Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
259 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited annual leave, lots of travel, work hard play hard(in 60 reviews)

  • "Employee benefits ranging from health and wellbeing support to financial advice and travel perks(in 56 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Specialist Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment and culture

    Cons

    Better pay in other companies

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-21
  2. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Modbury
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    uncapped salary, travel, famils, customer rapport, development, leadership

    Cons

    work life balance, stressful environment sometimes

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-12-02
  3. "It's fun but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rather Not Say in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The direct team I was in was fun and I genuinely became friends with my workmates. The energy at HQ is mostly upbeat and they have plenty of activities/ groups to keep you interested.

    Cons

    Due to the mentality that a consultant can rise up to be the COO, there is a definite lack of appreciation for those with technical skills. It's clear that management believe anyone can do any role if they apply themselves, and this is projected onto team members in that everyone is replaceable and anyone can do your job. FC salaries are far lower than industry average for technical positions which, paired with... technical people being under appreciated, leads to turn over. As FC pays less (with the lure of culture and cheap flights as the trade off), less experienced people are put into those positions and are trained up, not paid inline with industry, and the cycle continues... I've had some great team leaders in my time at FCTG and also some very average ones. The average TLs were often promoted before they were ready and weren't the right fit for the team and role.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1 - Pay technical people what they are worth (research what the going rates are for the role) and then the benefits are just that - a benefit, not a trade off for accepting a lower salary. 2 - Promote people to TL positions when they are ready (rather than using a period of time as the gauge) and if they're moving to a new team, allow the new team to reverse interview them. This could resolve the huge attrition... rate of teams when the TL changes. 3 - This needs to come from the top down, the BoF mentality doesn't always apply - especially if you are a technical expert. A consultant without any prior education shouldn't be able to put their hand up for a technical role. I was made to interview internal candidates, ahead of external, for positions even though they were clearly not suitable.

    Show More
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-12-13
  4. "Culture in abundance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great place to grow as a person whilst working with a great product. The Culture is second to none. We take booking customer holidays seriously but not ourselves

    Cons

    It is a sales environment and some people see the world travel without anything else.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-13
  5. "stepping stone into travel industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learnt a lot about the importance of how to manage and take responsibility for you own productiveness. It's tag line is to "open the world to those who want to see" which is true as it will open your eyes to see what other opportunities there are in the travel industry. As unless you are/have been in the industry long enough, you won't survive.

    Cons

    heavily based on repeat clients. With the changing nature of the booking industry, its easier for customers to do it themselves. Its a sales job, You need to strong enough to handle using different tactics and manipulations to be able to convince your customers to book with you when they could just as easily do it themselves.... and that is without showing the customer you are so desperate for the sale. Be aware..., with new changes to their award, they have implemented Performance Plans which they now use on the regular. Novices are exempt from them, however if your sales drop below their target, they can put you on a "pip" plan, and if you don't imporve you get fired. Of course this is common in most roles, however this does not take into account any quality of the work you produce, the satisfaction of your customers, the attentiveness of your customer service skills - its all about numbers and getting the money in. Very difficult as I said if you are trying to build up your client base as a newbe, in an industry where stores will soon be of no point.

    Show More
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-21
  6. "Great opportunities if you want to travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Accountant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to gain experience in a top ASX company in many different areas

    Cons

    The uniform is a bit boring but it saves money on buying work clothes

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-05
  7. "KEEP AN EYE ON MANAGEMENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Hard Play Hard atmosphere if your young (or young at heart)! Only worth it if you’ve already got sales experience & know how to do it already as there isn’t much sales skill training.

    Cons

    Management. The only thing I could fault. I made a number of complaints, concerns about things happening to me in that office and all went ignored.

    Advice to Management

    stop thinking about your next pay check and keep an eye on your team leaders

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-18
  8. "Gender inequality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly people, great social culture

    Cons

    Return from maternity leave is not adequately supported. Separately, there are known instances of male employees being paid more than females for the same role and/or with the same amount of experience. Overall, FCTG does not support females properly. Whilst there is 'womanwise' and other initiatives, when it comes to practice FCTG doesn't 'walk the walk'. More also needs to be done to allow staff to enable... staff leadership positions to be in a Part Time capacity (within reason ie perhaps there is a threshold of 0.7 FTE or something).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In practice, support maternity leavers and ensure equality in salary.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-18
  9. "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    travel perks, work travel incentives for those who make the most money

    Cons

    management only after commission... toxic workplace environment

    Advice to Management

    Encourage a fair and honest business practice. Increase base salary so consultants are not needing to rip clients off.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-28
  10. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Annual Leave Gain lots of knowledge about travel industry

    Cons

    Low pay Crazy amount of hours Huge amount of responsibility/stress

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-03
Found 375 reviews