Glassdoor Sales Development Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Sales Development Representative

Glassdoor Sales Development Representative Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (24)

    "A critical inflection point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits program, casual office, free snacks, tons of events and happy hours. Great existing product that works really well, and some of the best people you'll ever work with.

    Cons

    Glassdoor is in the critical stages of post-startup mode. The acquisition by Recruit Holdings was supposed to provide the financial backing and fuel needed to accelerate the already high growth the company was experiencing. Instead it's left the organization in a sea of turnover (particularly in leadership) and left boots on the ground employees with far more questions than answers. For a company who's entire... existence is centered around employer transparency, internal communications are impressively opaque. Changes continue to be communicated last minute and fundamental business issues go months without any updates from leadership. As someone on the sales team, the 4 departments that support sales efforts (being Marketing, Product, Sales Operations, and Sales Enablement) are all woefully incompetent and mismanaged. Marketing has no idea how to string together grammatically correct sentences, let alone educate employers on our unique value proposition. Product has finally pushed forward 1 meaningful update to the solution that we can sell, the first in the nearly 19 months I worked here. I legitimately have no idea what they do all day. Sales Operations is constantly understaffed and stuck under inefficient manual processes that keep them constantly behind on their caseload while basic pieces of our Salesforce instance fail to work properly. Sales Enablement is either spending their time running trainings that are either totally redundant or of little value, or they are doing seemingly nothing at all. We went more than 9 months as a team without a single training run by Enablement until they were finally able to scrape together enough budget to bring in an outside sales trainer for 1 day. Meanwhile, the company is struggling to maintain sales volume and seems to have no answer to this problem. Most managers are still running 1 on 1 meetings with their direct reports that have little substance. Very little is going on in terms of coaching and development, just a lot of people relying on the same old strategies that no longer work. As a result, a lot of their best employees have left the company for greener pastures.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Glassdoor has an awesome mission, a great product, and a great culture. But if you don't start investing more in your employees and leadership and find ways to stop regrettable turnover, you'll lose your opportunity to become just as essential as your major competitors (and sister company) are to employers and job seekers.

    Glassdoor2019-09-18
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with a really great and collaborative team. We all want eachother to do well and will help out where we can. My favourite thing is a the culture at Glassdoor. Everyone works hard but we can all have a bit of fun while we are at it. Plently of nights out and reconigition for overachievement. You have to be pretty resilient in this role but the rewards are worth it. There are loads of progression opportunities in... every department which is great. Plenty of snacks in the office and drink (the good kind), playstation and sometimes you might see a dog running round! Overall, happy working here and looking forward to the future of GD.

    Show More

    Cons

    Seem to be a lot of sales ops issues that take ages to get resolved. Sometimes extra hours are needed to hit target.

    Glassdoor2019-01-23
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Sales Development Representative (SDR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Could be advantageous to have Tech multinational experience on your CV, as it is a well known brand. Start up environment, in a great location. Earning potential is generous.

    Cons

    Probation period of 6 months is actually make or break after 3 months. If you are not hitting & exceeding targets from month 1 your life quickly becomes extremely stressful and management become pessimistic & micro-managers watching, listening and monitoring your calls & calendar. Overall Glassdoor is a very difficult product to sell given a lot of prospective clients you a cold approaching dislike... Glassdoor, have had negative experience using Glassdoor or received poor reviews that as an SDR you can not remove. Work life balance, holidays and weekends are sacrificed to hit targets that can feel achievable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care about more then targets and treat your staff as people first, fee earners second.

    Glassdoor2019-01-10
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Loads of pros to working here! - Really welcoming and friendly environment to work in, management and coworkers are really approachable and great buzz in the office! - Not a typical cold calling sales role. - Great feeling of togetherness and people working towards the same goal - Management follow through on their aim to be transparent and like to keep everyone in the loop as much as possible! - Great... benefits - Lovely offices with no shortage of drinks and snacks!

