First Data Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

First Data Reviews

Updated 28 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
First Data CEO Frank Bisignano
Frank Bisignano
1,162 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to co-work and they all are professional(in 131 reviews)

  • "Work with good people, good equipment(in 91 reviews)

Cons
  • "It used to be a great company, the benefits were great, the retirement plan was awesome (401K match), I wasn't worried about getting laid off(in 167 reviews)

  • "No 401k match, although there is an employee stock purchase plan that is reasonably attractive(in 115 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Product manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at First Data full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High efficiency, great working atmosphere

    Cons

    There is nothing to say

    First Data2019-04-02
  2. "Great opportunities but high pressure environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great careers opportunities if you prove yourself

    Cons

    High pressure, with lack of funding and resources

    First Data2019-07-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Computer Operator in North Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Not many, other than I worked with some very good people.

    Cons

    Offshoring - jobs are being sent overseas, with no thought or care as to customer impact. Layoffs - so many redundancies, in US IT Operations' case, just before they took on the work of other countries. They were not happy. Neither were we in Oz. Pathetic pay rises. Bonuses given as part money, part shares, which last can't be touched for 3 years (the shares that I was "given" in 2017 couldn't be touched until 2020).... Oh. and if made redundant, any unvested shares evaporate. I had some USD 2,000 in shares that disappeared in my redundancy. Enjoy them, Frank?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave. Now. Let someone take over who values the employees (What happened to the mantra "People are our greatest asset"? It became "Payroll is our biggest expense". Remove yourselves from the payroll.

    First Data2019-03-24
  4. Helpful (4)

    "PTSD The Numbness Remains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    None that i can recall

    Cons

    Micro management is an understatement. No focus, only on the US No strategy Catch phrase "If you dont like it, there are other companies you can work for" No product development No staff development The place was like a building full zombies customers come second to egos i wish i had something positive to say

    Advice to Management

    look after your people, and your customers. your ego will not pay the bills!

    First Data2019-02-06
  5. Helpful (6)

    "First Data Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well recognized company leading to good career prospects if you choose to pursue your career in the banking and payments industry

    Cons

    There's too much company politics and 'power-plays' between different departments, which can take a toll on work . There's also too much micro-management of employees. Top management is rewarded with great salaries, but the rest are left and paid peanuts. Also, there is favoritism amongst management and promotion prospects for employees are bleak.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop micro managing employees and reward hardworking employees with the proper market salary.

    First Data2018-09-27
  6. "Challenging but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, client focused and Exec team open to feedback & recommendations

    Cons

    US driven budget makes responding to local investment at time challenging

    First Data2018-08-23
  7. "CIO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Data full-time

    Pros

    Global Company, Excellent Emerging Technologies, Blue Chip Client Base

    Cons

    USA focus at expense of global business units, some opportunities being left on the table

    Advice to Management

    Good luck with all future endeavors

    First Data2018-04-18
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Sydney office is very dysfunctional ... good staff continue to leave, read below!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in North Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sydney office was once a great place to work and made you feel like you wanted to work and contribute to its success.

    Cons

    The best advice I can give about First Data Sydney is, I would not recommend joining it as it has suffered many setbacks in its overall business in Australia. Other reasons for avoiding First Data are: 1. Place does not treat its employees and other staff with any respect. 2. HR have no meaningful pathways or strategies for career development and progression at really any level. Training and career... development are virtually non-existent. No one really cares about this issue. 3. Management are completely disconnected from their staff and as a result continue to experience poor staff engagement, mass resignations and departures. Get out of FD if you can as it adds no value to your resume and career prospects. 4. Most of its top talent has left in the last few years for the better leaving behind an organisation that is now a shadow of what it used to be. 5. Pay and rewards across most levels and positions is woeful compared to market/industry averages. Accounting for cost of living increases, pay and salaries have actually regressed markedly. 6. Place has lost some really important clients and continues to lose ground in Australia to other competitors. 7. Workplace and its environment is very dated and underwhelming altogether.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start afresh by replacing the current management with better more staff centric and caring people. HR need to be held to account as the function has much to do with low staff morale, lack of support services and the non-existent career planning.

    First Data2018-01-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Constant change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Data full-time

    Pros

    Global footprints , innovative products , on growth trajectory

    Cons

    lack of empowerment to country leaders

    First Data2017-12-02
  10. Helpful (6)

    "No Career Growth and no Salary increase for 5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at First Data full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It used to be a good Company to work before becoming Global and before current management.

    Cons

    Micromanagement. No logical strategy or plan. Lack of vision. Management did not listen to employees, expected way more than what the team can provide and cut down employees along with increased load of work. Blind push for everything which lead to failure and stress.

    Advice to Management

    Need to support Employee to grow not only you. Stop destroying value of the company with your micromanagement!

    First Data2017-11-18
Found 2567 reviews