Glassdoor Customer Success Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 827 reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Christian Sutherland-Wong
Christian Sutherland-Wong
14 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Amazing Opportunity

    Jul 21, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Glassdoor is like a dream job for me. I feel like I have a purpose every day I show up to work and truly play a part in making the world a better place to work. On top of that, I have one of the best work life balances that I could ask for. Our open PTO policy and remote work really make that happen.

    Cons

    Every company has their cons. I would say that Glassdoor needs to improve on some actions that are preached every day. For example, we communicate on the importance of diversity especially within leadership, however, I don't really see that in our leadership (there is some don't get me wrong, and describing leadership I mean Director level and up). I'm not sure if it's because the opportunity isn't available at this time or something else. I do believe the recruiting/hiring process we have in place will eventually help correct that when the time is right.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A company that actually lives up to its core values

    May 19, 2021 - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Extra company wide holidays this year to offset burn out during the pandemic - No pay cuts as a result of the pandemic, and merit increases have been re-instated - Unlimited PTO - Very transparent leadership style - A great job maintaining culture in a remote environment, through virtual events, employee resource groups, newsletters, slack channels, etc. - Focus on Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, not only through our product offerings, but also internally - Glassdoor has some of the nicest people you'll ever meet (and so smart!) - Salary transparency rolled out this past fall, allowing insight into pay bands and your personal compa-ratio - Free healthcare, and a new mental wellness benefit added amid the pandemic

    Cons

    - There are still some bumps in the road as we navigate our new partnership with Indeed, and find our groove working with them - Workload increased significantly after COVID related layoffs last year, however, we are now in a position to grow the CS team again, which should significantly reduce workload & burn out as we head into the summer months - Because of layoffs, and now onboarding new teammates, there have been many account transitions

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Ask Employees™

    How satisfied are you with the quality of your coworkers at Glassdoor?

    Polled: Jul 2021Responses: 203 ResponsesResponses: 203Audience: All employees
    Very Satisfied 111 (55%)
    Featured Employee Response

    My co-workers are incredibly smart, resourceful, and kind. On the days that I don't feel like showing up, they pull me forward. I've done some of the best work of my career because of the people around me.

    View All Polls
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great place to work!

    Jun 17, 2021 - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Where should I start? Work life balance, great pay and benefits, work flexibility, work from anywhere, and last but not least a great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    To be honest, in my short tenure I didn't notice any cons. Hands down one of the best companies to work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great EMEA team with a good work culture

    May 25, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    team culture, EMEA leadership, work life balance, great product

    Cons

    Very few so far - navigating change and recent Indeed partnership is an ongoing challenge.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company working hard towards change

    Feb 18, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have loved my time working at Glassdoor thus far! From my great manager to incredible team members I feel truly honored to work here. The people here overall are top notch. Every one is so kind, intelligent, always willing to lend a helping hand and are so open and accepting of all walks of life we have here. Leadership is always open to feedback and takes all feedback seriously. I've never worked at a company that is so open and willing to make change based on employee feedback. Great benefits! Unlimited PTO, flexible work hours, ability to work remote, good maternity/paternity leave, fertility benefits and fun events our workplace experience team are always cooking up for us to name a few! Lastly, product. I love our product and its ability to help job seekers and companies find jobs and employees they love. It's been a pretty intense past year of change, horrible layoffs that left us all feeling uneasy but leadership has continued to be transparent with us and we have been releasing new products and features, which is exciting!!

    Cons

    The amount of change has been a challenge. You definitely have to be able to adapt and remain positive. Though I believe we are through the bulk of it, there are still processes with our new partnership with Indeed that need to be ironed out - as expected with any big structural change. Because it all happened QUICK and unexpectedly due to COVID, it's been felt much more and has led to a bit of burnout (which leadership has been addressing to find solutions). As long as you're able to remain positive and adapt, I feel the pros far outweigh the cons we are feeling in the short term.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Supportive & Transparent

    Jan 6, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have had unbelievable support to be successful during Covid-19, including wfh expenses, work/life balance support, and team building opportunities. There are smart and experienced managers in place in CS who are transparent and direct, making our work fulfilling and easier during change. As the CS role's focus has changed as a result of our partnership with sister company Indeed, it has remained a value-add role for clients with autonomy, purpose, and responsibility.

    Cons

    Compensation could be slightly more competitive but benefits are by far incredible and make up for it.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not The Same...

    Mar 9, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I made a few lifelong friends during my few years with the company. Everyone is truly committed to helping out their team members at all times. The benefits are 100% employer paid which is amazing. Compensation is pretty on par with the market and pays better than some companies in the area. Unlimited PTO is great and some added random paid days off other than holidays to let employees completely unwind. Great work/life balance and flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Within the past year, the entire role of the CSM has changed for the worse. Stale product offerings that are hard to showcase ROI, also lead to redundant quarterly conversations with customers. Since CSMs are not trained consultants, it is very difficult to create change within customer base to showcase value of the products. Training for this is also very surface level, again we are not trained in Change Management or how to recreate and showcase a company's Employer Value Proposition. Depending on who your manager is can change your growth trajectory - some managers care and are highly involved in development whereas some take a back seat then come time for performance reviews, have no case to help you get promoted. Culture within the CS org is very negative due to the amount of change that has occurred within the past year. Everyone is burnt out and the employee engagement scores show how unhappy everyone is. Some true Glassdoor veterans have left the company and leadership doesn't bat an eye. In turn, they voice that if people want to go do less work at another company, then that's that person's problem. Leadership confuses being busy with mundane tasks with being challenged. Once you learn the talk tracks, the job can essentially be done with your eyes closed. Your day-to-day is full of deck making and calls which is easy but keeps you busy with the account load. There has been no real challenge to the role once you learn the basics.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good, but there’s room to be better

    Aug 31, 2020 - Customer Success Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The handling of COVID and our pivot to remote work was excellent. We had everything we needed to transition. Benefits and comp package are great, and lastly good people. I had two of the most wonderful managers you could ever ask for, fantastic sales partners and a supportive team. Everyone is also genuinely willing to help you succeed. Jacob, the VP of diversity and inclusion has made incredible strides within the company in a short amount of time. Though our diversity initiatives were late, the executive team truly cared and got behind the message. They want to learn and do better. Christian has gotten a lot of slack in these employee reviews due to the layoffs but he and his CHRO have good hearts and truly care about Glassdoor and every current and ex-employee.

