General Pants Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

General Pants Group Reviews

Updated 6 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
4 Ratings
  1. "Casual sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at General Pants Group part-time

      Pros

      Good work environment - good people

      Cons

      No cons for this job at all

      General Pants Group2019-01-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Decent first job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      ~ Good environment ~ Easy to progress ~ Good vibes and constant improvement opportunities for customer service

      Cons

      ~ Flagship store always hired people on working visas, so everyone always changed after 6 months ~ Some of the workers are nasty ~ Everyone will act like your friend but backstab you if needed

      General Pants Group2019-06-03
    • "Good place to work for part time job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Melbourne
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at General Pants Group part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Thorough training, fast-paced environment, great coworkers, flexible scheduling.

      Cons

      Management wasn't very organized, not too much internal growth.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to team suggestions more.

      General Pants Group2019-05-19
    • "Don’t do it to yourself!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at General Pants Group full-time

      Pros

      Not many pros... Staff discount was 30% if you had worked there for 3 or less years. 40% for 3-4 years and 50% for 5 or more years However, you would often get 50 - 70% off the crap in-house product (Ksubi, Insight, Subtitled, Arvust etc.)

      Cons

      Where do I begin... for starters the company has completely lost touch of right and wrong. Head Office - has to be the most unorganized and unprofessional bunch of people I have ever come across. Communication between HO and stores was appalling, but they would be the first to critique everyone else on exactly this. Always having parties at HO and not actually focusing on fixing issues in the company (I.e. bring your...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Read this list of cons and have a very long hard think about the role you have played in this. Trust me I am definitely not the only person who thinks this... GP has been building up an extremely terrible name for itself with the way people and treated and the way this business is operated

      General Pants Group2019-06-06
    • "Terrible company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at General Pants Group part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Very social job. Flexible hours on casual.

      Cons

      Very high KPI’s. If you didn’t preform no matter what reason for this you won’t get shifts. Too competitive. There’s a very big group mentality, if you don’t fit in people won’t like you. Management only care about sales.

      Advice to Management

      You can’t hit targets all the time due to shift patterns. Sydney area managers have poor attitude and frankly quite rude.

      General Pants Group2019-05-30
    • "Sales Assistant Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Great staff discounts - Fun staff parties and events - Great people to work with - Able to play your own music = +10 points

      Cons

      - Individual targets create high pressure onto team members, which also create negative competition with on another - No sense of team work as everyone is competing against one another, even the managers - Managers come and go almost every month - A lot of the staff are bullied into attending training nights or staff events

      Advice to Management

      - Takeaway individual targets and introduce team targets! If other companies can do it, I'm sure you'll see a significant difference. - Don't put too much pressure on conversion rates, it creates animosity within the team, also shows when trying to force a sale with a customer.

      General Pants Group2019-02-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "There’s better companies to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at General Pants Group full-time

      Pros

      The team were lovely. Management excluded.

      Cons

      I was here for 6 months. During that time, we had 5 different store managers and 2IC’s. People fired for no reason, and people left because the workplace wasn’t fun anymore. The management were so pushy, watched me like a hawk and made me feel so uncomfortable. No matter how many good things you do in a day, if you make one mistake that’s all they pick on. I was 110% scapegoated and used. Nothing I did was good enough...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat your staff how you want to be treated.

      General Pants Group2018-12-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good to get through uni"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - great discounts - great parties - great training - life experience

      Cons

      - management sucks - in store managers often are unprofessional - promised training never goes through apart from your basic day to day training - EXTREMELY terrible back room conditions - management has no cares for safety in back room areas

      Advice to Management

      - make better choices who is managing stores - take the time to listen to those who aren’t full time, we usually know everything that is happening in store and can help.

      General Pants Group2018-11-19
    • Helpful (5)

      "Please do yourself a favour and do not apply or work at GP!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at General Pants Group full-time

      Pros

      Minimal pros to say, except maybe the discounts on their cheap bad made clothing?

      Cons

      I have worked both in store and in the Alexandria support office and both were terrible experiences. -GP just went through a round of redundancies and big company changes in their support office because there is no strategic direction or planning. The company seems more like a childcare or school setting it is very cliquey and 'young'. Expect to be in meetings using the words 'lit, fam and cool beans' which if you talk...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Just hire people that understand how to run the business and how to treat people. Worst career decision of my life to work at GP, don't make the mistake of putting this on your professional resume.

      General Pants Group2018-12-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good team bad upper management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at General Pants Group full-time

      Pros

      Product Instore team and vibe Pay compared to other retailers

      Cons

      Upper management not supporting store or area manager Fake promises of promotions

      General Pants Group2018-11-13
    Found 41 reviews