E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 18 June 2018
541 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
349 Ratings

541 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "In my department there is a strong emphasis of work life balance which is really important to me" (in 54 reviews)

  • "Amazing culture and great people" (in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be difficult" (in 58 reviews)

  • "During harvest you will work long hours" (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Building Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building Services Representative in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Building Services Representative in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic company culture and benefits.

    Cons

    No cons to share at this time.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    11 Jun 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    We're glad you are enjoying the company culture and benefits. We appreciate your positive feedback and all you do. Cheers!


  2. "9 year employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work work, they care about their employee's. Benefits are really amazing. They hire within first so there are plenty of opportunities to move up.

    Cons

    Most would say the challenges of living in the Central Valley.

    Advice to Management

    Consider opening a satellite office in the SF Bay area.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    6 Jun 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review! We're so happy to have you in the the Gallo Family. Cheers!

  3. "Lab Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good company. Really good benefits

    Cons

    The area isn’t the nicest. Really busy during harvest

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    19 Jun 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    We are happy to hear you are enjoying the culture and benefits at Gallo! Please continue to provide us feedback, we're listening. Cheers!


  4. "Get Ready To Be A Labor Mule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Salary, Excellent Health Benefits (which you will need since you break your back every day throwing these retailer's loads), 401K, Mileage Reimbursement, Cool Locations and Events for Monthly Meetings

    Cons

    Management portrays this position as "consultative sales". We are hardly "salesmen". This is what a typical day in the "Sales Representative's" life looks like:
    -Get up around 3:30 to get to your first retailer's store by 5 (so you can throw their load for them)
    -You then proceed to do these retailers' grunt work for them for the first 3 - 4 hours of your day.
    -The retailer's treat you like you owe them something: "Well Young's Market was here for 2 hours when I had a reset....you were only here for 45 minutes, then went to your next account. Why would I give that display to you??"
    -There are too many accounts that are asking too much of you to deliver in an 8 hour day.
    -Management blames sales reps for not having "time management skills" when really they know it's absolutely impossible to meet these retailer's ridiculous demands...I know that they know this because the turnover in this company is unreal (in 1 year, all but two people on my original team of 7 quit- why do you think that is? Because this job is terrible)
    -You crawl around in the backs of these stores in dust and dirt and grime (management literally encourages you not to wear really nice clothes because they WILL get destroyed)
    -You are talked down to and belittled by uneducated, ignorant liquor managers that have half the education that we do
    -Management criticizes EVERYTHING you do: "Yes, that's awesome you got that display...but let's try and get it in a better location"..."Wow, that's great that you made a breakthrough in your CVS, but they should have ordered MUCH more Barefoot than that!"..."That display is beautiful, next time double it." EVERYTHING is a backhanded compliment. Everything.
    -Management claims that if you follow their Gallo Sales Techniques (LSCOP, the RACC method of overcoming objections, etc.) then you should have no problem making sales! Yet my manager couldn't lock down a single sale when she filled in for me one week. Weird...what happened to the flaw-proof RACC method?
    -You work in the grossest stores (Walmart / Foodmaxx / CVS) and have to watch your belongings at all times or a customer will take them.
    -Management promises that they promote you within 9 - 15 months. That is an outright LIE. NO ONE has gotten promoted that quickly in the last year. Reps are sittin' in their positions for around 18 months or more on average.
    -You are treated simply as a number in their system, not as a person.
    -I am still having back problems to this day because of how many cases of wine I had to throw by myself.
    -This is by far the absolute worst job that I have ever had.

    Advice to Management

    Either promote people quicker or lower your expectations because people are dropping like flies. You can't criticize people's hard work over and over and over without them feeling like they don't even want to bother putting any work in. I am shocked that in a company that acts as progressive as Gallo does, management does not realize how impactful positive reinforcement can be. This has been the WORST job that I have ever had (and I switched to another sales company...so clearly it's not the sales environment that is the issue here).

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    19 Jun 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While it is disheartening to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time as a Sales Representative, we do appreciate your feedback and will make sure that... More


  5. "Best Place to Work :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Flexibility, Great onboarding process, friendly & fun culture, great training and development programs.

    Cons

    Small company has pros and cons

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    9 May 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate all you do!


  6. Helpful (3)

    "E & J Gallo Winery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There is a lot of opportunity to promote, move around and try new things within the winery. There are many facets of the business located in the central valley so the opportunities are abundant.

    Cons

    There is a new emphasis on degree requirements that make it difficult for experience qualified employees to transfer to different departments. Somebody who has practical experience for a job may not be eligible due to a Bachelor's degree with an unrelated concentration. At some point, tried and true years of experience should mean more than college credentials.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that most of what employees need to know to do the job is taught on the job. Proof of excellent performance should be a leading indicator of promotion and movement opportunities. Managers trying to promote employees should not have their hands tied due to credential requirements.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    30 Apr 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your 10+ years of service with Gallo. We appreciate your feedback around educational requirements, but would love the opportunity to better... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing staff and culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wine Sales Representative in Rancho Bernardo, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Wine Sales Representative in Rancho Bernardo, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of training, educational classes, paid-work lunches and activities, young coworkers and fun work culture. Everyone has a really positive attitude and is really supportive. Good pay, mileage reimbursement and good benefits!

    Cons

    Early start time. Must be in accounts no later than 6am. Account managers are typically unpleasant and can be hostile. I was kicked out of several accounts just after introducing myself and the company I worked for. It's a very competitive industry. The account managers try to take advantage of you by only giving display locations to reps who do their "dirty"' work.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up for your employees. Wine Reps and Merchandisers should not be unloading pallets and totes of inventory (aka "throwing load") in order to get permission to build out wine & spirit displays that are already preset by higher ups. Throwing load is against the law and shouldn't be tolerated.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    1 May 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found your training, coworkers, and Gallo’s culture, to be positives. With regards to your “Advice to Management,” we... More

  8. "Awesome company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Felt like family and you were appreciated for your contributions

    Cons

    Lack of diversity amongst employees

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    30 Apr 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you felt like part of the family during your time at Gallo! We are proud of the cultural diversity amongst our employees, and we’re committed to providing all... More


  9. "Good company, but some management a little old fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Brand Ambassador in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    + annual family event
    + you do get some freebies!!

    Cons

    - not very forward thinking at times

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    11 May 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    We appreciate both your review and your feedback and we wish you the very best in your future career endeavors. Cheers!


  10. "Great company for passionate committed people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Gallo is an amazing Company, with great people and terrific values. It is fast paced, relationship driven in a fun industry. It attracts super smart and talent people. I have worked here more than 10 years and been given a number of great opportunities to grow and develop.

    Cons

    Because Gallo is so fast paced and highly collaborative it may not be the place for you if you like to be the star of the show. We work as a team here.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be true to the Corporate values and keeping the focus on employees.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    26 Apr 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your 10+ years of service! It's great employees like you, that make Gallo a great place to work. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Cheers!


Showing 541 of 612 reviews
Reset Filters