Gadens Lawyers Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Gadens Lawyers Reviews

Updated 24 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at big international top-tiers and in comparison the people are Gadens are approachable, friendly and genuinely interested in your career development. It sits comfortably as a mid-tier and isn't interested in becoming yet another massive firm where everyone feels like a cog in a huge wheel where you have to compete against 10 other colleagues for a promotion. Junior lawyers get exposed to interesting work...

    Show More

    Cons

    The offices are in need of an upgrade, but I understand Gadens is moving to a brand new building in 2019

    Gadens Lawyers2018-09-20
  2. "Worst place I have ever worked - 1 star is too much!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Brisbane

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing comes to mind i guess i wasnt unemployed but i think i would have rather been

    Cons

    Underappreciated, over-worked, terrible working conditions, horrible managers/partners

    Gadens Lawyers2019-07-25
  3. "Toxic and Dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Great Location Close to transportation

    Cons

    Unprofessional behaviour, disrespectful interactions, poor and weak leadership, archaic systems and high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Culture and professionalism within the company needs to be addressed. Very disappointing.

    Gadens Lawyers2019-06-19
  4. "Mortgage Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gadens Lawyers full-time

    Pros

    Fun working environment - work itself is quick to learn

    Cons

    The skill ceiling is low and excelling is not encouraged

    Gadens Lawyers2019-02-26
  5. "Mortgage Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Clerk in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience as an entry level legal job. High exposure to many facets of the business. Friendly partners who want you to do well.

    Cons

    Not nearly enough training. You are thrown in the deep end.

    Gadens Lawyers2019-01-22
  6. "Associate at Gadens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great team and friendly culture, reasonable billable requirements and good quality work.

    Cons

    technology is woefully out of date. Pay is pretty average for a very profitable firm.

    Advice to Management

    invest in the future (employees and technology)

    Gadens Lawyers2018-10-09
  7. "Awful place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lawyer in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location and office and not much else

    Cons

    Awful partners No training No support Boys club Often yelled at Blame culture HR are spies checking when you arrive and leave work

    Advice to Management

    Worst experience of my career

    Gadens Lawyers2018-10-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Beware - hideous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solicitor in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gadens still looks pretty good on a resume. You can learn legal skills and will have the opportunity to work with some impressive people. Client are great.

    Cons

    Expect sexual harassment, widespread bullying, incompetent management and a constant dread that you will be fired. As a young woman I was groped by a partner, repeatedly belittled by several different supervisors and felt increasingly depressed and anxious.

    Gadens Lawyers2018-09-20
  9. "Mortgage Clerk at Gadens Lawyers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gadens Lawyers full-time

    Pros

    Nice building and mid-size firm

    Cons

    Recent segregation of national office

    Gadens Lawyers2018-03-20
  10. "A fish rots at the head"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Gadens Lawyers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you work extremely hard and long hours, you may just get recognition and opportunities. May...........But you will constantly be in the crosshairs unless you join the 'Boys Club' so beware.

    Cons

    The culture starts at the top for bullying, back biting, poor management tactics and a complete lack of recognition for staff equally. HR part of the butt kissing gang so little assistance there. No matter how hard you work or go over and above, if someone above you who is part of the 'KB gang' doesn't like you, you get squashed and nit picked for minor matters while others around you who are lazy but KB get salary increases....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No point.......senior management and Partners interested in their back pocket's, nothing else. They are constantly buying up/merging to get client lists and profits only to shed staff en masse and move onto the next target. Predatory behaviour rather than being known for excellence seems to be their preference.

    Gadens Lawyers2018-02-19
Found 32 reviews