    Show More

    Cons

    As the EMEA offices are still growing and an unstructured on-boarding means an overwhelming start, but with everyone so willing to help its easy one to get over. New programmes for on-boarding are being focused on now which means a very exciting time for new starters!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Glassdoor2018-12-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company but be prepared to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Early stages of growth so an exciting time to be in the company and a lot of potential for growth and progression - Still a small company so you can feel valued and your opinion matters, even if you're just a new member - Not a typical cold-calling environment - more of a consultative approach to selling which helps you learn a lot more about the product / service from the beginning of your career - A lot of... nights out and company social events to enjoy - Relatively young team so there's a lot of energy and the culture is great - Great people to learn off and grow as a sales person - BAMF - Pizza Fridays - Free Snacks, beers, wine, VitHits

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be difficult at times and quota does not change if you have paid time off so this can be very stressful, especially for new starts which causes people to work unsociable hours and weekends - Promotion timeline and criteria has been very vague so expectations aren't properly set for new joiners

    Advice to Management

    - Have clearer expectations set for new joiners for promotion - As we start to grow, try to maintain the culture (BAMF, Kuddle etc.) - Be more realistic with quotas so that people don't feel guilty for taking time off

    Glassdoor2018-11-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Glassdoor is full of great people who you can learn from. The culture is great with plenty of social events. There are plenty of benefits, from unlimited annual leave, private health insurance, a good pension scheme and pizza on Friday's.. We also have free snacks (crisps, popcorn, cans of coke, vit hits, fulfill bars, pistachios etc). We also have a fridge of beers, wine etc. The EMEA region is expanding so there... are lots of opportunities to learn, grow and apply for new roles. The location is right beside Stephens Green in Dublin 2 so very central and easy to get to. Overall it is a great place to work, the team are all very supportive and are able to have a laugh!

    Show More

    Cons

    -Promotion timeline has been unclear and vague, so expectations were not set properly for new starters which leads to disappointment and frustration. -Quota is quite high and can be stressful. You don't get quota relief when you take time off, so it is hard to hit your monthly quota/targets. The workload can be a lot and pressuring. - If you don't hit quota, your commission isn't great -Work/Life balance can be... hard to maintain at times due to high quota

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -More transparency with regards to promotions and timelines -Each individual should be managed differently -Try to maintain the great culture we have as we continue to grow and expand!

    Glassdoor2018-11-30
  7. "Feels like home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working at Glassdoor. The company mission resonates with me and is always reiterated. I love my manager and my co-workers. The company puts on fun events, the office is beautiful and dog friendly. Everyone is nice and friendly as well. I am able to be a leader and am never told that something is out of reach if it's something I want to do. My teammates support me and my managers encourage me.

    Cons

    I have no complaints. I truly love working at Glassdoor!!!!!!!!!!!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work hard for your team and help those that fall behind. Always make sure promotion paths are clearly understood.

    Glassdoor2018-07-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "It doesn't get better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I don't feel like I have to separate my work from my life... working at Glassdoor is just a part of my life and I love every single second of it. - I don't ever work more than 40 hours/week, and I get paid more than most people doing a similar job at other tech companies - Quota is extremely attainable, and once you exceed your quota get ready for VERY aggressive accelerators Long story short, Glassdoor... fits my life extremely well. I'm able to provide a comfortable life for my family, while also being able to spend significant time with them.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Historically hasn't been great training support for SDR's, however that is changing, as we recently added a SDR Sales Trainer to our team - Office is getting so big that its almost impossible to get to know everyone

    Advice to Management

    Invest more resources into on-boarding. First impressions are everything, and its important we create a great experience for our new hires!

    Glassdoor2018-06-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Glassdoor is a company that truly cares about you as an individual. I have, on countless occasions, had the opportunity to meet with our CEO and just chat. Get to know him as a person, which is rare! We also have so many great perks, benefits are amazing, promotion opportunities are through the roof, and of course, a GREAT opportunity to make some $$$. Pros: - Lunch on MW & Thurs - Catered breakfast for... events - Snacks on snacks - La Croix, Coke, Diet coke, water, coffee - KIND OF unlimited PTO - not really though - Flexible work hours - Work/Life Balance

    Show More

    Cons

    This being a "young org" will go through its changes, but this isn't really a con. If you can't roll with the punches, this might not be the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep killin' it.

    Glassdoor2017-07-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great group of people that all get along- have a work hard play hard mentality. Managers always willing to help out in any way.

    Cons

    hard to get promoted quickly due to the amount of people wanting the same promotion.

    Glassdoor2017-07-17
Found 22 reviews