Exelon Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Exelon Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 559 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Exelon CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
243 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are a good company with good pay(in 63 reviews)

  • "Great pay and benefits, great innovations and forward thinking progress(in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be tricky for full time employees during outages(in 64 reviews)

  • "Long hours (but doesn't bother me) and a lot of information to learn (also doesn't bother me)(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great stable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large company which you can move around in. Not just confined to one state and location.

    Cons

    Very slow to get anything done due to large organization size and red tape.

    Exelon2019-09-12
  2. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Support Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits as well as work/life balance.

    Cons

    There are no cons to think of.

    Exelon2019-09-10
  3. "Endless opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanic in Marseilles, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Your opinion and voice matters.

    Cons

    Management positions are filled off the street.

    Advice to Management

    Offer craft worker a better salary to enter into management positions. They know the plant better than anyone.

    Exelon2019-09-08
  4. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money was very plentiful indeed

    Cons

    Time was always less on my side

    Exelon2019-08-19
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Operations in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is very flexible and reliable for work. Overall it’s amazing. Family has worked here for over 40 years

    Cons

    Don’t have any cons about Exelon

    Exelon2019-08-20

    Exelon Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    We are so happy to hear this!

  6. "Love IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Eectrical Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, good promotions, interesting work. I have been over a year and I love it. you learn a lot.

    Cons

    can be a little slow but nothing else is bad

    Exelon2019-08-12

    Exelon Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    This is great to hear - thank you!

  7. "Equipment Operator at Exelon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Equipment Operator 

    I worked at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Very competitive pay, large amount of resources provided.

    Cons

    High expectations, extensive pre-job paper work with short deadlines, constant testing.

    Exelon2019-08-13

    Exelon Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    We appreciate the feedback!

  8. "As Advertised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exelon markets itself as a leader in the future of energy. In fact, they are. The bulk of their energy portfolio is nuclear which is a zero emission fuel source which will be vital as we (hopefully) move away from fossil fuels. Additionally, they sell potential staff on competitive benefits, growth opportunity, and diversity. Generally, these are catch-all phrases that sound great on paper but are never put into... action. Exelon legitimately does have above-market pay and benefits. Base comp, retirement, etc. are all above market and they also leverage their size to get some really cool fringe benefits as well! Further, there is ample opportunity for growth within your department and company-wide. They offer analytics, learning modules, tuition assistance, and plenty of inter-departmental groups. Lastly, diversity is key here. Exelon aims to mimic the communities they are located within so you truly do get a wide range of backgrounds, races, ethnicity, and just overall personalities here. It makes our company great.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes due to company size things move a little slow and there can also be unfair work balance between teams.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! My only advice would be to modernize some processes (and tech) and teach teams to delegate work within so that everyone stays busy and motivated.

    Exelon2019-08-09

    Exelon Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thanks so much for the feedback; it is our goal to consistently provide an employment experience that aligns with the value proposition we communicate.

  9. "Good pay and benefits, interesting work, very demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Warrenville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, good pay and benefits, interesting work

    Cons

    Very demanding, very stressful, unreasonable expectations sometimes

    Exelon2019-08-04
  10. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Prince Frederick, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay. I definitely felt challenged with the work I was doing. My direct supervisors were lenient and trusted me to get my work done.

    Cons

    I was a staff aug contractor (engineering) at a nuclear power plant. Exelon began to change rules for staff aug contractors almost every month. This was sometime in the year 2015. They implemented a rule that contractors had to take 90 days off for every 2 year period. When I tried to come back after my 90 day period, I found that I was on a "do not hire list". The people I worked with and managers tried to... understand why I was put on this list. Apparently, it was from the security department in corporate office. No one could get an answer. A few times I called the security department, but they never could answer the question about why I was on this list. Some did not even bother to call me back. I understand companies have a "do not hire" list, but it was uncalled for in my situation since I was one of their top employees and did nothing wrong. They did not even have the decency to help me understand why. I actually suspect it was done illegally. On two separate occasions after 2016 someone from Exelon called me to work as a staff aug at their nuclear power plant since I have a good reputation in the industry. The same thing resurfaced. The managers that wanted to hire me also did not get a valid reason.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Making up rules as you go creates an uncertain work environment. This pushes out good employees. When you put someone on a "do not hire" list at least of the decency to tell the employee why.

    Exelon2019-08-16
Found 559 reviews