General Pants Group Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great company culture, staff discounts, opportunity to work different stores, loads of parties, and room to grow (even into head office)(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, cool teams, epic working environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "They want you to be unique and different in terms of customer service but it all seems so fake and ingenuine(in 4 reviews)

  • "EVEN if a role becomes available they will advertise for it (no one will apply, because(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Tuggerah

    I have been working at General Pants Group full-time

    Pros

    Incredible relationships made at work

    Cons

    weekend work non negotiable for managers

    General Pants Group2020-05-28
  2. "Good to learn sales techniques and make actual outfits for customers"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at General Pants Group part-time

    Pros

    - Great company vibe - Teaches you good selling techniques - Have brand information nights - People here are fun to work with

    Cons

    - Styles can probably be broadened to target more female styles

    General Pants Group2020-04-07
  3. "Just awesome, in General."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse All-Rounder in Truganina
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diversity at it’s finest. Casual workplace atmosphere. Mental health awareness. Friendly employees. Revered Distribution Centre Management

    Cons

    No discount for non full-time employees of the distribution centre.

    Continue reading
    General Pants Group2020-01-29
  4. "Fun to work for but also unrealistic expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Pants Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really fun to work for Great team environment Really stylish clothes Good discount

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations: they give you high targets, high customer service expectations but also a high workload. The company has recently cut down on hours so they expect you to work less hours and achieve more. It can be exhausting. Unpaid mandatory meetings Unpaid mandatory online training They use a lot of plastic as every item is packaged with a plastic bag individually

    Continue reading
    General Pants Group2020-01-04
  5. "Good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, staff discounts, opportunity to work different stores, loads of parties, and room to grow (even into head office). Genuinely learnt life skills here.

    Cons

    Like everywhere, politics. And everyone is dispensable.

    General Pants Group2019-09-06
  6. "Fun Place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Pants Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Make awesome friends Some good incentives Monthly incentives for sales

    Cons

    Not a huge amount of support Not a lot of progression

    General Pants Group2019-09-01
  7. "Workplace discrimination"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get paid on time, nice co workers

    Cons

    I'm not sure if this is the culture for just the franchise I worked in or if this is all but I have experienced a lot of workplace discrimination from the management team. (It is a white-dominated workplace) Having snarky comments made at you for your race isn't acceptable. I can see a distinct difference of how I am treated compared to a non-ethnic co-worker, when I ask questions they are disregarded and ignored. There is little to no training, you are just chucked onto floor and that is it. The whole system that this company runs in is a mess! If you want to be in a environment where you must forcefully interact and convince customers to purchase something (leaving both parties uncomfortable) feel free to work here. They want you to be unique and different in terms of customer service but it all seems so fake and ingenuine. Management also likes to compare the company itself with other retail competitors and put them down!

    Continue reading
    General Pants Group2019-09-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "general pants suck"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only positive is that i got paid.

    Cons

    *Management * work environment * rude co-workers

    General Pants Group2019-09-08
  9. "tough work environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Causal Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts was good Met amazing co workers

    Cons

    Management pressure workers to make money Competitive environment

    General Pants Group2019-07-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst experience of my life"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at General Pants Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    average discount/average parties/average support from team

    Cons

    managers are bullies/belittling regional managers that only care about how in forceful you are with customers which makes everyone uncomfortable

    General Pants Group2019-07-12
Found 52 reviews