E. & J. Gallo Winery Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 12 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
648 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Challenging but rewarding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Racker blender in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, everybody helps each other out.

    Cons

    Office management can use a cleanup

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 13, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We wish you the best!

  2. "Great Employees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are great people and fun.

    Cons

    Upper Management especially HR are bias

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 6, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We will be sharing your review with our Operations and HR leadership teams, but if you would like to continue the conversation, please reach out via feedback@ejgallo.com. Best of luck to you!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Strong, aggressive company going through generational change"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Family-owned (long term focus) - Aggressive strategically (see recent acquisition), creating exciting opportunities - Winning culture with a history of growth and a stated bias toward change - Loyal to long-term employees; first-class perks and benefits in a fun industry - Great people and products (extensive portfolio) with a strong consumer focus

    Cons

    - Can be very bureaucratic, slowing the pace of decision-making - Individual departments often too focused on their own profitability, generating major inefficiencies in the way costs are handled - Over time, the culture has become somewhat less intense as the company has become a "kinder, gentler Gallo." As Gallo has sought to mitigate its somewhat fearsome reputation as a tough employer and has focused on employee retention, there has been some sacrifice in terms of performance. - Product development and marketing decisions sometimes feel inauthentic, as if they came straight out of a focus group. There is an opportunity to listen more to what customers (retailers, distributors, etc.) are asking for in addition to the market research and focus groups.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your valuable feedback and for the 8+ years you have been with Gallo. Cheers to you!

  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Channel Sales Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great people, great brands & fun place to work

    Cons

    i can't think of any

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 22, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and all you do!

  5. "Better than Fortune 100!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family owned company where Corporate Values are internalized at every level of the organization. Career growth and opportunity is valued and supported by leadership Growing company that has an Entrepreneurial spirit and mindset Great people to work with. Everyone wants you to succeed.

    Cons

    Have not seen any yet!

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your valuable feedback and for all you do for Gallo!

  6. "Great Training"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great sales & retail training. -Fast-paced industry -Great People

    Cons

    - Distributors not in-line with Winery innovation.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 15, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience as a District Manager. We appreciate all that you do and will be sharing your review with our Sales Leadership Team. Cheers!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Go to a Competitor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Makes decent money for the central valley and mostly great people.

    Cons

    There is a culture of hypocrisy. They brag about investing in the people but will lie to recruits about supporting Masters Degrees until they actually get jobs and then they tell them that they won't support them. I plan on leaving to a competitor in the coming years because I don't want to work for a company that says one of its key values is integrity but doesn't believe in it or investing in their employee's education. On top of this, management has no idea what individual contributors do. I've heard them often cuss and make inappropriate remarks. Also, say goodbye to having a life. Work life balance is awful.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 19, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. If you are open to a confidential conversation, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in greater detail. I hope to hear from you soon. Best Regards, Susan Hensley Vice President, Human Resources

  8. "Great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment. Great people!

    Cons

    No cons just an overall great place to be.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 10, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate you!

  9. "Space Planner"

    5.0
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery

    Pros

    Very flexible hours and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth at this position although it is primarily a part time position anyways.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 14, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best of luck in the future. Cheers.

  10. "Sales Representative"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training and great people. Culture is awesome and a lot of independence in role.

    Cons

    Outside business conditions, tend to push too much and enough is never enough of the best people. Heavy emphasis on time served when it should be merit.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 24, 2018Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We want you to know that we will be sharing your review with our Sales leaders and that we truly appreciate all of the hard work you put in to make Gallo such a special place to work. Cheers to you!

Found 62 reviews