FDM Group Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

FDM Group Project Manager Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
13 Ratings
  1. "Rough with the smooth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to some excellent companies Some excellent job opportunities Potential to earn good money

    Cons

    The atmosphere when on the bench between contracts becomes toxic and then leads to a downwards spiral of negativity Some very poor job opportunities Salary is low with the bonus making up a large percentage of take home Mental health awareness is discussed but rarely put into action

    Advice to Management

    Open up the client base Run one off training sessions at different times of the week to break up the monotony of "beached" life

    FDM Group2019-06-20
  2. "IT Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Foot in the door to blue chip companies

    Cons

    Must commit to geographically flexible

    FDM Group2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Be very careful - they will exploit you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros for FDM

    Cons

    Crooks, take a large % of income in first 2 years. Rubbish Account Managers and are cynical enough to release you with no cause just before 2 year point if it serves their best interest. Dont go there.

    Advice to Management

    Get some moral backbone.

    FDM Group2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good way of getting your foot in the door of a good client, but FDM are not an employer who you can work for long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good client base, and some great roles to be placed in to. Lots of scope to gain experience in your field. Pay is okay for a grad scheme, but low compared to market rates in IT once you get towards the end of the 2 year commitment.

    Cons

    No choice over where you get placed, even what role you do - if you're on the PMO stream and want to be a PM, FDM will place you in the next available business role such as a BA role and even roles that have nothing to do with IT - its bums on seats that counts to them unfortunately and their consultants are livestock to them - £££. That said, if you get lucky and get a client, role and location that suits you then its...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your people more - for such a people-oriented business, the disregard for consultants is shocking - the most common feedback you hear from consultants is that FDM don't care and only get in touch when they want something and are impossible to get hold of when we need something from them. Improve the pay and benefits offering for staff - particularly those who have served beyond 2 years, the current model doesn't...

    Show More
    FDM Group2019-04-26
  5. "Good stepping stone into IT industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Network, opportunities, training, opening doors to great placements

    Cons

    Slow to respond to HR issues, lack of onsite support, viewed as a resource and not an employee

    FDM Group2018-12-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Return to Work Consultant Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Support Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is thorough, clients that you are placed with are of a high calibre . FDM staff are supportive and knowledgeable. Salaries are fair. Biggest pros are the opportunities available both during the two year placement period and thereafter in terms of clients and job roles.

    Cons

    7 weeks of training with some expenses paid, relatively reasonable amount but it can be a tight .

    FDM Group2018-07-15
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great people, bad business. All of the people you meet are wonderful, but being successful is a hit or miss."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant/Project Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    The classroom setting makes an easy transition. If you're coming right out of school to join the workforce, this is a nice way to slowly integrate yourself. You sit in a classroom like setting learning real world material and for some classes, applying these skills to real world problems instead of sandbox, predetermined issues. Interview preps and feedbacks are a goldmine. You can't imagine how many interviews you...

    Show More

    Cons

    No health care until you're assigned a client. This could last until who knows when and if you're a self sufficient individual who doesn't use a parent's or spouse's insurance plan, then this level of uncertainty is definitely not for you. Low pay for an indefinite amount of time. You're made aware of the minimum wage pay from the beginning and that you'll only make about $45K in your 1st gig (if that client still...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know it's more of a selling point to bring people in, but maybe this job shouldn't be pandered to already working individuals or those looking for a career change. This business model is more far more suited for college students and people still at home with little to no responsibilities of their own.

    FDM Group2018-07-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Back to Business - Glasgow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant/Project Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'd been looking for a role for 5 years, and not succeeded. FDM recognised my potential and took me through their intensive 7 week "Back to Business" programme in Glasgow, which gave really useful training, confidence building, and repeated interview practice. At the end of the seven weeks I had a successful interview, and two weeks later I'm in a role I enjoy with a great client. I wish I'd found FDM years ago.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits aren't the best, but I expect I'll probably transition to a permanent role with the client after 2 years, so only a minor issue for me

    Advice to Management

    None

    FDM Group2017-12-08

    FDM Group Response

    December 13, 2017Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad the Getting Back to Business Programme worked out well for you and wish you the best of luck in your career. Sheila Flavell - COO

  9. "FDM Ex Forces Advanced Course"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Project Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent modular training delivered by knowledgable training staff in a modern office environment. Gaining industry recognised project management qualifications & certification

    Cons

    Not many other than perhaps: No placement or job guarantees (but you need to understand the business model and accept the rules)

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting and encouraging the valuable source of hugely experienced potential PMs from across the Armed Forces Family.

    FDM Group2017-10-29

    FDM Group Response

    November 22, 2017Deputy MD & Head of the Ex-Forces Programme

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m glad you enjoyed your journey with FDM and that you would recommend it to others. We are always looking for ways to continue improving the programme and welcome all feedback. If you’re willing to discuss your feedback further with ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Good transition for Military"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Foot in the door route for many leaving the Military. Able to train and certify and in some excellent areas.

    Cons

    Flexibility of locations but also the unpaid during the first 6 weeks is not always welcomed and nor is a further 6 weeks after training if no placement is found. However this is briefed and is an individual risk.

    Advice to Management

    Consider a basic payment during training or between weeks 6-12 in order to ensure staff do no go 12 full weeks unpaid. Even £200 per week would be helpful.

    FDM Group2017-10-04

    FDM Group Response

    October 9, 2017Deputy MD & Head of the Ex-Forces Programme

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m glad you enjoyed your journey with FDM and that you would recommend it to others. We have little control over the location of placements unfortunately as these are determined by our clients, which is why flexibility is a requirement. ...

    Show More
Found 18 reviews