Gannett Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Gannett Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1372 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Gannett CEO Paul Bascobert
Paul Bascobert
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with that want to accomplish tasks and see the business be successful(in 57 reviews)

  • "Great work/life balance, fun staff and good compensation(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "Newspaper industry is a little unstable right now(in 100 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn't care about employees as much as they should/Act as we are disposable(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Well treated, well conpensated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, lots of trust and freedom

    Cons

    Have to live near Tysons VA

    Gannett2019-10-09
  2. "Fast paced, empowering workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a constant changing business outlook that keeps teams growing and becoming better while providing diversity on my duties and responsibilities. The work environment/culture is my favorite thing about working at Gannett.

    Cons

    While there are lots of positive changes going on, the uncertainties are hard to ignore.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being transparent, keep looping us in and we’ll keep pushing forward.

    Gannett2019-10-07
  3. "It is corporate America pal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some individuals work from home

    Cons

    Poor communication from all levels of the business.

    Gannett2019-10-14
  4. "Newspaper designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Creative freedom under company guidelines Option to work remotely Work with a variety of creative co-working talents Casual Fridays are everyday Opportunities to work in news or sports and to grow in the company

    Cons

    Fast turn around company changes several times a year Shifting jobs duties and adding deadline pressures

    Gannett2019-09-26
  5. "Information Assurance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Information Assurance Specialist in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great news and media company to work.

    Cons

    Newspaper business is not sustainable.

    Gannett2019-10-09
  6. "Great bosses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gannett full-time

    Pros

    My boss and his VP are outstanding. Hard working, smart and care very much for their staff.

    Cons

    The newspaper industry challenges are well known. Both these individuals handled elective and mandated staffing reductions with grace and sensitivity.

    Gannett2019-09-23
  7. "Great training, no future or job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gannett full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Training, fun work in the field with good equipment.

    Cons

    Dying business, unsustainable model trapped in the past and unable to move profitably into the future.

    Gannett2019-09-24
  8. "Ok ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gannett full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company is constantly innovative with product offerings

    Cons

    Management could be better informed

    Advice to Management

    Trained middle managers

    Gannett2019-09-05
  9. "The gloss of a big network seems nice...on the outside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The good things are the teammates and how they support eachother

    Cons

    Upper management is a huge issue. I get spoken to in extremely unprofessional ways. I have been told that I am getting a favor done by being able to come in at a normal working hour. There are several VP's that completely disregard the fact that you are a human when they speak to you. It is an extremely stressful environment when dealing with upper management. Human Resources shows extreme favoritism and has... refused to act on complaints of aggression from upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I suggest management remembers where they came from in their journey upwards. Be respectful to every level of employee. The lack of professionalism could cost the company a lawsuit. Be better. Follow the company mission statement. Sometimes you are the problem and not the subordinate. Positive change is healthy.

    Gannett2019-10-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Micromanaged too much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gannett full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good digital products.

    Cons

    micromanged to the point were sales morale is down, which hurts sales, which created more micromanaging, never ending cycle. Company is losing tons of money because print side of business is dying, which is the cause of the micromanaged nightmare.

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example, get out and make some sales, oh but you cant because your stuck to your computer micromanaging every single thing all day long.

    Gannett2019-09-17
Found 1372 reviews