E. & J. Gallo Winery Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 24 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery Co-President and CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
648 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. COVID-19

    "Do not support or work for"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, comparable salary, ok benefits.

    Cons

    Does not value lower level employees. Initial approach to the coronavirus pandemic was a joke. Additionally, they have a blanket approach to racial inequality. It should be noted that executive Jim Coleman donated $883.75 to the Donald Trump presidency, effectively contributing to the divide in this country.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 8, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback. We have shared with leadership.

  2. "Great Company Culture & Rewarding Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Work Type, Work-Life Balance

    Cons

    Promotion Criteria Transparency could be improved.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    May 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your feedback around clarifying the criteria around promotions. I will be forwarding this to our Marketing and HR leaders for visibility. Thanks for all you do!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Rep Job is NOT as glorified as they make it seem. False job description. Horrible working conditions."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free wine and spirits in meetings

    Cons

    Not what they hype themselves up to be. High turnover. Most people don’t last more than a year because they work you like a dog and it’s not even fun. Very use & abuse environment. You will work in grocery stores stocking shelves and building wine displays, so boring & does not give you real job experiences to launch you in different career paths. Unsanitary, unsafe working conditions in back rooms for grocery stores, not equipped well enough to be “grocery store employee” you have to break rules to be a top performer and break your back working long hours and sometimes weekends. NO WORK LIFE BALANCE. You get burnt out fast. You have to hoard work boxes home and have to house it yourself. They make you take tons of wine display pieces home weekly and stuff your cars with it and do not provide additional Storage. They do not care if you get harassed in stores or injured. Only want to continue business relationship with stores to meet goals. Very “clique” type of environment with favoritism of employees. Management is full of friends and do not keep anything confidential. Managers are apart of weekend partying with younger employees and do not act professional at all. Very repetitive type job each month and goals are very hard to achieve/unrealistic. Upper management is HORRIBLE. They can never correctly answer questions you may have and the follow up is nonexistent. Do not recommend working here, low pay for the requirements they have.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    The conduct you have described does not align with our corporate values and is concerning. We do not condone any kind of inappropriate behavior within Gallo. If you would like to confidentially discuss your comments, please contact our third-party, confidential ethics hotline at 855-331-1488 or via ejgallo.ethicspoint.com.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "No Career Opportunities in HR"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, Gallo is a nice company. There are some great and talented people especially in sales and marketing. Work / life balance is above average.

    Cons

    If you are in any part of HR forget it. It's a dead end. Promotions are given based on popularity - not merit . Metrics for success are none existent, but if leadership "likes" you, you can do no wrong. The COE's (recruiting, compensation, benefits) are no better. Recruiting leadership is deplorable, people are leaving left and right. There is no direction and no room for growth. Not to mention the compensation, it's well below market standards.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    January 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    While we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, parts of your feedback concern us. Integrity is not only a Gallo corporate value, but is deeply embedded in how we hire and promote our employees. If you have additional concerns or would like to discuss your review in detail, I strongly encourage you to reach out to me directly. Best Regards, Susan Hensley Vice President, Human Resources

  5. "Amazing Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Busineess Analyst in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, culture, benefits & work life balance

    Cons

    Organizational structure can sometimes lead to corporate bureaucracy

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for the feedback. Please continue to share your thoughts, we're listening. Happy Holidays!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Focus on Innovation and Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company is really focused on innovation and industry growth. They are willing to take risks on new products and new ideas. - They really foster the family environment in which you try and make each other better and stronger. You will challenge and push people to succeed but also be there to help catch them if they fall. - Salary and Benefits are competitive and they offer some telecommute options and the East Bay bus as an added benefit.

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be tough with certain roles. People need to realize that in some parts of the organization its a 24-5 or 24-7 operations and you need to support. - Senior/Executive leaders seems distant in understanding some of the overall team sacrifices it took for the implementation of SAP.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 5, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your honest feedback as well as the 3+ years you have spent with Gallo. We want you to know that we understand and truly appreciate the time, sacrifice and effort it took to implement SAP. For further visibility, your review will be shared with our IT and HR leadership teams. Thanks again for all you do! Cheers! Pete Vitarisi Sr. Director, Human Resources

  7. "Don't plan on having any kind of life"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Good co-workers. Literally nothing else.

    Cons

    Little to no work life balance for any laborer.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 23, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and would like to address your “Advice to Management” comments. We do not make working on Christmas mandatory and employees have the option to ask for additional time-off outside of the Holiday days provided. If you would like to discuss your concerns in greater detail, please reach out to me directly. Thanks and Happy Holidays! Best Regards, Peter Vitarisi Sr. Director, Human Resources

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work! Great People!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employees are smart and driven. Good benefits and work/life balance depending on your role and manager. Managers care about your professional development and personal growth. Emphasis on teamwork and relationship building reinforces the family culture. Wine shop discount is amazing!

    Cons

    Leadership can be far removed from day to day (like many companies).

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    September 20, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your thoughtful review and for the 5+ years you have spent with Gallo. Cheers to you!!

  9. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with exceptional work/life balance

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to list

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 30, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate all you do!

  10. "Senior Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst III in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, and employee culture is great!

    Cons

    Programs/Systems need to be updated

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 29, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your experience and for your 5+ years of hard work. Cheers!

Found 170 reviews