Excelsior Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Excelsior Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
35%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Excelsior CEO Arnold Goldstein (no image)
Arnold Goldstein
11 Ratings
  1. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Excelsior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Exposure at the work place

    Cons

    Not something which can be considered for future

    Excelsior2019-07-15
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Excelsior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The clients were the best part

    Cons

    The hours were the worst part

    Excelsior2018-08-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Developer in Frankfurt am Main
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Excelsior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company with great head of development!

    Cons

    Frankfurt is not great place for living

    Excelsior2018-07-05
  4. "Direct Care Counslor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Care Staff in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Excelsior full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefit package was great, most of the staff were great and supportive to work with. Talking and trying to help the clients

    Cons

    Upper management have no idea how lower staff work with clients and do not value the work that we do. Unstable job with position changes and lay offs.

    Advice to Management

    Get in touch with your staff and clients, understand the difficult job that staff that work with clients perform and work with them to come up with solutions to problems within the company. don't burn out your employees by asking them to take on as many shifts as you need and forcing them to stay for double shifts

    Excelsior2017-06-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great Supervisor and Direct Care Peers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Excelsior

    Pros

    The support from the follow direct care staff was comforting. Though each shift was definitely not easy, each shift felt successful when working alongside great staff and supervisors.

    Cons

    Promised upward movement with no follow through.

    Excelsior2017-03-07
  6. "What Management ??"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Excelsior full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great location, good school and a nice pool!

    Cons

    The current CEO hasn't updated this site in over 2 years, because she knows the negative feedback would be following her. The biggest layoff of employees last summer required that Police be on site due to fears for her safety! When they laid off over 150 employees they gave them 1 to 4 weeks of severance AND only if they agreed not to sue! Sadly, many of the programs have now closed.....

    Advice to Management

    Move on please.... this job is not for you. Update the website.

    Excelsior2017-04-17
  7. "Clerical and Life Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mentor Coach in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Excelsior full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with the teens is rewarding,

    Cons

    clerical work was based on lots of files and paper rather than updated computer technology, low pay, and several week waits to receive a mileage and reimbursement check for outings.

    Advice to Management

    Strive to bill correctly and meet community needs.

    Excelsior2016-11-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Excelsior

    Pros

    good entry job, preps for working with lower income/lower education level students

    Cons

    no resources, no guidance, no lesson plans

    Excelsior2016-06-14
  9. "Before the Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Living Counselor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Excelsior full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excelsior is filled with wonderful and competent staff who genuinely care about the clients and want so serve them in the best way possible. Building relationships with the girls was challenging, but ultimately it was very rewarding.

    Cons

    There is a TON of turnover. There are definitely seasoned staff there that have made it work for longer, but most employees I worked with had only been there for a few months. Their hiring strategy is to bring in as many people as possible, and then let the job itself weed out the people who weren't up to the task. There were 20 people in my orientation, and they had orientations on a regular basis. As such, staff... were seriously undervalued and undersupported. The high-risk/high-pressure environment led to a culture of everyone trying to cover their own butt. I saw several staff, including myself, who were blamed for things that were not directly their fault. However, whenever something went wrong, someone would have to take the fall for it. There was a lot of talk about cooperation and working together, but at the end of the day it would devolve into backstabbing, gossip and an altogether unsupportive environment. From what I've heard, Excelsior has been undergoing some major changes (that were in there beginning stages when I worked there.) So it's very possible that they've been able to turn things around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire Cottage Directors just because they did well as cottage staff. Make sure that they will also make good managers.

    Excelsior2016-04-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Healthcare Coordinator in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Excelsior for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good team of employees to work with.

    Cons

    Raises only given to upper management. No room for growth in company.

    Excelsior2016-02-17
Found 28 reviews