General Dynamics Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

General Dynamics Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 489 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics CEO Phebe N. Novakovic
Phebe N. Novakovic
120 Ratings
Pros
  • "great work great people and sorts(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good pay and working environment for the area(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "No training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time

    Pros

    some good newer projects, friendly staff

    Cons

    all training allocated to management, 50 different jobs all labelled as a systems engineer

    General Dynamics2019-05-13
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Background Investigator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Company, Flexible schedule, TDY opportunities.

    Cons

    Moving up in the company is hard, the pay is minimal, no bonuses or overtime to earn more money.

    General Dynamics2019-07-17
  3. "Solid place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The assigned work is fun, engaging, and plentiful. My managers pride themselves on moving employees around the company if they express an interest toward a certain specialty. You can fairly easily find something you're interested in working on within the company after a bit. As for growth opportunities with new tech, the company has taught me essential skills since I started. Most of my coworkers have been smart,...

    Show More

    Cons

    The culture doesn't really stand out from the crowd, and there aren't really any company wide outings. While the company is getting better at adopting cutting edge technologies, there is still a lot of red tape, strictness, and monotony that comes with government/classified work that can get in the way. With most projects I've been on, it often feels like we're one step behind current standards/processes in this space....

    Show More
    General Dynamics2019-06-20
  4. "Aerospace Assembly Welder Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fuselage Aircraft Mechanic in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Proud to have worked there

    Cons

    That we got laid off Pacific Coast Highway

    Advice to Management

    "Our People" are our best asset

    General Dynamics2019-06-14
  5. "Service Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I guess lunch time is a Pro

    Cons

    The service desk at USSS is bad. Management is really bad. HR does not care when you report managers. Managers make sexist comments. Favoritisms run wild here.

    Advice to Management

    Revamp your ethics team. You all do not care about ethics violations.

    General Dynamics2019-07-19
  6. "Absolutely zero job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pro was the fact that they were flexible as far as the schedule went, but that only applied to GD and not the customer site.

    Cons

    No matter what, GD views the customer as being right. Even if you're not at fault, GD will ask no questions. Customer lied to put their own employee in my spot. Way too much politics for a rather simple job with a heavy workload. Speaking of, GD doesn't compensate their employees for the large workload we had. No to mention i received no training. My supervisor didn't know my job nor was he ever on site.

    Advice to Management

    Create a better relationship not only with the customer site but your employees as well. Understand the job you're hiring them for.

    General Dynamics2019-07-01
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Eatontown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, reasonable working hours.

    Cons

    HR department is not very employee friendly

    General Dynamics2019-06-01
  8. "Customer Oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced new project and legacy IT support

    Cons

    Need detailed planning of new development projects

    General Dynamics2019-05-22
  9. "Finance employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time

    Pros

    Easy going environment, people are approachable, in general you get what you put in. Great work life balance, well paying.

    Cons

    Can be hard to move up, also a lot of politics involved given the industry.

    General Dynamics2019-04-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advanced Systems Engineer in Pittsfield, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Money - Some good coworkers - Nothing -

    Cons

    - Leadership sucks - Location - Poor coworkers - Unappreciative management - Supervisors can be a hit or a miss (miss in my case) - HR secretly records conversations in their room so be wary

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and see people move away

    General Dynamics2019-03-29
Found 489 reviews