General Motors (GM) Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

General Motors (GM) Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
2,039 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly team and passionate about product

    Cons

    Long hours with us team

    General Motors (GM)2019-07-19
  2. "ljefjekfj3rj"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hekhe 

    I worked at General Motors (GM) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really good for career development

    Cons

    management needs to improve badly

    General Motors (GM)2019-09-21
  3. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time

    Pros

    Great roles and fun environment. Would still be there if there wasn't a business decline. Role autonomy and flexibility.

    Cons

    Intern program focus needs to focus on functions not just fun

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2019-04-12
  4. "Nice culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very organised. Builds cool concept vehicles. Open for innovation.

    Cons

    IT is a bit restrictive to the level of slowing down work.

    General Motors (GM)2018-02-17
  5. "Love the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy working with my team in GM - smart, energetic, fun and hardworking people that I felt connection with

    Cons

    With the restructuring in the international region, moral is very low in this part of world

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2017-10-31

    General Motors (GM) Response

    February 12, 2018Social Media & Video

    Thanks for your almost decade of dedication to GM! We appreciate your comments and hope that you consider sharing them with your direct manager.

    Continue reading
  6. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work at GM

    Cons

    sudden changes in policies & procedures

    General Motors (GM)2017-08-08

    General Motors (GM) Response

    January 22, 2018Social Media & Video

    We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. "Business systems support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Support in Burwood, Victoria
    Recommends

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice company to work with, great benefits and would recommend anyone to get in tho this world of automotive industry.

    Cons

    sometimes I felt that I was not given direction, guidance and the resources to perform the duties of the roleLEarnt by myself and however, the only manager at the time of leaving the company was the only negative thing I can point out.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2016-02-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Sculptor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Digital Sculptor in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM)

    Pros

    The digital sculpting team is very professional and detail oriented. Great work life balance, with some flexibility to choose your work hours. Melbourne is a great city to live in with great food.

    Cons

    Due to the size the team, it's very likely you will only work on small parts and the alias sketch modeling is left to a select few.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2016-01-05
  9. "Working at GM Holden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    GM works very hard to develop their high performers. There is opportunity to work cross functionally and to move roles across departments as desired if learning agility is displayed by the individual. Highly collaborative culture.

    Cons

    The industry in Australia is undergoing a large amount of change which presents challenges and opportunities. For the right individual this is an exciting time to be in the auto industry.

    General Motors (GM)2015-11-05
  10. "Awesome very good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM)

    Pros

    Work life balance... Flexible... Good work people at Gm are very helpful and try to make ur life easy. Good discounts good food on site

    Cons

    People need to listen to each other. There is no communication between departments to know wat each are doing.

    Continue reading
    General Motors (GM)2015-04-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 5335 reviews