EF Education First "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

EF Education First Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1760 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
591 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 144 reviews)

  • "Free travel opportunities (get to go on the tours they sell for free, either once a year or every other year depending on your position)(in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on your role, expect to work long hours during "busy season"(in 94 reviews)

  • "Low salary especially in city like shanghai(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Coordinator in Milan
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Youth work environment, free cofee and fruits

    Cons

    rivalry in the team, they check everything you do

    EF Education First2019-06-14
  2. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Comfortable working environment Lovely coworkers Weekly pay Pay isn’t bad

    Cons

    Long hours Have to work some weekends

    EF Education First2019-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Work here if you want a stable job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly working environment - Nice office

    Cons

    - Low salary - No HR support, you do an exit interview with the manager of your direct manager - Lack of internal promotion, no career path whatsoever - No budget for you to join business trip, resources are reserved for management levels only - No overtime pay

    EF Education First2019-05-28
  4. "Best education products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Lots of benefits and perks for international teachers Continuous training to keep career development Professional teams for sales, service, academia and marketing Relaxing working environment

    Cons

    There could be a more fair system to treat the local teachers

    Advice to Management

    Academia team plays the key role in the company’s development, so please make sure that they are well-recognised.

    EF Education First2019-04-10

    EF Education First Response

    April 14, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience working at EF. We are thrilled by your enthusiasm about our products as we aim to offer the best possible learning experience for our students. We are pleased to know that you value the training programs that we put in place ...

    Show More
  5. "Local Leader position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at EF Education First part-time

    Pros

    It was a relatively free working environment where we were allowed to manage our own schedule to maximise the students' experience in Singapore. I liked how there were minimal micro-management in the work environment, and the flexibility to the schedule allowed us to better plan the activities for the students.

    Cons

    Administrative works could be a hassle, especially when it comes to the finances and itinerary to tourist attractions. Dealing with parents (only if you get groups with parents) were tough at times, so a concrete 2-way communication is important in ensuring things go smoothly without any hard feelings within the group.

    Advice to Management

    It would be better if Local Leaders can be briefed better on what's going to happen, especially for the first-timers, as it was a steep learning curve. I do understand those working in the office have rare chances to deal with the groups, so they might be at loss of what's happening, but it would be great to have an experienced Local Leader to brief newcomers.

    EF Education First2019-03-15
  6. "Hourly wage, a lot of paperwork without pay, good atmosphere, fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EFL Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good atmosphere - Fun place to work - I like my bosses - Media in most rooms - Room for progress - Exciting working environment - Development workshops

    Cons

    - Low salary - Contract hours are bad - No sick leave - Feel overworked - Too much paperwork - Must do a lot of work for free i.e. correcting tests, correcting homework, writing lesson plans for every lesson - Some rooms do not have a media

    Advice to Management

    - Please pay us more, we can't afford health insurance or rent - We feel overworked and underappreciated. Please pay us for non-teaching hours. - Please give us sick pay

    EF Education First2019-03-06
  7. "Established Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chelsea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment where workers are really valued. A company that always wants to innovate and grow in the educational field

    Cons

    It is not a perfect company, but I can not say that there really is a cons.

    EF Education First2019-02-14
  8. "GOOD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First full-time

    Pros

    Very good working environment Clear development

    Cons

    Work life balance Management style

    EF Education First2019-02-15

    EF Education First Response

    March 5, 2019Engagement and Retention Specialist

    Thanks very much for sharing your experience. It’s always great to learn that employees enjoy the working environment and felt that they had clear development throughout their careers with us. I’m sorry to hear that there was not as high of satisfaction with creating work-life balance ...

    Show More
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment for me to work in

    Cons

    Long hours for me to work

    EF Education First2018-12-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Hong Kong

    I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly and very energized colleagues, nice working environment. Work-life balanced.

    Cons

    Not much staff benefit or discount, no bonus. Very basic medical plan. Limited career development.

    EF Education First2018-12-15
Found 1760 reviews