Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated 12 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work hard/play hard - if you like that(in 57 reviews)

  • "Employee benefits ranging from health and wellbeing support to financial advice and travel perks(in 54 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "If you work hard you are rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company and people. Work hard and you are rewarded in pay and benefits

    Cons

    Starting out can be tough. Minimum wage for the first year.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-28

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Professional/work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Clerk in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, work life balance, learning opportunities

    Cons

    8hrs+ working hours / full time but contract

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-11

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "Don’t expect it to be easy. Need to be a good sales person to be successful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and lots of support, some good perks for consultants who perform well

    Cons

    It can depend on the store you are placed in as to how much enquiry and commission there is to be made. Pay is no good unless you are a high performer as it’s mainly commission based

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-02

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback. It's true that the role as a travel consultant with Flight Centre is a sales and target driven role with performance based pay. It's not something that everyone will enjoy, however if you enjoy working toward goals and a pay structure that grows as you grow, you'll enjoy it here. As at July, 2019, guaranteed minimum earnings for a first year consultant with no prior experience is $41,118 per year. This can increase up to $48,897 for a qualified and experienced consultant. Penalty rates for weekends and evening work are paid in addition to these amounts as well as employee commission payments which operate on a scale from 10% to 35% of the total monthly company commission that you achieve.

    Continue reading
  4. "Work Hard, Play Harder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Rockingham
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If your a natural sales person who enjoys fast paced and competitive workplaces then this is your perfect job. Its hard work and at times extremely long hours but if you put in the effort the incentives are incredible. Weekly in store drinks, monthly awards nights with meals and drinks, annual balls and global awards..... and the opportunity to travel the world!

    Cons

    Base Salary is minimal. Commission structure is harsh so a slow month you wouldn't make enough to pay the mortgage but a great month can bring home 10k easy

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-09-14

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to give a balanced review of your experience working at Flight Centre. We wish you the best with your future and hope that our paths may cross again some time.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good first full time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Agent in Cheltenham, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good incentives and lovely clients. I was part of a big team which was great, made global and got some great holidays out of it. My TL was really supportive when I dropped to part time and being part time I was still able to pull the same figures. I made global gathering which was amazing

    Cons

    To make global gathering I had to push myself every month to get the sales which left me drained and poor work life balance. Being part of a big team meant things got lost in translation as well meaning we would have communication issues. I'm leaving as I can't see the job being sustainable for the long run

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-09-07

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Stay away - as a customer and as an employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Analyst in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s fun if you like drinking and have a shallow personality entirely summed up in your instagram profile.

    Cons

    Morally bankrupt company that is out to screw customers and employees. Narcissistic and Sexist attitudes right from the top of the company.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-06

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to give a balanced review of your experience working at Flight Centre. We believe we have a very strong and positive culture, which is generally celebrated and has in fact led to us winning a number of awards. Many of these awards are based on employee feedback. We do accept that Flight Centre is not for everyone and we are sorry that you did not have the positive experience that we endeavour to provide for all our employees. We wish you the best with your future and hope that our paths may cross again some time.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "They have asked us all to write 5 star reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The uniforms are free, I can take brochures home whenever I want to, occasionally you get recognised by happy customers that sometimes book with you again

    Cons

    - If you mess up someone's travel, the cost to fix it comes directly out of your commission (sometimes thousands of dollars) - Flight Centre takes approximately 90% of your commission, of which you're expected to make at least $5000 per month. So if you hit your target (after tax) you end up with about $100 commission per week to your already terrible $640 p/w wage. And that's IF you hit your target - It's an incredibly stressful job with little reward - You only make money off huge bookings and the small bookings you're influenced to put as much of a mark-up as possible to cover your losses so this isn't the job for you if you're a good and honest person. - All of your calls are recorded and scored based on how well you up-sold them to all of our products. It's incredibly stressful to receive feedback daily and it focuses on the negatives not the positives. It's like "that's great that you sold those flights but why didn't you sell them insurance, hotel nights, car hire etc too? 1 star" - Flight Centre do not care about their customers at all! It's only once you complain that they listen and it's usually never the consultants fault. But boy do we hear about it - Free trips are only given to to the tippy top salesmen/scammers that make Flight Centre all the money - A lot of the blame is put on the consultants for not making enough money when in reality they're just paying the head honchos too much. It's a multi-million dollar company that solely rely on travel sales as income, yet the consultants are the most underpaid of all the staff - If you want career progression (into ANY other department or role) you can only get this after working in retail 1 - 2 years and have high sales figures. - The average training group has about 10-12 hopefuls. By month 3, usually only 2-3 are left and by 12 months there's possibly 1 consultant based in a good store that made it to that stage. Staff turnaround is incredibly high - If you get put in a bad store, you will not make any more than $640 per week. You cannot move stores until you prove yourself as a consultant. Vicious cycle - hence the staff turnaround especially in the stores that are in bad areas.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-02
  8. "Great company fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    career progression, great travel benefits, friendships, certified training, great environment, fun product evenings, balls and events held by FCTG, monthly buzz nights to celebrate the prior months wins.

    Cons

    salary is minimum wage, can be a high stress environment for some, dealing with difficult clients at times

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-23

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience working with us.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Flight centre group provides many amazing opportunities. The are opportunities to travel, meet great people, and so many areas of the company to work in. I have worked for the company for 15 years and my role in that time has changed, Flight Centre has given me flexibility when I have needed it.

    Cons

    This job is not for someone that doesnt want to work hard!!

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-22

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience working with us.

    Continue reading
  10. "Work hard and you will be rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Manager in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Uncapped commission, good perks and can meet some great people (staff and clients). The teams I worked in were all great and everyone worked hard to meet targets.

    Cons

    - Can't survive on the base wage alone. - Finance system could definitely be better. It's all about Profit, Growth and Change. Change was constant (wages, targets, expectations, processes) and no real discussion with staff prior to ensure these changes would be effective. The communication of changes were dependent on Area Leader/ Team Leader/ Support who rolled this out. Afterhours assistance calling on weekends or nights if there are any issues makes it hard to "switch off" from the job.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-19

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience working with us.

    Continue reading
Found 362 reviews