Exelon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Exelon President & CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
315 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, reasonable hours, nice environment(in 66 reviews)

  • "Exelon legitimately does have above-market pay and benefits(in 60 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance, plant closed earlier than expected(in 68 reviews)

  • "Engineers are stretched very thin and often work long hours(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Forked River, NJ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, great fellow workers.

    Cons

    Work life balance, plant closed earlier than expected

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    February 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and giving us the opportunity to continue improving. We greatly appreciate your long-standing service and dedication.

  2. Helpful (6)

    "Lost between past, present, and future"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When it shines, it shines brighter than any public utility in the country. Exelon does a ton right. There is tremendous opportunity to learn about all sectors in the electric utility space, and I mean any part. Exelon is involved from start to finish in the life-cycle of electricity, from production to distribution, to innovation they have it all. Easily a company one could spend an entire career at. Great work-life balance, decent benefits.

    Cons

    Unfortunately with all the good the company does right, it does just as much, if not more wrong for the employees. Exelon touts their benefits and pay compensation like sites like Glassdoor and LinkedIn don't exist. These are middle of the road at best if not subpar at this point. The biggest problem is career stagnation and outright mismanagement. There are a ton of directors walking around at Exelon that simply don't belong in that role. Nepotism is real, even if senior management denies it. The company also suffers from a ton of roadblocks at middle management positions forcing young talent to look elsewhere for career advancement.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    February 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for providing such a balanced review of your experience at Exelon. We are committed to improving and feedback like yours helps us do that.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "New leadership train wrecked a good company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay matches the market, good bonus structure and work from home flexibility.

    Cons

    First 4 yrs were ok, the last year plus went down hill. It was a good company to work for until the new VP came in. Since then, morale sucks. Employees are continually complaining about unfair treatment across multiple departments. Groups that did not operate 24/7 were held to 24/7 SLAs then questioned why they didn't met the SLA, seriously. Then automation was forced on teams with no coding skill only to take 6 months to develop a team to help. Matrix are now the one stop shop for all judgment, which can be fine, but the reports are broke so groups have gotten beat up over and over for false reports. On call is horrible, not tiered properly and vastly different between departments. You WILL put in a LOT of hours. Work life balance is talked about, but it’s WAY out of balance for most. If you think a 60 hr work week is balance, then you know what Exelon means by work balance. On the other side of the coin, there are people that don't do a thing and somehow manange to fly under the radar. The company flip flops on hiring contractors then follows up with talk about subbing out work continuously. It’s as if they don't know what they want and someone new comes in and thinks they can save a buck. In the end, it’s a yo-yo approach that only stresses employees. Managers are told of the dissatisfaction, but it seems they are limited in power. From the bottom looking up, others around the new management are just yes people while the lower lv is not recognized like years past.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    February 25, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and giving us the opportunity to improve.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Construction Specialist"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Steady work, good benefits, support and enforcement of safety policies

    Cons

    Storm duty, work life balance, new management

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    January 9, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback as we strive to ensure that Exelon is a great place to work for all of our employees.

  5. "Great company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Support Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits as well as work/life balance.

    Cons

    There are no cons to think of.

    Exelon Response

    January 9, 2020Senior Talent Acquisition & Employment Brand Specialist

    This is great to hear! Thanks for sharing your feedback.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay but don't expect Work Life Balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Engineer in Oakbrook Terrace, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon for more than 10 years

    Pros

    *Job positions are minimally staffed so high competence is required. You will always be challenged and grow to your maximum potential. *Great pay and benefits. *Many job openings within the organization with able opportunity for internal mobility *Diversity is promoted and well managed.

    Cons

    *High stress at all times. Many positions require you to be on 24 hour call even while on vacation. Storm duty places you on shift work. *Frustration levels often run high due to repeat organizational mistakes * There are no organizational values that provide guidelines for an employee's needs and leaves employee treatment to a manager's discretion. At times this leads to wild swings in work/life balance.

    Continue reading
  7. "Work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and Work life balance

    Cons

    Management cant manage Lack of respect to lower level employees

    Exelon Response

    May 6, 2019Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will reach out to your HR representative so that we can better understand the concerns you mention.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Favoritism"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and benefits.

    Cons

    Favoritism is huge in the department. Unfairness when it comes to how work is divided. Promotions are based on who likes you and not on your knowledge or skill to exceed in that position.

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    March 26, 2019Talent Acquisition

    The experience you describe is inconsistent with our core values and we encourage you to reach out to your HR representative or contact the 24/7 ethics hotline so that we may take steps to address your concerns.

  9. "Sweet!"

    5.0
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Exelon

    Pros

    Great company to work for! I loved it.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be tricky for full time employees during outages.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "High pay, but poor equality"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Technical Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High pay, good insurance, culture at my location is very welcoming.

    Cons

    Hiring/Advancement is highly dependent on gender and race. Blatantly so. New employee retirement package is far from competitive Constant re-organizations Poor work life balance, unpaid duty and required constant availability, no cell stippend

    Continue reading

    Exelon Response

    December 4, 2018Talent Acquisition

    "Thank you for sharing this feedback. We value your input and would like to understand more so that we can work to ensure that Exelon is a great workplace for all of our employees. We adhere to a strict policy of nondiscrimination in all of our employment policies and practices and we are committed to providing equal employment opportunities; if this has not been your experience we highly encourage you to contact the 24 Hour Ethics hotline or your own HR representative to discuss your concerns so that we may have a chance to address them. On a separate note, Exelon's BYOD program offers personal mobile plan stipends to eligible approved employees based on the mobile functionality required for their jobs - you can find more information by searching ""BYOD"" on the Intranet!"

Found 105 reviews