E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 775 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
539 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance with many resources available(in 92 reviews)

  • "Great people and products (extensive portfolio) with a strong consumer focus(in 60 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience, great first step after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Networking opportunities for interns. Interns are treated like full time staff.

    Cons

    Not any that I can think of

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 13, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Internship!

  2. "Lab technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Lab Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Friendly co workers and supervisors.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any downsides.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-10

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 12, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. We are so glad you are here!

  3. "Excellent Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is focused on growth initiatives that take a long term view versus short term. You have the opportunity to work and learn from really smart /innovative people across the enterprise. Employees have strong values and respect for one another -- values are embedded in the Company's culture.

    Cons

    I can't really think of any at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep a the innovation and acquisitions coming!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-08

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 9, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your Gallo experience. Your review made our day! Cheers!

  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent training program and company culture

    Cons

    Can be unprofessional at times and there is some favoritism

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-14

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 15, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We will be sharing your feedback with our Sales and HR leadership teams, but if you are open to discussing your review in greater detail, please feel free to reach out to me directly. We appreciate all of your hard work! Best Regards, ...

    Show More
  5. "Great place to work if you want to be challenged and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Gallo is a great place to work if you want to work with smart, driven people who will push you to bring your best to work everyday. There are lots of opportunities if you can demonstrate a high quality of work and a curious and open mindset to new ways of approaching issues and challenges.

    Cons

    The drive for continuous improvement and pace of change can be frustrating for some people.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employees and support an inclusive workforce.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-07-29

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We appreciate the 10+ years you have spent with Gallo and cheers to many more!

  6. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Team Leader in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company promotes from within. Great company that promotes work/life balance. Great leaders within the organization. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Haven't seen any yet! (over a decade employed)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work team.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-07-30

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your Gallo experience. We appreciate the decade+ you have spent with us! Cheers to you!

  7. "Exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family owned with great family values. Fast paced and many intelligent employees. Fun industry.

    Cons

    The pace can sometimes be tiring, but leadership tries to address it

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-07-26

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 28, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate all you do!

  8. "Great if you're not in the union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Level V in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Great company. A lot of growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Union employees aren't treated very well. Benefits suck if you're in the union. Very hard to have and keep a good work ethic due to the environment the union creates. Its extremely hard to prove you earned a promotion despite having seniority.

    Advice to Management

    Explore other union options.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-10

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We will be sharing your review with your union officials and our Operations leadership team. If you would like to discuss your feedback in greater detail, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Best Regards, Peter Vitarisi ...

    Show More
  9. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sourcing Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. You can tell that the Gallo family really cares about the employees. Invested in being a market leader. Get to work on exciting projects.

    Cons

    The location sometimes isn't ideal. But it has everything that you really need.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-07-17

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 18, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience and for your 8+ years of hard work! It's employees like you that make Gallo a great place to work. Cheers!

  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tasting Room Associate 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Competitive Pay Good Benefits Great opportunity to expand beyond a normal tasting room gig

    Cons

    Executives are slow to listen and slower to react

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-07-30

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 1, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us!

Found 775 reviews