E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
589 Ratings
  1. COVID-19

    "Excellent company to work for in good times and bad."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I only recently joined on with Gallo a few weeks before the COVID-19 issues hit the US, but I have been working with Gallo as a consultant for several years prior to that. I can speak to Gallo's work culture now from an outside consultant's perspective as well as an official employee. Gallo has an excellent culture that is centered around collaboration and genuine interest in the opinions of others. Gallo has really taken the COVID-19 disruptions in stride. It is extremely difficult for any company of this size to navigate these times with everything evolving so quickly, but I can honestly say that Gallo has done an outstanding job and truly has the best intentions at heart (all the way up to the executive leadership). I would highly recommend a career at Gallo. You feel valued here and are not just a number. Being a private company, Gallo is able to do things that other companies cannot. They are here to bring value to the company and its employees, not shareholders on Wall Street. Many people don't realize just how important that is. I have worked with Gallo as a consultant through many good times of fast growth. Now being on the 'inside' during this unusual time has made me even more excited to be a part of this team. I look forward to seeing what the future holds. Do not come to Gallo expecting to be able to set your work pace on cruise. To be a top leader in the wine industry, you have to put in the work. Gallo knows this and expects it from all employees at every level. Your hard work will be rewarded! This is a huge pro for me because I have worked at a large company where no matter how much or how little effort you put in, you followed the same prescribed path as everyone else. This is not true at Gallo which I think is a big reason why most everyone here is so dedicated to doing their best every single day. That culture and mindset is contagious.

    Cons

    I would not work at Gallo if you aren't ready for a fast-paced environment.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We truly appreciate your thoughtful feedback. Thanks for all you do!

  2. "SLDP"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Leadership Development Program 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Family. Leadership trek unmatched by most.

    Cons

    Have to move locations to move up fastest

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 22, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience. Cheers!

  3. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Winemaker in Sonoma, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family owned and the most integrity I've seen in a wine company. Innovative company offering great educational opportunities and room to grow.

    Cons

    Lot's of bureaucracy which sometimes mean jumping through hoops to get things done.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Cheers to you!

  4. "Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free wine pretty often , get off work early I eh.

    Cons

    Toxic environment, management is unprofessional, treated as a number

    Continue reading
  5. "Winemaking"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Winemaker in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Stable Company, Lots of job Opportunities

    Cons

    No clear path for advancement

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 25, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We strongly encourage you to speak with your Manager or HR regarding your career development. They are here to help. Thanks for all you do!

  6. "Call on grocery accounts to upsell the Gallo portfolio."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chain Sales Representative in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment with highly motivated, sociable employees.

    Cons

    Working with high tempered customers can be challenging and trying at times.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback and for all you do! Cheers!

  7. COVID-19

    "Do not support or work for"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, comparable salary, ok benefits.

    Cons

    Does not value lower level employees. Initial approach to the coronavirus pandemic was a joke. Additionally, they have a blanket approach to racial inequality. It should be noted that executive Jim Coleman donated $883.75 to the Donald Trump presidency, effectively contributing to the divide in this country.

    Continue reading
  8. "E&J Gallo Winery"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people & environment is great!

    Cons

    ....really cant think of any right now..

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 10, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate you!

  9. "My Time at Gallo"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Great company that treats you well!

    Cons

    You will be busy and always on, but that's sales!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 10, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your sharing your Gallo experience with us. Best of luck to you! Cheers!

  10. "Great Company Culture & Rewarding Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Work Type, Work-Life Balance

    Cons

    Promotion Criteria Transparency could be improved.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your feedback around clarifying the criteria around promotions. I will be forwarding this to our Marketing and HR leaders for visibility. Thanks for all you do!

Found 853 reviews