E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 3 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery President and CEO Ernest Gallo (no image)
Ernest Gallo
172 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Setting boundaries for work life balance must be done(in 86 reviews)

  • "Modesto is a bit far from cities and its benefits(in 85 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Customer Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Pay, flexibility, great people, training, compassionate

    Cons

    They are very corporate at times

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 7, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Welcome to Gallo.. We are so glad you are here!

  2. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interview process was good and smooth

    Cons

    Need a certain car for entry level sales position

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 30, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review. Best of luck to you!


  3. "Great Place to Work!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Customer Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The Gallo winery goes out of their way to ensure a diverse and welcoming culture. I adore the people, appreciate the flexibility and love that I am always learning. It's a fast-paced atmosphere. We work hard, but we also prioritize work-life balance.

    Cons

    If you are not open to relocating, career advancement can be limited. Moving around for various roles is very normal.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave such thoughtful feedback. We will be passing your review along to our Sr. Leadership Team. Thanks for all you do and for your 8+ years with Gallo!

  4. "Ok experiene"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, Gallo culture

    Cons

    No particular cons to include.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 30, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

  5. COVID-19

    "Exciting company to work form."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great engagement with the company. Gallo goes out of the way to make sure you are comfortable at your position, and that you are engaged in your work, not only on your own team projects but with the company as a whole. Additionally, Gallo is a very dynamic company and treats its IT organization as an integral part of the organization as a whole. Adopting many best practices that many large enterprise IT organizations do not seem to tackle, or would adopt on a slower pace.

    Cons

    Telecommute options could be better. Return to office after COVID seems rushed and unnecessary for employees who have been working remote for well over a year now. Pay scale is lower than other technology focused groups, or any companies from the Bay Area.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your thorough feedback. We appreciate you and your 5+ years with Gallo. Cheers to you!

  6. "Great Company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst 

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Amazing workplace with amazing perks

    Cons

    There are none so far

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback!

  7. "A great company for culture and advancement!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Incredible company culture with great work life balance. Tons of opportunity for advancement and great products to work with!

    Cons

    Can have geographic limitations depending on the role.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your Gallo experience. We are so lucky to have you!

  8. "Lead teams of production employees."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director of Operations in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company values are not just talked about but instilled in all levels of the organization. The people at Gallo are great to work with and support each other in all circumstances. Working at Gallo is fun, challenging and rewarding.

    Cons

    I struggle to find many cons to working at Gallo.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your 10+ years with Gallo. We truly appreciate your leadership!

  9. COVID-19

    "Love My Job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Services Representative in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This position is a back office position with the chance to assist in-front of members when we have events. I have flexibility currently to work remote and not have to change positions due to Covid.

    Cons

    This is a backoffice job, so if you do not like talking on the phone and being behind a computer screen, this is not the role for you.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough feedback. We will be passing your review along to our Sr. Leadership and HR teams. Thanks for all you do!

  10. "Great Place to Learn and Grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training, competitive compensation, opportunity for advancement, market leader

    Cons

    No equity opportunity, slow moving, protects weaker employees

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 27, 2021Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback and for the 10+ years you spent with Gallo. Best of luck to you!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,106 Reviews

Work at E. & J. Gallo Winery? Share Your Experiences

E. & J. Gallo Winery logo
or