E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 13 December 2018
663 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
451 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can be difficult" (in 66 reviews)

  • "Pretty long hours most of the time" (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Truly special company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The People - They are genuinely nice and make up the entire company.
    Respect - This is very clear as soon as you walk in the door. Everyone respects the other. There is no not saying hello to a VP level of averting a gaze from as higher up. (Which was very prominent at my last company.)
    Integrity - Most straight forward and honest people I've ever worked with
    Humility and Caring - All the family members who work here are down to earth and do not have an attitude regarding their stature in the work place. In fact they are the most caring of all employees and understand how important family is as well as work
    Amazingly Communicative - The interview process is rather long however they keep you posted and engaged the entire time. Getting into this company is well worth the longer process.

    Cons

    Challenging to find an opening because not many ever leave this company!

    Advice to Management

    You are doing this right!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing feedback. We are so lucky to have you. Keep up the great work! Cheers!


  2. "Chain Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Environment that promotes personal and business growth with training

    Cons

    Physically and mentally demanding work environment if you don't manage your time well burn out is likely

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    14 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. Best of luck in the future!

  3. "Operations Support Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Team work, commitment, employee care, solid management

    Cons

    Wearing lots of hats at 1 position

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    14 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Please continue to share your feedback, we're listening! Cheers!


  4. "The Absolute Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY (US)
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Culture, People, Product, Vision, Leadership

    Cons

    always more to do at the company

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    11 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you!


  5. "Amazing Forward-Looking Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing forward-looking culture
    Great communication from management
    Opportunities for meaningful work in multiple areas
    All opinions are considered worth considering

    Cons

    *Glassdoor specifies I need at least five words in the 'cons' box*

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great open communication and horizon aiming mindset.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. We appreciate you! Cheers!


  6. "Never a Dull Moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have a great cross functional position wherein I get to work with different Sales and Marketing teams across the business. I am consistently impressed with both the quality and engagement of those I interact with, as well as the future plans management shares with us. People here are smart and they work hard and they seem to enjoy it. I do!

    Company policy has also been very generous--early on I had a lot of family emergencies to deal with and the flexibility with my position made all the difference. Working remote, PTO and bereavement time, being able to take some extra paid time off in addition when PTO was used up (I ended up with negative 40 hours of PTO) made a huge difference in keeping my life in order during a really difficult time.

    Cons

    Honestly for me there aren't many--asking for a better type of free coffee is too petty!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Your review made our day! Thanks for all you do to make Gallo such a great place to work. Cheers to you!


  7. "Wine Club Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for, plenty of room for growth, management was excellent and listened to you. They really value and care about their employees.

    Cons

    Nothing negative, I loved my time working for them.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for the time you spent at Gallo. Best of luck to you!

  8. "Creative Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Services Manager in Modesto, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Creative Services Manager in Modesto, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance is key to a happy family.

    Cons

    Can't find any yet :)

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    5 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review! We couldn't agree more!


  9. "Cohesiveness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Supervisor in Healdsburg, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Lab Supervisor in Healdsburg, CA (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company promotes cross functional learning and drives employees to obtain more

    Cons

    None I can think of

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    5 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for the review. So glad to hear you are happy here. Cheers!


  10. "Great Family Owned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, Forward thinking management, good salary, great benefits

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    5 Dec 2018 – Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review. We appreciate your insight and are so glad you are happy here! Cheers!