GYK Antler Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

GYK Antler Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
GYK Antler CEO Travis York
Travis York
3 Ratings
  1. "Great start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Design Intern 

    I have been working at GYK Antler full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love it there, loved the work!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    GYK Antler2019-07-03
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Do Not be Fooled by the Cold Brew and Beer on Tap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GYK Antler full-time

    Pros

    They close the week of Christmas and the Fourth of July. They have a few cool clients to display on your resume.

    Cons

    Where to begin…GYK Antler has a toxic workplace environment and continues to baffle with their ineptitude as they try and fail to grow their business. Do not be fooled by the cold brew and beer on tap – this is not a friendly place to work for young people, women, or minorities. They do the bare minimum when it comes to proper management or professional development of their employees, and gaslight any person... attempting to get a well-deserved raise or promotion. They treat talented employees as disposables – sucking them of all the productivity they can get for as long as they can while underpaying them and making no attempt to keep talent when they leave. It seems to me that employee turnover is abnormally high and that they drag their feet on rehiring for open positions, often leaving their remaining employees scrambling to cover work that wasn’t theirs. Office politics are petty and leadership makes everything personal. The only thing you will take away from working here is knowing how you don’t want to be treated as an employee.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's 2019 - get with the program. In this job market you will not succeed or grow if you don't invest in your employees and their futures.

    GYK Antler2019-03-25
  3. "Doing A Lot Of Things Right, Working On Improving Others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GYK Antler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GYK Antler does a lot right. They have a good focus on responsible growth, they regularly punch above their weight, and it's clear they care about their employees on a human level. There's a lot to be excited about in terms of new business wins and future projects, and a lot of potential for positive growth in the next year. All signs point to good things ahead for the agency as a whole, and in turn the people who... work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any mid-sized agency, your experience here can be largely dependent on where you work and what accounts you touch. Some are frankly more creative, and more enjoyable, and others suffer from more demanding/inflexible clients, teams, and structures.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in retaining employees. Invest in all the offices—not just Manchester. Take a closer look at which employees actually add value, and which ones put on a good show.

    GYK Antler2019-03-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Awful upper and middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GYK Antler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a dog friendly office.

    Cons

    The CEO is a decent guy, but middle and upper management is where it all falls apart. The people who are actually doing the work every day are great, but the people who sit in their offices are toxic. Employees frequently vocalize unhappiness and no action is taken. No focus on career development. The company leads with fear and empty promises.

    Advice to Management

    Reflect on your leadership. The company meeting pep talks are getting tired. Do something.

    GYK Antler2019-02-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Waiting around to be fired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GYK Antler full-time

    Pros

    Easy commute for most people

    Cons

    Surprise layoffs or firings really lower morale. Seems like a pretend agency and not a legitimate business.

    Advice to Management

    Get some real accounts

    GYK Antler2019-02-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GYK Antler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GYK Antler was ranked by Forbes as a top 25 small business in America for a reason. All of our offices are modern and collaborative, the benefits are competitive, and most importantly, the people who work here are awesome.

    Cons

    I've completely run out of new lunch places to try (thanks a lot, Manchester) and sometimes the parking garage is so full that I have to go up to the third floor (thanks a lot, Quilting Expo). Compensation leaves a little to be desired.

    Advice to Management

    Lots of exciting changes and improvements lately, keep heading in the right direction.

    GYK Antler2017-05-12
  7. "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at GYK Antler full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice senior designer, and feel when you first arrive. However doesn't last long.

    Cons

    They use designers during busy times and fire when they loose steam. Shady business, don't be fooled by them. Designers beware!

    GYK Antler2017-05-10
  8. "Business Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Intern in Merrimack, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at GYK Antler for less than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to multiple different business avenues/infrastructures. Atmosphere & culture alone go unmatched, it's a great experience for anyone. Employees are all super friendly and helpful, never felt judged or like I was bothering anyone with asking questions.

    Cons

    Work can become redundant after some time. Not much opportunity for working on anything besides your designated tasks, can find yourself staring at the clock in some instances.

    GYK Antler2016-12-13
  9. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GYK Antler full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, co-workers, and work-life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of a middle level staff, compensation, training and development.

    GYK Antler2016-12-06
  10. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Waltham, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at GYK Antler for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, both the Manchester and Boston offices are very welcoming and inviting. The employees give off great vibes, making working there fun. As an intern, I've appreciated the efforts they make in asking you what you want to learn and get out of your time there.

    Cons

    The pay is definitely on the low side; most other industry internships pay 50%-100% more. But I would say the experience is also worth something. Not sure if this is a con, but I don't think I'm getting an authentic "internship" experience like larger companies provide - like intern events or outings or projects. Although it's something I may be missing, I do appreciate feeling like part of my departments team,... like an integral part of the machine.

    Show More
    GYK Antler2016-07-19
Found 15 reviews