E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 794 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
555 Ratings
  1. "Great traning/experience for first job out of college but needs to work on transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company does a great job focusing on training their employees in sales, as well as, wine knowledge. You have to expect to work hard but you learn a lot. I had amazing co-workers, training and culture for my initial role out of college. Benifits are amazing compared to the market.

    Cons

    When you get into higher roles lack of transparencey from upper management leaves for unclear next steps and high turn over rates recently. Top level management expects people to follow blidly with no explination and is combative when anyone questions the process.

    Advice to Management

    Allow for transparentscy and you'll be surprised that people can handle the truth. Don't contuine the method of dagling carrot on a stick until the employee can't handle it anymore to then promote.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-01

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 1, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your honest and thoughtful feedback. We will be sharing your review with the Sales Leadership team. Best of luck to you!

  2. "Best place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern Data Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment to work at.

    Cons

    A lot of work in some departments

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-09-16

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 16, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review and for choosing to intern with Gallo. We are lucky to have you!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Development Manager in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family owned company with leadership team that cares about their employees personal & career development as well as values their employees personal lives & time. Constantly growing, innovating and acquiring new brands & products to sell and promote. Fellow employees are very friendly as well as very like minded; lots of co-workers become great friends and keep in constant touch

    Cons

    Lots of changes happen very quickly and suddenly especially in regards to job changes and promotion opportunities. Relocation is very much appreciated and sought after but there is constant area for career development and promotion

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-09-23

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 24, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive and constructive feedback and will be passing it along to our leadership team. Cheers!

  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Takes care of the employees

    Cons

    Still too many departments work in silos, watching for themselves, rather what's best for the company

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-09-20

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 20, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate you!

  5. "Hiring Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gallo really took care of me when going through the recruiting process. They flew the final candidates to California and treated us like royalty, putting us in our own hotel rooms, treating us to amazing meals and touring numerous wineries. My recruiter was there every step of the way and was available to talk whenever I needed her.

    Cons

    Sometimes I felt like Gallo employees were fluffing their stories up and how much they really liked working for the company, just so we would commit to them then and there.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-09-06

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 9, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your thoughtful feedback and welcome to Gallo!

  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with exceptional work/life balance

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to list

    Advice to Management

    None

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-30

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate all you do!

  7. "Senior Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst III in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, and employee culture is great!

    Cons

    Programs/Systems need to be updated

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-28

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 29, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience and for your 5+ years of hard work. Cheers!

  8. "Great Place, Hard Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EHS Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This business is going places, fast! If you want to work for a company that is interested in building you as an employee while they build their booming business, this is the place!

    Cons

    It's in Modesto... It's a lot of hard work, and you need to be committed.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-26

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 26, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review and for the 3+ years you spent with us. We wish you the very best in your future career endeavors. Cheers to you!

  9. "Great Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities in Clarksburg, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    laidback wine discount no micro-management

    Cons

    poor management no accountability

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-08-22

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 26, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review. We take your feedback seriously and will be sharing it with Sr. Leadership. If you would like to discuss your feedback in greater detail, we recommend that you confidentially reach out via feedback@ejgallo.com . Thanks!

  10. "Great place to work...but becoming more corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Still family owned Brand acquisitions leading to strategic growth Love the people I work with Job flexibility and ability to work from home...this is a game changer Love the products I sell

    Cons

    Becoming more corporate...I have been with the company over 10 years and my counterparts and I can really fee the shift from family to corporate. Also there are great advancement opportunities if you are willing to move or live in CA, TX, NY. If you want to live near family in medium to small market Gallo tends to stall your career.

    Advice to Management

    Leverage technology to have more flexibility for career growth from more locations across the country. Work with HR to make sure we progress while keeping the family owned roots of Gallo. This matters to many employees I speak with and they feel the shift.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-09-03

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 3, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your 10+ years of hard work! We appreciate your feedback and will be passing your review along to HR and Sales Leadership. Cheers!

Found 794 reviews