Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 416 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Earls Kitchen + Bar CEO Mo Jessa
Mo Jessa
130 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long long hours , no break at times(in 25 reviews)

  • "I love everything about earls except this minor dress code stipulation(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Guiding Principles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time

    Pros

    I worked at Earl's on Fir for 5 years from 1996 to 2003. The restaurant was in it's prime, and we were the 5th highest revenue restaurant in BC. It was one of the best kitchens I've ever worked in. It's 20 years since I was hired there, and what I learned at Earl's has stayed with me for my entire life, spanning two incredibly different and successful careers. What I learned at Earl's there isn't space to... write out, but something that I took away that I'll never give up is working with passion. If you have a job to do, find something you love about it, and do it with passion. Earl's has an extremely strong management program, and their guiding principles are peerless. Earl's employee training programs are consistent, comprehensive and valuable in varied fields.

    Show More

    Cons

    Maintenance of the meritocratic approach to promotion must be adhered to to ensure that all employees are consistently treated and have equal opportunity for advancement. Not really a con, but: I'd advise to focus on the food more than the ambiance that Earl's has been trying to sell in recent years. I've lived in Australia for the last 7 years and all the Canadians that I am friends with, and even Canadians that... I meet here, all, consistently critique restaurants with the ideal result being "like Earl's". Bottom line is: people don't remember girls in short skirts. They remember consistent, delicious food and (not) being mad about the service. Focus on the food to stay relevant. Quality never goes out of style.

    Show More
    Earls Kitchen + Bar2016-03-23
  2. "Waited tables"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time

    Pros

    Really fun place to work.

    Cons

    People can be difficult to please.

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-10-12
  3. "Line chef in Earls Vancouver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Line Chef 

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Staff discount on food

    Cons

    Long hours, very few breaks.

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-10-11
  4. "Part time server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Server in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized management Coworkers were all team players Positive work environment

    Cons

    Dress code (wearing heels while serving) Required to work two weekend days

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-10-03
  5. "Toxic and Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly people and long lasting relationships

    Cons

    long hours. minimal pay. allows bullying even when you would tell a manager about it.

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-10-12
  6. "Awesome atmosphere. Overall great job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Vernon, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team members, management, availability, flexibility.

    Cons

    never got weekends off.

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-09-25
  7. "Great job while going to school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time

    Pros

    Great tips, fun atmosphere, made many friends

    Cons

    Can be tough to advance

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-09-25
  8. "good environment, good people, below average pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, encouraging environment. Good training and positive atmosphere

    Cons

    Sous make 3~4 dollars above minimum. Everyone in the kitchen is far underpaid aside from the head chef

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay for cooks!

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-10-10
  9. "Perfect Job for a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pros of working at Earls include flexible hours, decent wage with tips, work while socializing and having fun at the same time. Perfect for students who require a flexible schedule and who still want to make a decent hourly wage.

    Cons

    Environment can be rather cliquey and it takes a while to feel accepted and part of the team. The company culture might not appeal to everyone. Management can be disorganized depending on location.

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-10-07
  10. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Forno in Edmonton, AB

    I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    steady hours, tips, leadership building, good experience for work in high school

    Cons

    You get burns alot, weekends are extremely busy

    Advice to Management

    Keep recruiting young people to work in kitchen

    Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-10-06
Found 416 reviews