General Dynamics Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

General Dynamics Reviews

Updated 24 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics CEO Phebe N. Novakovic
Phebe N. Novakovic
126 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "No training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time

    Pros

    some good newer projects, friendly staff

    Cons

    all training allocated to management, 50 different jobs all labelled as a systems engineer

    General Dynamics2019-05-13
  2. "Good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Auditor in Falls Church, VA

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good team and neat environment

    Cons

    all is ok with working at GD

    Advice to Management

    keep the good work up

    General Dynamics2019-11-25
  3. "Great place to start you career in design!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Structural Designer/Drafter in New London, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    plenty of interesting work and O.T.

    Cons

    obviously with union and this large of company there will be some. I had a great team I worked with so no problems!

    General Dynamics2019-11-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Company, Great Benefits and Salary!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management focus on constant improvement

    Cons

    They put too many retired military Flag Officers as managers instead of biz dev

    Advice to Management

    Park all the Admirals and Generals in business development; promote experienced businessmen to positions of authority

    General Dynamics2019-10-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ran out of money to pay retirement benefits of St. Louis employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can learn a lot early in your career.

    Cons

    I applied for retirement benefits more than 3 months ago; they keep finding excuses for paying and I am forced to call them every couple of days to hear the latest excuse.

    General Dynamics2019-11-13
  6. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    interesting work and good benefits

    Cons

    too much travel no work/life balance

    General Dynamics2019-10-18
  7. "Awesome workplace environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get the opportunity to positively impact service members in one way or another.

    Cons

    Because everything needs some type of clearance the tools you would normally use in regular development can't be easily accessed in this environment.

    Advice to Management

    No complaints other than the agile methodology can slow down production if not managed by a lead.

    General Dynamics2019-09-24
  8. "Sr. Network VoIP Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for anytime!

    Cons

    Difficult to reach corporate office personnel via phone.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    General Dynamics2019-09-20
  9. "White Collar still has to punch timeclock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Groton, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    never-ending challenges, contracts for next decades

    Cons

    no telecommute, poor parking, poor links to mass transit, not designed for Millenials to succeed

    Advice to Management

    Actually strive to keep enthusiastic employees positive about their work.

    General Dynamics2019-09-29
  10. "currently working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lawrence, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits of health/dental/vision and bonuses

    Cons

    strict attendance and drug abuse policy

    Advice to Management

    i do not have any advices for management

    General Dynamics2019-09-30
Found 503 reviews