Flight Centre Travel Group Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
290 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited annual leave, lots of travel, work hard play hard(in 60 reviews)

  • "Awesome travel perks, great work/life balance(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Tough sales targets which can sometimes encourage long hours(in 164 reviews)

  • "Work life/balance can be difficult to manage(in 133 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Flexible Committed Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Travel Consultant in Cardiff
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Work Hard Play Hard Strong work ethic Social company Lifelong friendships Travel opportunities

    Cons

    Average pay when you’re first starting out. Challenges of work life balance and can be stressful at times

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience working with us.

  2. "FCTG review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good community, a lot of resources available, a lot of training available

    Cons

    Low base wage, sometimes lack of structure, work life balance is tricky


  3. "Great fun but not a long term career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great fun social job with lots of travel opportunities and fairly independent work environment

    Cons

    Extremely poor salary for hard work, not much pay increases available even with promotions within the retail sector, poor work life balance

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Modbury
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    uncapped salary, travel, famils, customer rapport, development, leadership

    Cons

    work life balance, stressful environment sometimes

  5. "Good first full time job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Agent in Cheltenham, Victoria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good incentives and lovely clients. I was part of a big team which was great, made global and got some great holidays out of it. My TL was really supportive when I dropped to part time and being part time I was still able to pull the same figures. I made global gathering which was amazing

    Cons

    To make global gathering I had to push myself every month to get the sales which left me drained and poor work life balance. Being part of a big team meant things got lost in translation as well meaning we would have communication issues. I'm leaving as I can't see the job being sustainable for the long run

    Continue reading

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback.

  6. "Hard work; incredibly rewarding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Newcastle
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible incentives, very reward based. The ability to be given independence and run your own business, even on the entry level. Uncapped rewards. Plenty of support and career advancement opportunities

    Cons

    Average pay when you’re first starting out. Challenges of work life balance and can be stressful.

    Continue reading

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience working with us.

  7. "It's a great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Novice - First Year Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work in a team environment as well as a solo environment. All successes are celebrated. Monthly award nights to celebrate the good that has happened that much. Great commission. Access to early travel discounts. AMAZING famils to be won just by selling that product OPENING THE WORLD TO THOSE WHICH ARE JUST DISCOVERING IT

    Cons

    Work-life balance isn't that good. Sometimes its hard to switch after a big day!

    Continue reading

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    November 19, 2018Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback.

  8. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    - Fun and energetic working environment - Celebrate successes - Discount on travel

    Cons

    - Long hours and sometimes difficult work/life balance

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    November 19, 2018Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your time with us. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback.

  9. "Travel consultant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel benefits, great people you can meet.

    Cons

    Senior management needs a massive kick up the... pay is low with long working hours. No work life balance

    Continue reading

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    November 19, 2018Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience working with us. As at October, 2018, guaranteed minimum earnings for a first year consultant with no prior experience is $39,920 per year. This can increase up to $57,582 for a qualified and experienced consultant. Penalty rates for weekends and evening work are paid in addition to these amounts as well as employee commission payments which operate on a scale from 10% to 35% of the total monthly company commission that you achieve. Travel Consultants work on a 40 hour roster which, if in a retail store, usually includes late night trading and a rotation of weekends. There is no requirement for our staff to work anything more than reasonable additional time like other workplaces, however because earning potential is uncapped, many choose to work longer than their rostered hours in order to finalise more business, be even more successful and earn more commission.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Head office has a great vision for the company but it's lost in translation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company itself has a good vision and I believe it acts fairly ethically The benefits sound fantastic when you first start the job

    Cons

    Unpaid hours: Everyone in my store works AT LEAST 8.30-5.30 5 days a week and pretty much always work through their breaks Zero work-life balance: This job takes over your life, you're asked to text customers meaning you get messages and calls all day everyday Stress levels: We are pushed to meet targets (understandable) but it's to the point where friends and family notice when sales have been slow (also ties in with zero work-life balance) Sporadic day off: I went a whole month without 2 days in a row off a few months ago. As your days off are random you can feel extremely overworked Training: Although you spend a whole month in head office, you get into store and everything gets thrown out the window, plus you realise that you've literally only scratched the surface of what the job entails Systems: complicated, outdated, and regularly crash

    Continue reading

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    November 19, 2018Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience of working for Flight Centre. As with all current employee reviews, we will take on board your constructive feedback. Travel Consultants work on a 40 hour roster which, if in a retail store, usually includes late night trading and a rotation of weekends. There is no requirement for our staff to work anything more than reasonable additional time like other workplaces, however because earning potential is uncapped, many choose to work longer than their rostered hours in order to finalise more business, be even more successful and earn more commission. Buzz Nights' are also optional to attend and are held once per month as a platform for celebrating monthly results, welcoming new team members and sharing updates across departments. We believe they are far more fun and interactive than receiving boring newsletter. The events are also a chance to hear what's happening in the business and connect with others who you might not normally get time to spend time with.

Found 70 reviews