Gensler Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Gensler Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 818 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Gensler CEO Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
Andy Cohen and Diane Hoskins
414 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is so much going on, it is too easy to let work/life balance take a back seat(in 40 reviews)

  • "Nothing out of the ordinary (can be long hours, navigating politics)(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Interior Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interior Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, non-hierarchical, many oppertunities for growth and learning, stong research led firm, global opertunities

    Cons

    Technology should be improved across all levels of staff, financial rewards are average

    Gensler2018-12-27

    Gensler Response

    January 7, 2019Gensler Response

    Thanks for providing such terrific feedback on your experience at Gensler. We love to hear from our people!

  2. "Excellent place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top tier company; excellent management; benefits of being a small office with large, global support network; great community culture and amazing colleagues to work with; recognition of talent and hard work with great opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    There are no major cons.

    Advice to Management

    Are doing an amazing job, continuing to keep the company at the top of the industry worldwide ! Management must be doing something right!

    Gensler2018-05-05

    Gensler Response

    May 11, 2018Gensler Response

    We are flattered by your amazing feedback and are especially happy to know that you are experiencing the benefits of being in a small office while still having access to our global network of talented design professionals. We value our local roots and always strive to be local first. ...

    Show More
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Technical Designer 

      I have been working at Gensler full-time

      Pros

      Culture and projects are great

      Cons

      Career development and career path can be confusing

      Gensler2019-06-13
    • "Great firm -"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Architectural Intern in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gensler part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Incredible projects, allow interns to be a part of every level of design - SD to CD, flexible hours

      Cons

      Time management issues with intern hours, slow weeks with not a lot of work, culture can be slightly negative

      Advice to Management

      Work within projects and with project managers to effectively manage intern hours.

      Gensler2019-06-17
    • "Best Job I've Ever Had - Hand's Down"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Gensler is a Marketing professional's dream. We are collaborative, creative and the possibilities are non-stop. The access to top-notch photography is unreal and the support us "marketers" get from other offices is beyond anything I have ever seen. One can literally reach out if they are in need of a similar proposal or presentation and instantly colleagues will send you something for inspiration. The management really...

      Show More

      Cons

      Sometimes quick deadlines get thrown at you but there is always support and help from fellow co-workers and marketing staff to get it done. High deductible health insurance is a bit of a con, but Gensler helps subside the cost.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up. Gensler is a special company and our management has a lot to do with that. I appreciate the open-door policy and the desire to make our staff strive for excellence.

      Gensler2019-06-03

      Gensler Response

      June 4, 2019Gensler Response

      Wow! Thanks for the terrific feedback! We love to hear from our people!

    • "Good Design Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Designer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good design team, firm platform and resources. Great projects and clients. Benefits are great. Good for young man to learn from.

      Cons

      Workload is hard varies from studio to studio. No standard in Design Phase modeling and drawings. Salary for young designer is not competitive

      Gensler2019-06-17
    • "Architect"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Overall great working and carrier building environment

      Cons

      It takes lots of effort to strategically position yourself to be doing what you really aspire...

      Advice to Management

      Salary growth should more closely reflect employee's experience and company growth

      Gensler2019-06-02

      Gensler Response

      June 3, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the tremendous feedback! We love to hear from our people!

    • Helpful (1)

      "It is What It is"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Receptionist in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gensler full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Some really talented people to be around Some good snacks Some learning

      Cons

      Strange unwelcoming culture once you are in it.

      Advice to Management

      Everyone matters.

      Gensler2019-06-11

      Gensler Response

      June 12, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to hear from our alumni, and wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    • "Great Firm but with Exceptions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer in La Crosse, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good benifits, flexible hours and schedules, bonuses every half year, working for a global firm.

      Cons

      Mismanaged office structure, low importance on some service quality, low pay and salary for some positions.

      Advice to Management

      Be more supportive to employees and stop breeding anxiety and high pressure situations within teams.

      Gensler2019-06-06

      Gensler Response

      June 10, 2019Gensler Response

      Thanks for the feedback! We respect our people's points of view and love to hear from them.

    • "People-First Firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Gensler full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        As someone who has developed their career at Gensler, I can say without hesitation that this firm is one-of-a-kind. There is a clear focus on developing people, and growing people that is evidenced by philanthropic initiatives, collaborative leadership opportunities, career development opportunities, global & local work, and many planned professional events. What’s more, the work that we do and the caliber of clients...

        Show More

        Cons

        None in my experience.

        Gensler2019-05-17

        Gensler Response

        May 20, 2019Gensler Response

        Thanks for the phenomenal feedback! We love to hear from our people.

      Found 818 reviews