E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated 7 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
589 Ratings
  1. "Amazing experience, from interview to job offer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have only been with Gallo a short time, but so far the experience has been nothing short of amazing. Their is something magical in the air when you walk into the doors of Gallo and are greeted as if you were at home. The people are wonderful, the benefits are great, you can feel the positive pulse of the organization within every square foot of the place.

    Cons

    No cons so far.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 6, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and welcome to Gallo. We are so happy to have you here!

  2. "Amazing Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Busineess Analyst in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, culture, benefits & work life balance

    Cons

    Organizational structure can sometimes lead to corporate bureaucracy

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for the feedback. Please continue to share your thoughts, we're listening. Happy Holidays!

  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong ability to rotate across positions, even across functions in some areas of the company. Very nice Modesto campus. Lots of tenured employees provide great knowledge balanced by fresh perspectives recruited from the outside. Gallo does not stand still. And let's face it, the wine industry is just a lot of fun.

    Cons

    With all the opportunities, the past year has been unusually busy with lots going on.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate all you do to make Gallo a great place to work. Happy Holidays!

  4. "Great Company Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Intern in Elizabeth, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, benefits, and people to work for

    Cons

    The Elizabeth Location is a little difficult to get to

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Gallo. Best of luck in the future!

  5. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly competitive and results oriented. A lot of opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Expectations are set very high

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate all you do! Happy Holidays!

  6. "Good"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Cellar 

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are very good there

    Cons

    harvest is very busy and tough

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 26, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback. Happy Holidays!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Focus on Innovation and Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company is really focused on innovation and industry growth. They are willing to take risks on new products and new ideas. - They really foster the family environment in which you try and make each other better and stronger. You will challenge and push people to succeed but also be there to help catch them if they fall. - Salary and Benefits are competitive and they offer some telecommute options and the East Bay bus as an added benefit.

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be tough with certain roles. People need to realize that in some parts of the organization its a 24-5 or 24-7 operations and you need to support. - Senior/Executive leaders seems distant in understanding some of the overall team sacrifices it took for the implementation of SAP.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 5, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your honest feedback as well as the 3+ years you have spent with Gallo. We want you to know that we understand and truly appreciate the time, sacrifice and effort it took to implement SAP. For further visibility, your review will be shared with our IT and HR leadership teams. Thanks again for all you do! Cheers! Pete Vitarisi Sr. Director, Human Resources

  8. "Don't plan on having any kind of life"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Good co-workers. Literally nothing else.

    Cons

    Little to no work life balance for any laborer.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and would like to address your “Advice to Management” comments. We do not make working on Christmas mandatory and employees have the option to ask for additional time-off outside of the Holiday days provided. If you would like to discuss your concerns in greater detail, please reach out to me directly. Thanks and Happy Holidays! Best Regards, Peter Vitarisi Sr. Director, Human Resources

  9. "Great Employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are great people and fun.

    Cons

    Upper Management especially HR are bias

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 6, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We will be sharing your review with our Operations and HR leadership teams, but if you would like to continue the conversation, please reach out via feedback@ejgallo.com. Best of luck to you!

  10. "Great training and strong leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Marketing in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stable, long term vision of senior leadership

    Cons

    Modesto HQ can feel isolated

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    November 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate all of your hard work and wish you the best! Cheers!

Found 854 reviews