Exelon Employee Reviews about "pay and benefits"

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Exelon President & CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
315 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, reasonable hours, nice environment(in 66 reviews)

  • "Exelon legitimately does have above-market pay and benefits(in 60 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance, plant closed earlier than expected(in 68 reviews)

  • "Engineers are stretched very thin and often work long hours(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pay and benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Exciting company to work for in an exciting industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work place flexibility, pay, benefits

    Cons

    Big organization, can be political in some depts

    Exelon Response

    February 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and giving us an opportunity to further improve.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission and desire to push industry forward; middle management is lacking"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Corporate vision is progressive - accelerating a clean energy future -Strong and leading brand in power sector; corporate giant -Strong efforts in innovation and transformation initiatives -Competitive pay and benefits

    Cons

    -Talent acquisition strategy for professional positions seems lacking and unintentional; does not at all feel like you're working with the best and brightest -Talent development programs are very lacking; mostly ad hoc, trial-by-fire training and learning -Too many initiatives without strong, capable leadership and clear vision embedded throughout the company -Bureaucratic, hierarchical structure is slow to adapt to changes and emergent opportunities

    Continue reading

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Better outside of Human Resources"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great, operating departments have many wonderful employees

    Cons

    Heavy workload, little flexibility, disorganized, secretive, ethical conflicts, two-faced HR leadership.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    January 9, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    We are very sorry to hear that your experience as an intern is not aligning with our goals for the program. We encourage you to discuss your concerns directly with your supervisor or contact your HR representative to request additional information on career development resources.

  4. "Amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Facilitator in Clinton, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    A lot of overtime

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Zero Transparency"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Good possibility of advancement if you're willing to sacrifice your integrity.

    Cons

    Not transparent at all. Everyone has an agenda that is seldom aligned with doing what is right. Many people are placed in key management positions based on their ability to be leveraged.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    January 9, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your comment. As a company we strive to foster an inclusive culture of trust, collaboration and performance and we are sorry to hear that you felt your experience did not align with these efforts.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "As Advertised"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exelon markets itself as a leader in the future of energy. In fact, they are. The bulk of their energy portfolio is nuclear which is a zero emission fuel source which will be vital as we (hopefully) move away from fossil fuels. Additionally, they sell potential staff on competitive benefits, growth opportunity, and diversity. Generally, these are catch-all phrases that sound great on paper but are never put into action. Exelon legitimately does have above-market pay and benefits. Base comp, retirement, etc. are all above market and they also leverage their size to get some really cool fringe benefits as well! Further, there is ample opportunity for growth within your department and company-wide. They offer analytics, learning modules, tuition assistance, and plenty of inter-departmental groups. Lastly, diversity is key here. Exelon aims to mimic the communities they are located within so you truly do get a wide range of backgrounds, races, ethnicity, and just overall personalities here. It makes our company great.

    Cons

    Sometimes due to company size things move a little slow and there can also be unfair work balance between teams.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    August 26, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thanks so much for the feedback; it is our goal to consistently provide an employment experience that aligns with the value proposition we communicate.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay but don't expect Work Life Balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Engineer in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon for more than 10 years

    Pros

    *Job positions are minimally staffed so high competence is required. You will always be challenged and grow to your maximum potential. *Great pay and benefits. *Many job openings within the organization with able opportunity for internal mobility *Diversity is promoted and well managed.

    Cons

    *High stress at all times. Many positions require you to be on 24 hour call even while on vacation. Storm duty places you on shift work. *Frustration levels often run high due to repeat organizational mistakes * There are no organizational values that provide guidelines for an employee's needs and leaves employee treatment to a manager's discretion. At times this leads to wild swings in work/life balance.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good pay and benefits, interesting work, very demanding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Warrenville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, good pay and benefits, interesting work

    Cons

    Very demanding, very stressful, unreasonable expectations sometimes

    Exelon Response

    January 9, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and taking time to provide a review. We strive to support a work life balance for our employees, although we recognize that at times and within certain departments, longer hours may be required and appreciate the dedication of our employees to achieving our shared purpose.

  9. "Excellent Pay and Moral"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Project Management Assistant in Mays Landing, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits, Moral, Oppurtunity to Grow and advance, flexibility

    Cons

    Constant changes in software, a lot of meetings

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    February 21, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments. We agree with you about meetings!

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Human Resources"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Great team to be on.

    Cons

    Nepotism and favoritism is STRONG.. it starts with leadership.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    November 12, 2018Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. We encourage you to contact the 24 Hour Ethics hotline or your own HR representative to provide us with the opportunity to understand your concerns and make improvements wherever possible.

Found 60 reviews