Fidelity Investments Director Reviews

Updated 1 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Fidelity Investments CEO Abby Johnson
Abby Johnson
88 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots smart people and plenty of resources

    Cons

    Decisions can take a long time

    Fidelity Investments2020-06-01
  2. "Nurturing culture and lets people find themselves and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Architecture in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its a culture of respect, collaboration, nurturing and growth. There's a lot of work, but its well paced and the idea always is to think of the long term and not create something for the short term. By and large, there's a culture of autonomy, people are encouraged to express themselves, diversity and inclusion is pursued actively.

    Cons

    Occassionally (and only if your luck is really really bad), you might come across people at the higher levels who have stayed too long and created their own turfs. Working with them can be limiting from the standpoint of growth and expanding one's horizons.

    Continue reading
    Fidelity Investments2020-04-25
  3. "Work experiance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Merrimack, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, Employee care, Large enough to switch roles internally to try new things,

    Cons

    Hierarchical, Top heavy, Low base salary

    Fidelity Investments2020-04-19
  4. "Excellent company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Director in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time

    Pros

    A very people oriented firm

    Cons

    Quite conservative in certain respects which can impact on the culture

    Fidelity Investments2020-04-17
  5. "Wonderful place to live a well-rounded life"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work-life balance, benefits, and compensation package are the best I've ever had at any companies. The culture is collaborative and not stressful. There are many senior leaders that are women, including many that have young children at home, which I believe helps set a great tone for work-life balance. Given the business is privately held and family run, I've found leadership to demonstrate more long-term and strategic thinking compared to large publicly traded companies. There is a desire to deliver today and plan for tomorrow. Over the last few years, there has also been an earnest push to keep pace on rapid innovation with the rise of fintech and operate under agile principles. People do value pace over perfection and speed to market, but there is still a ways to go to truly be agile.

    Cons

    Like many large companies, it can be bureaucratic and slower moving than I'd like (although better than most of the large companies I've worked at). Some individuals are motivated by self-interest and politics and kissing up can trump business results.

    Continue reading
    Fidelity Investments2020-03-09
  6. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome benefits and people every day

    Cons

    Not many too think of, big company

    Continue reading
    Fidelity Investments2020-02-21
  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Operations Management in Smithfield, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity and great benefits

    Cons

    There tends to be a lot of organizational changes which means you can end up with many different managers

    Fidelity Investments2020-02-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Tough place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Risk Management in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Big company and quite stable

    Cons

    Continuous stress of layoff or firing

    Continue reading
    Fidelity Investments2020-03-19
  9. "Taking constant calls"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Consulting Director 

    I worked at Fidelity Investments full-time

    Pros

    They were very helpful and constructive

    Cons

    The test you need to take are endless

    Fidelity Investments2020-01-29
  10. "Full Package"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Outstanding benefits, Strong direction from senior leadership to always put client first, privately owned means a lot of investment in associates and long term innovation initiatives.

    Cons

    I truly cannot think of anything substantial... the company does have a lot of loyal employees that want to stay forever, making mobility tough.

    Fidelity Investments2019-12-16
Found 228 reviews