E. & J. Gallo Winery Sales Representative Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
32 Ratings
  1. "Call on grocery accounts to upsell the Gallo portfolio."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chain Sales Representative in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment with highly motivated, sociable employees.

    Cons

    Working with high tempered customers can be challenging and trying at times.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback and for all you do! Cheers!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Rep Job is NOT as glorified as they make it seem. False job description. Horrible working conditions."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free wine and spirits in meetings

    Cons

    Not what they hype themselves up to be. High turnover. Most people don’t last more than a year because they work you like a dog and it’s not even fun. Very use & abuse environment. You will work in grocery stores stocking shelves and building wine displays, so boring & does not give you real job experiences to launch you in different career paths. Unsanitary, unsafe working conditions in back rooms for grocery stores, not equipped well enough to be “grocery store employee” you have to break rules to be a top performer and break your back working long hours and sometimes weekends. NO WORK LIFE BALANCE. You get burnt out fast. You have to hoard work boxes home and have to house it yourself. They make you take tons of wine display pieces home weekly and stuff your cars with it and do not provide additional Storage. They do not care if you get harassed in stores or injured. Only want to continue business relationship with stores to meet goals. Very “clique” type of environment with favoritism of employees. Management is full of friends and do not keep anything confidential. Managers are apart of weekend partying with younger employees and do not act professional at all. Very repetitive type job each month and goals are very hard to achieve/unrealistic. Upper management is HORRIBLE. They can never correctly answer questions you may have and the follow up is nonexistent. Do not recommend working here, low pay for the requirements they have.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    The conduct you have described does not align with our corporate values and is concerning. We do not condone any kind of inappropriate behavior within Gallo. If you would like to confidentially discuss your comments, please contact our third-party, confidential ethics hotline at 855-331-1488 or via ejgallo.ethicspoint.com.

  3. "Solid Role"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good training - culture of success - good recognition

    Cons

    - few roles available - longer hours than expected - no creative freedom

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    April 1, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We will be sure to pass it along to our Sales Leadership team. Best of luck!

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to build career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great management. They're all very talented and supportive. - Interview process was fantastic. They show that they truly want you to join the company. Never felt like I was being interrogated or deterred. - Autonomy within the role. You decide your route for the day, which accounts to call on, which ones are the most important etc. Gives a great foundation for managing a territory. - Very clear path to upward mobility within the company. Most reps are promoted within their first 2 years. - Gallo treats their employees the best out of any other company in the industry. Other companies treat their employees like dogs, expecting them to work weekends and even some holidays. At Gallo, you might have to work a day on the weekend here or there but you will never work a holiday.

    Cons

    - This is a very service heavy job. I wouldn't even really call this a con because Gallo is extremely upfront with you about this during your interview. You're going to be picking up wine cases, building wine displays, stocking shelves etc. A major part of this job is the sweat equity you put into it. - Dealing with store managers can be difficult sometimes. There a few who dislike all vendors and wouldn't care if they didn't hear from you again. Again, hard to call this a con because dealing with difficult clients is going to happen in any sales role and it will make you a better sales rep in the long run. - You're going to have some extremely long days especially during busy season (October - December). - PTO isn't allowed during October, November or December. - Understand what you're getting into with this role. If you're joining Gallo because you think it'd be fun to talk about wine or learn about wine I would look elsewhere. You should take this job as a sales rep because you're extremely competitive, detail oriented, and you genuinely want to be in sales. There will be stress, long days, difficult clients, and times when you're unsure you want to keep doing this. This is natural in sales. Don't get discouraged and keep a positive mindset and you will be fine!

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for a thorough and honest review. We appreciate your insight and will share this feedback with our Sales Leadership team. Cheers and Happy Holidays!

  5. "Eh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Santa Cruz, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good networking, good out of college pay, easy to run errands during the day etc.

    Cons

    Terrible upper management. Refusal to believe sales strategies have changed since 1980. 90 percent of hires are sorority/fraternity, so if you aren't you immediately feel left out. Goals are unrealistic and continue to grow despite no new sales abilities or tactics. 3-5 years spent in backrooms of drug stores until you actually get a chance at a real career.

    Continue reading
  6. "Hiring Process"

    5.0
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gallo really took care of me when going through the recruiting process. They flew the final candidates to California and treated us like royalty, putting us in our own hotel rooms, treating us to amazing meals and touring numerous wineries. My recruiter was there every step of the way and was available to talk whenever I needed her.

    Cons

    Sometimes I felt like Gallo employees were fluffing their stories up and how much they really liked working for the company, just so we would commit to them then and there.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 9, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your thoughtful feedback and welcome to Gallo!

  7. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with exceptional work/life balance

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to list

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate all you do!

  8. "All politics no substance"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chain Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, not huge micromanaging, freedom

    Cons

    Corporate politics - getting promoted is a very opaque process, lots of playing favorites and beating around the bush. Upper management (by upper I mean higher than district/area managers) seems to be very out of touch with what’s going on in the field. Different territories reap different benefits, yet management seems to think every territory is the same (barefoot sells the same as Louis martini everywhere.......) High and unrealistic expectations of sales reps, numbers are valued rather than creating real lasting business relationships with buyers - they would rather burn bridges to up their margins. There are incentives instead of commission, even if you are second place on incentives you get nothing for your hard work and all the money you made for the company, only first place gets the incentive, you are competing with totally different territories which creates an uneven playing field. So you are stuck with whatever luck and demographic your specific territory is. Some territories win all the time (not specifically due to the sales rep) and some never win, then that territory is looked down upon by management even though the sales rep is working hard. A lot of stick and carrot routine. Forced to wear nice business clothes while sweating throwing load in a dirty back storage room.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 13, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. Your review will be shared with our Sales leadership team. Best of luck to you.

  9. "Not a healthy environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can think of any really.

    Cons

    This company like to hire young college graduates and put them in management roles that should not be in them.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 21, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. Your review will be shared with our Sales and HR Leadership teams. Best of luck to you.

  10. "Sales Representative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible Culture that fosters creativity and hard work!

    Cons

    There is no cons with this company!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 18, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your amazing feedback! Cheers to you!

Found 58 reviews