons

    Some jobs roles are way more stressful than others

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    21 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for your great review. It made our day! Thanks for all you do. Cheers!


  2. "Private Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Ability to remain a privately owned company

    Cons

    Work / life balance is not practiced in all department

    Advice to Management

    Focus on whats important - your people. Salaried people re being asekd to do much more than run the business

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    21 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback and for all that you do for Gallo. Cheers!

  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good work culture
    Flexibility
    Manageable work hours

    Cons

    The headquarter is in Modesto where I worked. Although they have offices elsewhere too.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    17 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your great review. We really appreciate it. Best of luck to you! Cheers!


  4. "A great career - not a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Incredible employees that form a unique, competitive, and fun culture owned by a family that cares about it's people and gives what is needed to succeed.

    Cons

    All of sales starts at the bottom - not a Con to those of us that did it, but some may not agree with the process.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    14 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review and for all you do!


  5. "Space Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very flexible hours and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth at this position although it is primarily a part time position anyways.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    14 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best of luck in the future. Cheers.


  6. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great training and great people. Culture is awesome and a lot of independence in role.

    Cons

    Outside business conditions, tend to push too much and enough is never enough of the best people. Heavy emphasis on time served when it should be merit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep valuing your people, and make sure they know that. Easy to get forgotten in outside sales and more transparency in promotion process.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    24 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We want you to know that we will be sharing your review with our Sales leaders and that we truly appreciate all of the hard work you put in to make Gallo... More


  7. Helpful (8)

    ""Built on relationships" (aka. It's all about who you know.)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great work life balance and opportunities to grow if you're willing to jump around from role to role or department to department.

    Cons

    1. Company hasn't figured out how to continuously reward high functioning individual contributors which leads employees to constantly shift from role to role and/or department to department. 2. There seems to be a lack of career planning- its pushed down to the employee ("you're responsible for your own success"). There's also heavy emphasis placed on time served when it should be merit. 4. Special dispensations are abundant, but its all about who you know.

    Advice to Management

    Tear down the 'old white male' walls built around certain job roles/departments and add transparency to pay. (The later will help with the former.)

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    18 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your detailed feedback. We appreciate your transparency, but would also recommend reaching out to your HR Business Partner regarding your concerns around career planning and rotations... More

  8. "Amazing Company & Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Amazingly smart people
    Promotes from within
    Employees have lives outside of work
    Fun and exciting industry

    Cons

    The new office space is state-of-the-art, but the city of Modesto is nothing to write home about.. Still the company and its culture outweigh the location a hundred times over.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    10 Sep 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing such amazing feedback and we certainly appreciate all that you do for Gallo. Cheers!


  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I enjoy being a part of such a great company, there are many ways to grow in the organization and expand your learning. I may have only been here for a few years but I am very happy to be here.

    Cons

    They stop serving coffee after 3:00 p.m.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    28 Aug 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your great review. We will be sure to pass along your feedback regarding the coffee too. :) Thanks again and we are so glad you are here!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wine Panelist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery part-time

    Pros

    Fun, continuous learning environment. Wonderful supervisor and sensory team.

    Cons

    Although my work experience with Gallo was a joy, there wasn't really any opportunity for promotion or full-time employment as a panelist.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    23 Aug 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Gallo and wish you the best! Cheers!


Showing 582 of 660 reviews
Reset Filters