Gensler Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,333 of over 1,521 reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Gensler Co-CEOs Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
703 Ratings
Pros
  • "easy going work environment for all(in 65 reviews)

  • "Working with great people and great design(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and some directors who are out of touch with employee wellbeing(in 55 reviews)

  • "hard to achieve work-life balance due to heavy load on works(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years
      Featured Review

      A dynamic place to really grow in your design career

      Mar 28, 2021 - Principal/Design Director in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a strong culture at Gensler that you really come to appreciate - in the various offices all over the world. There is something that connects everyone - a culture and commitment to creating great projects but also growing our people to lead in their own way. Something they call the "one-firm-firm" mentality - that we all work across offices to support out our teams and our clients - vs. competing against each region like some firms do. I had a great opportunity to travel to many offices over 20 years and work on some of the most amazing projects of every scale - when you walk into one of our offices at senior level - you feel at home immediately. When I first arrived many years ago - I really knew nothing about Gensler - but over the years I have seen every kind of project and every kind of client come through our doors. As the reputation has grown - the work is getting better and better and more diverse than simply architecture and interiors. I had the opportunity to work with numerous talented consultants and collaborators - but was always happy to have the core Gensler group that I worked with understand the culture and what connects us all. I think people would be shocked at how simple the formula developed by Art Gensler is - "hiring great people and getting out of their way". It works when it's done right and there are a lot of leaders, designers and doers who practice this ideas whether they think about it or not.

      Cons

      The people who really thrive at Gensler understand that this is not a place to just "have a job" - but to grow in your career and push beyond your comfort zone. While the firm has changed significantly and matured over my 22 years - it is changing faster than ever in recent times - to keep pace with how fast the design industry is changing, our society, our cities and the impact of interior design and architecture. This means there are great opportunities for those with an entrepreneurial drive and a dynamic design approach. If you want to do one thing, to just work on projects - this might not be the place for you.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks so much for the feedback. We love to hear from our alumni and wish you all the best in your current and future endeavors.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Interior Designer

      Dec 26, 2018 - Interior Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture, non-hierarchical, many oppertunities for growth and learning, stong research led firm, global opertunities

      Cons

      Technology should be improved across all levels of staff, financial rewards are average

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing such terrific feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good Architecture

      Sep 19, 2021 - Graduate Architect in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Technically Advanced. Amazing people to work with. Global Presence.

      Cons

      Hard to get to design.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Company review

      Feb 22, 2021 - Interior Designer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Internationally recognised company, nice office.

      Cons

      Compensation not competitive within the market, especially true the longer you stay.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We appreciate our alumni and value their perspectives.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Global experience

      Nov 25, 2020 - Associate in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great international relationship and culture between studios all around the world.

      Cons

      hard to achieve work-life balance due to heavy load on works

      1 person found this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Gensler. We value our people and love to hear their perspectives.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pros and Cons

      Apr 19, 2020 - Designer in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You receive two bonuses a year

      Cons

      Even with the two bonuses received you're not paid enough, compared with the current market.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Thanks for the feedback. We treat workplace concerns seriously and address them in accordance with our internal policies and procedures. We have multiple channels for reporting issues and we train and encourage our team members to use them. Encouraging everyone to ask questions and provide honest feedback is critical to supporting our culture and our values of integrity, trust and mutual respect.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent place to work!

      May 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top tier company; excellent management; benefits of being a small office with large, global support network; great community culture and amazing colleagues to work with; recognition of talent and hard work with great opportunities for advancement.

      Cons

      There are no major cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gensler Response

      Gensler Response

      We are flattered by your amazing feedback and are especially happy to know that you are experiencing the benefits of being in a small office while still having access to our global network of talented design professionals. We value our local roots and always strive to be local first. Thanks again for the feedback and for all the work you do on behalf of our firm and our clients.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Oct 19, 2021 - Interior Designer in Paris
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment and great colleagues

      Cons

      low salary compared to years of experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No place is perfect

      Oct 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunities + clientele, myriad opportunities to find your own voice / pursue your passions and multiple pathways for individual and collective success.

      Cons

      With so many initiatives, committees and overlappping commitments, it can often be difficult to prioritize in the midst of an incredibly busy work environment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place!

      Oct 11, 2021 - Design Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Prestigious, entrepreneurial, and limitless resources,

      Cons

      career growth can be slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,333 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Gensler Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Gensler? Share Your Experiences

    Gensler logo
    or