Ellucian Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Ellucian Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 582 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ellucian CEO Laura Ipsen
Laura Ipsen
81 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for work/life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ellucian is a great place to work because the culture is one of empowering employees to do their best and go beyond their expectations. The ability to manage the schedule of a busy family with a rewarding career is priceless. The executive team and people leaders at Ellucian understand that employees are committed to their work as well as their family. There are opportunities for everyone to grow and learn.

    Cons

    Ellucian is a good size company (just over 3000 employees). It can be easy to get lost in the shuffle.

    Ellucian2019-04-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best employer I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been employed by Ellucian for 20 years in three different organizations, so I have a broad perspective. Over the years I have experienced many of the pros and cons other reviewers have mentioned. To be fair, I have worked at several other companies, large and small, and Ellucian is still the best employer I have worked for. The benefits and pay are at least comparable to, if not better than, other companies....

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the workload is heavy, but it is not constant. There is not a consistent experience across organizations. I have found that the Technology Management/Managed Services organization seems to be somewhat disconnected from the rest of the company because those employees are located at a customer site, and it is difficult to feel connected to the company when university management is front and center.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in improving the quality and features of your existing products. This will help keep customers happy with their decision to invest in us. And invest in your people – turnover costs you more than you think.

    Ellucian2019-04-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A Lot of Opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Consultant 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The Product Management team knows Higher Education and continues to produce solutions that are flexible, but solve real world problems. Almost everyone at the company is focused on helping institutions, and in turn students, succeed. There is a positive vibe across the entire organization because of the momentum the company sustains. Product knowledge inside a global organization allows you to take your career in different...

    Show More

    Cons

    The volume of work can make keeping a healthy work-life balance in place. Too much time on the road also makes staying in good health tough.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, but maybe with a few more people.

    Ellucian2019-04-15
  4. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pace of Innovation; Solely Focused on Higher Education; Supports a health work/life balance for employees; Supports employees gaining new skillsets and exploring new positions within the company.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Kaizen is a Japanese business philosophy of continuous improvement of working practices, personal efficiency, etc. We can continue to lead the marketplace by keeping this concept at the forefront. Overall, I love working for Ellucian!!

    Ellucian2019-04-15
  5. Helpful (7)

    "It's just "ok"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Functional Consultant in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's great to be able to work from home.

    Cons

    Management turnover is worse than a fast food chain.

    Ellucian2019-04-19
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Desktop Support Technician in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good training and knowledge base

    Cons

    Employees are treated as their expendable

    Ellucian2019-04-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A challenging and rewarding position leading a team to make an impact in Higher Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Inside Sales in Reston, VA

    I worked at Ellucian full-time

    Pros

    Growth and visible impact in the team, community, and industry

    Cons

    Cutthroat approach to leadership. Lack of recognition and share of mission and vision of the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Live your values

    Ellucian2019-04-07
  8. Helpful (4)

    "No good process and US counterparts are worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can work here for free cabs

    Cons

    Leadership team is worst this company will never grow it will remain mid size company.

    Ellucian2019-05-02
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Paying for health insurance that will not pay doctors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You do not have to work hard. Keep your head down and you can skate through.

    Cons

    Health insurance is confusing. Doctors do not know how to deal with it. It uses the Aetna providers, but Meritain handles the processing. Except Meritain will reject claims the first time for any family members. And they reject MRI and other tests. There is a group to help called MyQHealth, but they give incorrect information. There is no appearance that anyone is being held accountable for this mess.

    Advice to Management

    Hold HR accountable. Do not let them make excuses for providing terrible health insurance. You are adding stress and wasting your employees time. This is offsetting the great life/work balance. Fire anyone who contributed to the decision to go with Meritain who will not support your employees.

    Ellucian2019-04-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Awful place to work, gives me nightmares remembering it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MAY get to work remote for a while but the stress of the place is enough to drive anyone crazy - DBA's, systems people, developers, security folks, project leads for the schools, etc.

    Cons

    Not a great company, managers are backbiting and the way they pit people against one another brings out the worst in some of the psychopaths you will be working with. They reward their most loyal and hardworking people by getting rid of them by doing constant reorgs which means there is constant clulelessness and loss of tribal knowledge. Many, many good people have come and gone (some worked a short time and quit from...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    not sure who Laura somebody is -- not the 'leader' that was there when I was there, but they were too busy keeping CEO's away, apparently no one wanted to take the wheel because it's so bad. Good luck with your 'leadership'.

    Ellucian2019-04-15
Found 582 reviews