GenMark Diagnostics Manufacturing Technician Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

GenMark Diagnostics Manufacturing Technician Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
GenMark Diagnostics CEO Hany Massarany
Hany Massarany
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -free soda -fres bagel every Wednesday

    Cons

    -1st shift lead have favoritism -lead doesn't train you if your not his favorite -lead play with the operators and chitchat by the time of work and doesn't care with hourly numbers -no team work -to much complain -taking long breaks -they don't see the operators who worked hard -lead doesn't know anything but takes the credit -making side comments -lazy operators are the one got promoted and acknowledged because their good in talking but not in working

    Continue reading
    GenMark Diagnostics2019-06-08

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    June 12, 2019Sr. Operational HR Leader

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We take the claim of favoritism very seriously. Please reach out to your HR Business Partner or Manager. We would like to understand fully what is happening and resolve the situation immediately. We are striving for a first class workplace and are currently developing tools for Leadership training. We are also actively interviewing for a few new Leads and we want to understand what is working and not working so we can improve. Thank you again for your comments, please reach out to your HR Business Partner, Rebecca.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "They have favoritism on 1st shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free soda but the machine is broken every other week, free bagels but only wednesday

    Cons

    they have favoritism on 1st shift they make a lot of promotion on manufacturing technician II on 1st shift while nothing on 2nd shift and 3rd shift and the employee that they promote only knows 2 manufacturing line and they're not so proficient and they even promote on 1st shift thats new employee that just get hired, while on the other shift employee has more lines that know how to operate and proficient and more reliable theyre not fair.

    Continue reading
    GenMark Diagnostics2019-04-09

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    April 29, 2019Sr. Operational HR Leader

    Thank you very much for taking the time to review your employment at GenMark. We are grateful for your feedback. The promotion process is determined by an employees demonstrated knowledge, not tenure at the company, and the business needs for other people at the next level. We are striving to be a best in class employer and your feedback will be discusses for further enhancements to our processes. You are always welcomed to reach out to your HR Business Partner to discuss your specific situation. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You got bagels on Wed and free sodas

    Cons

    I worked at GenMark more than a year and at first I loved the atmosphere and the people. I can see that there's a lot of favoritism between leads and techs as well as supervisors and techs. I had the chance to work with 3rd shift and you got one supervisor who's got eyes on you while working, standing behind you pressuring you. Always trying to make higher numbers then other shifts . Then you got another one who doesn't care if their techs take 30min breaks, they're lazy seating down most of the time not helping around always taking breaks. If you work here you'll probably start with a temp agency and good luck if you pass the interviews to become permanent with the company. They use your interview skills as a method to determine if you become permanent or not, not by how hard you work. The people who interview you don't even know who you are so if you don't speak English 100% then you're out of luck keep in mind they hire mostly philippinos.

    Continue reading
    GenMark Diagnostics2019-01-23

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    January 28, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are interested in your feedback and are always striving to improve our work environment. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  4. "Manufacturing Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Usually we get nice free lunch at least once a months.

    Cons

    Poor Management No room for promotion No good benefits

    Continue reading
    GenMark Diagnostics2018-11-29

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    December 3, 2018Talent Acquisitions Coordinator

    Thank you for your message. We are pleased to share that our Manufacturing Technicians have a career path that was implemented in early 2018. I’m sorry this wasn’t communicated to you. It’s unfortunate you left before we could more completely disseminate the elements of your career path. We wish you great success in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (29)

    "Looking for a professional work place environment? Yes? Then please stay away from GenmarkDX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bagel Wednesdays Free Soda Decent pay compared to other biotech companies

    Cons

    -The ridiculous blatant amount of favoristism within the manufacturing/production side -The amount of sexual harassment that goes on is hilarious because no one reports it, so many men I've worked alongside talking about female colleagues looks, what they'd do to them, etc. -Oh, you don't speak Tagalog? too bad, you'll be left out of ALL peer conversations, even from those from leadership -Leads don't actually lead by example, there have been numerous amounts of times where they are wasting time and goofing off with workers on the line -Most of the people working in manufacturing are temps, unprofessional and have no common courtesy whatsoever -English isn't spoken on the floor, 95% is Tagalog, which sucks for those who aren't Tagalog native speakers -Smooching the leads behinds will get you far in this company, but only so much -Most if not all that work in manufacturing/production take an obvious 20-30 min+ break, and 45min-1hr+ lunch, AND NOTHING ever happens to them

    Continue reading
    GenMark Diagnostics2018-03-05

    GenMark Diagnostics Response

    March 12, 2018Talent Acquisition

    From the Senior Vice President of Human Resources: GenMark and its leaders are strongly committed to providing a respectful, professional workplace. You raise some serious concerns in your review and I can assure you we will follow up on these matters promptly. Build Trust and Speak Up are important cultural beliefs here at GenMark, and I encourage you to contact any one of us in Human Resources directly so that we can discuss your specific concerns further. You can also follow up with me directly at jennifer.williams@genmarkdx.com - Thank you”

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Genmark Diagnostics Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GenMark Diagnostics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, free coffee, bagels on Wednesday, cafe on site, work with a few good people, opportunities to growth with company, good opportunity to gain experience. Good location.

    Cons

    Favoritism, management, overworked, high turnover rate, disorganized, drama, gossiping between co-workers, work almost every weekend, a lot of temp employees.

    Continue reading
    GenMark Diagnostics2017-06-22
Found 6 reviews