General Motors (GM) Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

General Motors (GM) Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4969 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
1,872 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/Life balance issues requiring consistent 50-60 hour weeks to meet the demands of the job(in 131 reviews)

  • "Be prepared for the possibility of regularly working long hours as well as some stress to keep your head above water(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly team and passionate about product

    Cons

    Long hours with us team

    General Motors (GM)2019-07-19
  2. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time

    Pros

    Great roles and fun environment. Would still be there if there wasn't a business decline. Role autonomy and flexibility.

    Cons

    Intern program focus needs to focus on functions not just fun

    Advice to Management

    Don't give up! Future is autonomous!

    General Motors (GM)2019-04-12
  3. "Nice culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very organised. Builds cool concept vehicles. Open for innovation.

    Cons

    IT is a bit restrictive to the level of slowing down work.

    General Motors (GM)2018-02-17
  4. "Love the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy working with my team in GM - smart, energetic, fun and hardworking people that I felt connection with

    Cons

    With the restructuring in the international region, moral is very low in this part of world

    Advice to Management

    Need to be more transparent on the strategy to the loss-making markets, so there is less rumors, guess and insecurity

    General Motors (GM)2017-10-31

    General Motors (GM) Response

    February 12, 2018Social Media & Video

    Thanks for your almost decade of dedication to GM! We appreciate your comments and hope that you consider sharing them with your direct manager.

  5. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work at GM

    Cons

    sudden changes in policies & procedures

    General Motors (GM)2017-08-08

    General Motors (GM) Response

    January 22, 2018Social Media & Video

    We appreciate your feedback.

  6. "Business systems support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Support in Burwood, Victoria
    Recommends

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice company to work with, great benefits and would recommend anyone to get in tho this world of automotive industry.

    Cons

    sometimes I felt that I was not given direction, guidance and the resources to perform the duties of the roleLEarnt by myself and however, the only manager at the time of leaving the company was the only negative thing I can point out.

    Advice to Management

    don't trust the manager / supervisors depending on their length of work in the company. Measurements needs to be implemented to keep a track of staff leaving due to certain managers and why.I have rated soles on the manager

    General Motors (GM)2016-02-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Sculptor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Digital Sculptor in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM)

    Pros

    The digital sculpting team is very professional and detail oriented. Great work life balance, with some flexibility to choose your work hours. Melbourne is a great city to live in with great food.

    Cons

    Due to the size the team, it's very likely you will only work on small parts and the alias sketch modeling is left to a select few.

    Advice to Management

    The work pace is sometimes a bit to slow and laid back, but perhaps this is just Australian culture.

    General Motors (GM)2016-01-05
  8. "Working at GM Holden"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    GM works very hard to develop their high performers. There is opportunity to work cross functionally and to move roles across departments as desired if learning agility is displayed by the individual. Highly collaborative culture.

    Cons

    The industry in Australia is undergoing a large amount of change which presents challenges and opportunities. For the right individual this is an exciting time to be in the auto industry.

    General Motors (GM)2015-11-05
  9. "Awesome very good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM)

    Pros

    Work life balance... Flexible... Good work people at Gm are very helpful and try to make ur life easy. Good discounts good food on site

    Cons

    People need to listen to each other. There is no communication between departments to know wat each are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to ur staff we do a lot for this company now we need to find out y everything isn't working ok and having financial issues

    General Motors (GM)2015-04-23
  10. "Great environment, work with continues improvement either quality or safety....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time

    Pros

    Best to learn and achiving your own goal. feeling proud to work at GM.

    Cons

    inspite of computer and internate facilities unnecessary paper usage i think its not an usage its a wastage. ..

    Advice to Management

    Make a perssonal contact with employee , listen thems issues and positively try to solve it.

    General Motors (GM)2015-03-02
Found 4969 reviews