Food Lion Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Food Lion Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2100 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Food Lion CEO Meg Ham
Meg Ham
322 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hard to get full time unless you know the right people(in 91 reviews)

  • "High turnover rate of part time employees(in 90 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I love my store and the people i work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HBC Clerk in Concord, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Food Lion part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They promote from within. If you do your job, management notices.

    Cons

    Hours can be all over the place

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Food Lion2019-06-15
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Customer Service Manager 

      I worked at Food Lion full-time

      Pros

      Great staff and great environment

      Cons

      Discounts should be given to employees

      Food Lion2019-06-13
    • "Great opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Fort Mill, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Food Lion full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great people from corporate level treat associates with respect

      Cons

      Making payroll is little tough at times

      Food Lion2019-06-14
    • "Great job with friendly and understanding management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 

        I worked at Food Lion part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        in depth training, support from management, various opportunities for growth

        Cons

        Though I received excellent training, some were trained by the manager before me and it was not cohesive.

        Food Lion2019-06-13
      • "Foodlion is worth it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cashier in Richmond, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Food Lion part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Everyone there is gonna treat you like family So easy to learn the cashier the amount of pay you start off with is a decent amount for teens .LOTS OF HOURS

        Cons

        If your a minor you only can work a certain amount of hours . You have to have your shirt tucked Foodlion customers aree so demanding

        Food Lion2019-06-12
      • "Great"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Frozen/Dairy Associate 

        I worked at Food Lion part-time

        Pros

        Pay; constant OT pay; coworkers are great

        Cons

        Cold environment (don't forget gloves)

        Food Lion2019-06-11
      • "At food lion I have grown to appreciate the quality of the customer service and also want to become an employee."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Frozen/Dairy Associate in Hampton, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Food Lion full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working here will allow me to maximize efficiency as well as synergy. I have worked with a multitude of different groups and well equipped with an outgoing personality.

        Cons

        One of the main challenges for me working here is transportation however with proper planning and use of public transportation I will be able to overcome that challenge.

        Food Lion2019-06-09
      • "Great Pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Quality Assurance in Lexington, SC
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Food Lion part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Great pay Some nice co workers

        Cons

        one of my MOD isnt very respectful On knees to much

        Food Lion2019-06-06
      • "Managers make the store"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Office Assistant in Newton, NC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Food Lion part-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Pretty decent benefits for a part time job. Vacation and holiday time. Minimal raise at end of year evaluation. It's retail so every store is different and it will depend on management at your location

        Cons

        If you have a bad manager your experience will be aweful! Don't report HR issues to Managers, call the HR team directly. In my experience the manager will sweep it under the rug. The atmosphere changes with every batch of new hires.

        Advice to Management

        There is a yearly evaluation, however it only deals with your direct manager. I would like to be able comment on the store policies and store manager

        Food Lion2019-06-05
      • "Worked here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Cashier 

          I worked at Food Lion part-time

          Pros

          Great place for teens to get customer service experience

          Cons

          Hours were not consistent- No benefits

          Food Lion2019-06-03
        Found 2100 reviews