    Cons

    The new strategy shift made career pathing within client success seem almost pointless. Also, Glassdoor is extremely late to the diversity and inclusion space. What makes it worse is that there are employees within the company who are not on board with expanding diversity initiatives and will openly make it known. As a Black employee it was honestly disheartening and hurtful to witness.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A lack of transparency, Indeed.

    Aug 14, 2020 - Senior Customer Success Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people. Glassdoor hired some incredible people and my managers in customer success EMEA were the absolute finest managers I’ve had: open, transparent, supportive, had their team’s back every step of the way.

    Cons

    “I'm sorry to hear your feedback that you feel the recent layoffs were unexpected and a surprise” This is just an example of the responses I’ve read from the CEO and senior management to reviews left in recent weeks, after Glassdoor announced that 30% of their staff were made redundant. The responses also state that staff were warned in all hands about the negative impact to the business. I was one of those surprised and blindsided employees, but it’s interesting to see that myself and others like me should have apparently listened better in all hands meetings. This is a shame.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Glassdoor Response

    VP, Customer Success| Global GTM

    Dear Glassdoor CSM Thanks for taking the time to share your candid feedback and sorry it has taken me a while to reply. In my new role overseeing our international teams it’s informative (if not difficult) reading. While I’m still developing my understanding of the various issues, I don’t disagree that work is needed to up-level our EMEA organization. In some areas, there are initiatives underway tackling some of the issues you’ve raised. For example, we implemented new technology to streamline production of the Business Review and have been working towards optimizing this for EMEA-specific data. More product specific training is still needed, but we have launched an enablement program focused on building the next level of knowledge and skill in employer branding which rolls-out over the next couple quarters. In other areas, we still need to formulate a specific plan for how to ensure that you - and others - feel more supported and positive in relation to your experience at work (for example, improving work-life balance or reducing the volume of account transitions that happen each quarter). I hear your frustration in relation to the amount of change happening across the business and in particular, the speed with which we’re moving. Moving quickly makes change even harder and I realize that this creates difficulties for you and others which can be really frustrating. It’s true that slowing down could help us avoid some missteps, but introduces a different type of discomfort from supporting legacy processes and approaches for longer while trying to shift into a new motion. I do need to be better at anticipating and planning for change to ease some of the challenges for our teams going forward and I plan on broader consultation ahead of time to assist with this going forward. As we exit this quarter, I am hopeful that the completion of large components of our change effort will relieve a number of frustrations for you and others in EMEA. I’m committed to improving the experience of our teams in the region and believe we’ve made some important early steps towards improving communication, transparency and accountability that I hope you feel good about. There’s no question that we need high performers like you who care about making things better in order for us to reach our ambitious goals, so please know that these perspectives are valued. -Chris, VP Customer Success

  11. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    CS is not the place to be right now

    Mar 12, 2020 - Customer Success 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The colleagues I work with are fantastic. My current manager is supportive and does care a lot. This has made my time at Glassdoor more positive than negative! The people at Glassdoor are all friendly and willing to help each other out.

    Cons

    CS leaders are nowhere to be found. They do not appear invested in CS people. Managers are not all tenured and sometimes managers are just placed in the roles without the experience. CS people want industry mentors to help us succeed in our job and overall career. Promotions are random and competencies change constantly making it a moving target. It’s a painful process to watch.

    Continue reading
    30 people found this review helpful

    Glassdoor Response

    VP, Customer Success

    Dear Glassdoor CS Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and sorry for my delayed reply. Based on what you’ve shared, it sounds like I can do a better job of helping you (and others) feel connected to our functional leadership. I would certainly want you and all CSMs to feel that your senior leaders are invested in your success. I’m planning on reintroducing monthly All Hands meetings and visiting with all CS teams (virtually) over the next month, so I hope this is a helpful starting point. From my perspective, enabling career progression is important at all levels of the organization. I’m pleased that some members of CS have chosen to pursue a career in leadership and I’m excited that we can support that. I would respectfully disagree that promotion outcomes are random - nominating Managers prepare a business case (based on the competency framework) which is presented to a committee of our senior leaders and each potential promotion is discussed individually on its merits. It sounds like the basis for promotion decisions could be clearer - I will follow up with our CS Directors in relation to how we accomplish this. Lastly, in relation to your feedback on changes to our PTO plans - I hear you. It’s clear that from your perspective - and many others - I did not adequately reflect the downsides of moving to a fixed PTO allocation in my communication. That is my fault and I take responsibility for this mistake. I am glad that we have been able to work with HR and address the root cause of the concern by establishing an open-PTO allowance for all non-exempt employees across the company. The last few months have been difficult for our team and the coming months will not be without their challenges either. But I believe in our ability to adapt - as we have done in the past - and emerge from this adversity with strength. Chris, VP Customer Success

Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

Popular Careers with Glassdoor Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Glassdoor? Share Your Experiences

Glassdoor logo
or