E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 29 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery President and CEO Ernest Gallo (no image)
Ernest Gallo
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Demonstrated commitment to work-life balance(in 107 reviews)

  • "Family-owned, long-term view of success - willingness to invest(in 66 reviews)

Cons
  • "At times work life balance can be a challenge to balance against those high expectations(in 78 reviews)

  • "long hours, challenging, alot of drive time(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The Best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Engagement in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, diversity, family owned and the endless opportunities.

    Cons

    A bit difficult to understand what department or job functionalities entail when looking for opportunity to grow.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We're so happy to hear it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. "Gallo is a great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, leadership cares about employees, mission for innovation

    Cons

    Although the main campus is amazing, Modesto is not the greatest location

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your experience. Cheers!


  3. "Really great company with fantastic values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Country Manager Ireland in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Empowerment, Inclusion, Respect & Fun

    Cons

    It is a big Company

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Hello from across the pond! Thanks so much for your feedback. Cheers!

  4. "Work hard play hard!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fun, family owned company to work for. It is always clear that even the highest level corporate managers at the company truly care for their employees. Gallo has a fun, family culture and the importance they place on the well-being of their employees never goes unnoticed. They offer stellar training programs to develop employee skills and have great opportunity for growth and career advancement.

    Cons

    Slightly less competitive pay at entry level.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all you do! Cheers!

  5. "Great Family-Owned Organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly a people-first organization Demonstrated commitment to work-life balance Excellent values-driven culture Opportunities for growth and career development Highly secure company and industry

    Cons

    Change is not rapid and takes levels of buy-in

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for all you do!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High paced environment that provides opportunities for professional growth. Flexibility given to assist with worklife balance. Great team environment. They care about their employees.

    Cons

    This is not a con but more of a statement. Your career has to be driven my you just like other companies. Have to be proactive, network, and build a team that will assist you in your career development.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Please be on the lookout for our 2020 (and beyond) D&I Initiatives and keep your feedback coming. Cheers to you!

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Committed to Growth Strong and Consistent Corporate Values Feels Like Family Open to New Ideas

    Cons

    Need expanded work from home options after COVID

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate all of your hard work and dedication. Cheers to you!

  8. "Best Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales BDM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love working for the E&J Gallo Winery. Being family owned, this is a large company that has a small company feel.

    Cons

    The only downside would be having to move every few years to advance your career (in most cases)

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 26, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all you do! Cheers!

  9. COVID-19

    "I LOVE MY JOB!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gallo gives you the support and autonomy to thrive in your job. They are a family-first company and have been extremely supportive (especially with the challenges of being a parent) during COVID-19.

    Cons

    Watch out for that spin!

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 26, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review. We LOVE hearing that you love your job so much! Cheers to you!

  10. "Great people, great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Elizabeth, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team environment, great leadership

    Cons

    Nothing worth mentioning on here

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your Advice to Management and will be sharing it with our Sr. Sales Leaders. Cheers!

Found 918 reviews