Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Earls Kitchen + Bar Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 388 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Earls Kitchen + Bar CEO Mo Jessa
Mo Jessa
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of great people and laughs, great culture, great training(in 27 reviews)

  • "great work environment, great leadership courses, training programs(in 24 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Guiding Principles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time

      Pros

      I worked at Earl's on Fir for 5 years from 1996 to 2003. The restaurant was in it's prime, and we were the 5th highest revenue restaurant in BC. It was one of the best kitchens I've ever worked in. It's 20 years since I was hired there, and what I learned at Earl's has stayed with me for my entire life, spanning two incredibly different and successful careers. What I learned at Earl's there isn't space to write...

      Show More

      Cons

      Maintenance of the meritocratic approach to promotion must be adhered to to ensure that all employees are consistently treated and have equal opportunity for advancement. Not really a con, but: I'd advise to focus on the food more than the ambiance that Earl's has been trying to sell in recent years. I've lived in Australia for the last 7 years and all the Canadians that I am friends with, and even Canadians that I...

      Show More
      Earls Kitchen + Bar2016-03-23
    • "Overall good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Supervisor 

      I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Meet lots of people, learn to work under pressure, fun experience, flexible schedules.

      Cons

      general experience can be based on management team.

      Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-07-17
    • "Decent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Dishwasher 

        I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time

        Pros

        Fun people, good atmosphere, good training

        Cons

        Boring work, little room for advancement

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-07-11
      • "Great place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good money every shift Good staff

        Cons

        To much drama between staff

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-07-10
      • "Was a very good job, would recommend"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Kamloops, BC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Friendly staff and work environment

        Cons

        Cleaning dishes is not the most exciting job in the world

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-07-06
      • "Not very good place to work although good for high school kids"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Line Cook in Winnipeg, MB
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some good people, 50% off food, flexible schedule(kinda)

        Cons

        Feel under appreciated, people who make a big deal about not being the “full time saucier” get babied and moved up the rings, basically don’t brown nose the people they’ll make you they’re slaves instead do a lot of complaining and comparing to move up. Horrible ethics and chefs/Sous’ Show heavy favouritism.

        Advice to Management

        Spend less time showing favourites. Spend more time trying to build a team.

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-07-10
      • "Decent starting point"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Line Cook in Regina, SK
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Friendly co-workers during the shift

        Cons

        Low wages, treated poorly by management

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-07-09
      • "Good Company to Work For"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Barback in Calgary, AB
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        A friendly work environment with overall great people. Very good management overall. Ability to earn tips for certain roles. Nice discounts on meals. Very in-depth training.

        Cons

        Tough to advance within the company. Management was a bit demanding and unrealistic at times. Pay isn't that great in some positions.

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-20
      • "Easy interview"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Line Cook 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Chill very easy very formal and professional

        Cons

        Have to stay professional no room for make jokes or act hoody

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-20
      • "Good work environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Server in Burlington, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Earls Kitchen + Bar part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great work atmosphere Great people Good money

        Cons

        Things can sometimes get unorganized and that's when frustrations occur

        Advice to Management

        Release your schedules earlier

        Earls Kitchen + Bar2019-06-20
      Found 388 reviews