General Pants Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

General Pants Group Reviews

Updated 29 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
4 Ratings
  1. "Casual sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time

    Pros

    Good work environment - good people

    Cons

    No cons for this job at all

    General Pants Group2019-01-10
  2. "tough work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Causal Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts was good Met amazing co workers

    Cons

    Management pressure workers to make money Competitive environment

    General Pants Group2019-07-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at General Pants Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    average discount/average parties/average support from team

    Cons

    managers are bullies/belittling regional managers that only care about how in forceful you are with customers which makes everyone uncomfortable

    General Pants Group2019-07-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ~ Good environment ~ Easy to progress ~ Good vibes and constant improvement opportunities for customer service

    Cons

    ~ Flagship store always hired people on working visas, so everyone always changed after 6 months ~ Some of the workers are nasty ~ Everyone will act like your friend but backstab you if needed

    General Pants Group2019-06-03
  5. "Good place to work for part time job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thorough training, fast-paced environment, great coworkers, flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Management wasn't very organized, not too much internal growth.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to team suggestions more.

    General Pants Group2019-05-19
  6. "Don’t do it to yourself!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at General Pants Group full-time

    Pros

    Not many pros... Staff discount was 30% if you had worked there for 3 or less years. 40% for 3-4 years and 50% for 5 or more years However, you would often get 50 - 70% off the crap in-house product (Ksubi, Insight, Subtitled, Arvust etc.)

    Cons

    Where do I begin... for starters the company has completely lost touch of right and wrong. Head Office - has to be the most unorganized and unprofessional bunch of people I have ever come across. Communication between HO and stores was appalling, but they would be the first to critique everyone else on exactly this. Always having parties at HO and not actually focusing on fixing issues in the company (I.e. bring your...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read this list of cons and have a very long hard think about the role you have played in this. Trust me I am definitely not the only person who thinks this... GP has been building up an extremely terrible name for itself with the way people and treated and the way this business is operated

    General Pants Group2019-06-06
  7. "Terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very social job. Flexible hours on casual.

    Cons

    Very high KPI’s. If you didn’t preform no matter what reason for this you won’t get shifts. Too competitive. There’s a very big group mentality, if you don’t fit in people won’t like you. Management only care about sales.

    Advice to Management

    You can’t hit targets all the time due to shift patterns. Sydney area managers have poor attitude and frankly quite rude.

    General Pants Group2019-05-30
  8. "Very good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Pants Group for less than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome people, always having fun in store - Discounts were great - Hyper was good before each shift - Staff are encouraging - Well paid

    Cons

    - Not enough shifts

    General Pants Group2019-02-11
  9. "Sales Assistant Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at General Pants Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great staff discounts - Fun staff parties and events - Great people to work with - Able to play your own music = +10 points

    Cons

    - Individual targets create high pressure onto team members, which also create negative competition with on another - No sense of team work as everyone is competing against one another, even the managers - Managers come and go almost every month - A lot of the staff are bullied into attending training nights or staff events

    Advice to Management

    - Takeaway individual targets and introduce team targets! If other companies can do it, I'm sure you'll see a significant difference. - Don't put too much pressure on conversion rates, it creates animosity within the team, also shows when trying to force a sale with a customer.

    General Pants Group2019-02-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "There’s better companies to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at General Pants Group full-time

    Pros

    The team were lovely. Management excluded.

    Cons

    I was here for 6 months. During that time, we had 5 different store managers and 2IC’s. People fired for no reason, and people left because the workplace wasn’t fun anymore. The management were so pushy, watched me like a hawk and made me feel so uncomfortable. No matter how many good things you do in a day, if you make one mistake that’s all they pick on. I was 110% scapegoated and used. Nothing I did was good enough...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff how you want to be treated.

    General Pants Group2018-12-19
Found 48 reviews