Glassdoor Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 827 reviews

4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Christian Sutherland-Wong
Christian Sutherland-Wong
5 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Company to Work

    May 9, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Working Environment Great career progression good work environment seniors are helpful. Nice people here offering helping on all aspects of work. Great training session letting us get in touch with edge technologies within the industry.

    Cons

    Not anything I can think of right now, no cons as everything is good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome place to work!

    Feb 26, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leadership. Everybody is very helpful

    Cons

    Not sure if I can find anything.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Ask Employees™

    How satisfied are you with the quality of your coworkers at Glassdoor?

    Polled: Jul 2021Responses: 203 ResponsesResponses: 203Audience: All employees
    Very Satisfied 111 (55%)
    Featured Employee Response

    My co-workers are incredibly smart, resourceful, and kind. On the days that I don't feel like showing up, they pull me forward. I've done some of the best work of my career because of the people around me.

    View All Polls
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    My job is to help others find a job they love!

    Sep 16, 2020 - Senior Software Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Great people - i know cliche - but love the tech pool and challenges we solve everyday * Right level of empowerment and accountability! * Great values and benefits!

    Cons

    If I have to nitpick - would say as orgs have grown, it has created a bit of silos across B2B and B2C orgs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to work

    Oct 8, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good People Great Culture Work Life balance

    Cons

    Career growth is stagnant Compensation is low

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Glassdoor Response

    Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review! It's great to hear that our work/life balance, people, and overall culture have exceeded your expectations so far. Regarding your feedback about compensation, you can read on our Glassdoor profile about how our team thinks about compensation and total rewards, as well as access all of our employee salary ranges which were published just last month. Thanks again for your feedback.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to learn and grow

    Jul 21, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Benefits, great staff, diverse workforce, open to all technology (no one-size-fits -all approach)

    Cons

    Old technology, slow to innovate, lots of product churn and changes in direction

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Glassdoor Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re pleased to hear your feedback regarding our employee benefits, Good People, and diverse backgrounds. While 2020 has had its share of unpredictability, we feel that our product innovation is stronger than ever. We are committed to strengthening our reputation as the best place in the world to go for employer branding and insights, which has led to innovative leaps in D&I and remote work data that will be released later this year. We’re excited for our new direction at Glassdoor as we focus back on our roots of being the platform that provides radical transparency for job seekers.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company, lots of future and growth

    Mar 2, 2016 - Senior Web Developer in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First of all the culture is great, everyone I know are always ready to help, everyone is friendly and mostly in a great mood, that is because pretty much everyone is exited about our mission and vision, I think there is a great future to the company. Management is very accesible and open, they care for the individual and listen. There is also a bunch of talent and you can see how the architecture, and over all code get's better and better.

    Cons

    Technology wise they are not on the forefront, you can see this as an opportunity to really impact and contribute to better the code, but some people might see this as a turnoff. Again this is by no means a reflect on the knowledge and talent of devs, is more of legacy and honestly time because the company is growing extremely fast.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A new standard for what a startup should be.

    Jun 6, 2008 - Senior Software Engineer in Sausalito, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is my third San Francisco-area startup company. My first was sold to Novell, the second was sold to Macromedia. I thought I understood how successful startups are run. Glassdoor sets a new standard. These guys really know what they're doing, and understand what makes a company successful. I've learned new ways of thinking here, not just about coding, but also by watching our CEO and the VP of Marketing. They do things I would never have thought of doing. (This is the first marketing person for whom I've ever felt any respect!) Any startup is a gamble, but working with these guys gives me a lot of confidence that we will succeed. Both the CEO and VP of Engineering value individual contributors and creativity, and will let you know it. If you just want to code, and do it well, you'll be appreciated for that. The quality of our work life is great. The company is headquartered in beautiful Sausalito, California. Our offices are a block from the water, and 1/2 mile from kayak rentals. We can watch the fog come in over the mountains. On Friday afternoons we open beer and wine and sip while working at our desks and listening to music, which we all take turns D.J.'ing off an iPod. While it's a bit of a jock atmosphere, the company is gay-friendly. (We're just north of San Francisco, after all.)

    Cons

    Since this is a small company, there is limited opportunity to learn from your colleagues... If you're not comfortable going out and doing some research, you probably won't fit in here. Likewise, you need to be fairly self-directed. Everyone has to be willing to step into different roles, if necessary, so you might end up doing something onerous like PERL scripting, but these kinds of things are always temporary. On occasion, you'll put in long hours. (I've put in a lot of 10-hour days, and occasionally a 12-hour day.) These are voluntary, and I've never seen anyone pressured to work late. People just understand that hard work now will (hopefully) lead to compensatory rewards later. The company is currently a boy's club, and needs some female employees desperately. (I think that everyone realizes we need more balance.) I'm hoping that a year from now this will no longer be the case.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Building a Better Workplace by Example

    Mar 8, 2016 - Senior Web Developer in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People care. People believe in the vision, and they believe in their peers, and go to lengths to show both of these to be true. This applies to interns and execs equally; drop by Robert's office to see how true it is for yourself. The culture reinforces itself when you see how hard people work to build something awesome, it's really inspirational. Flexible schedules. You're adults; if you can accomplish your work, you manage your own time (normal caveats apply, of course -- physical presence is still important, and there are only so many meeting times that will work for most people). Sweet perks - Free catered lunches, on-site gym, free bootcamp/Crossfit classes (yoga will be returning as well), some health/exercise related partner discounts, ping-pong, arcade games, beer on tap. Making a difference. Working here gives you an opportunity to positively affect people's lives across the workforce. Even better, it's universally applicable. Is there something that annoys you about work in general that you don't think needs to be that way? Here's a great place to start trying to work on that. Good brand. People commonly not only recognize but actually like the company, which gives super positive vibes. (Obligatory shout out to the awesome PR team!)

    Cons

    The first 2 aren't really hard "cons" as much as reminders that this is a bustling tech company, not a haven of freeloaders enjoying overcompensation and perks: 1) Things move very fast, and change is constant. Employees must be able to keep up. 2) Crunch time is no joke. Engineers might see long hours on a per-project basis, and salesmembers see it with the seasonal business. Other departments likely have similar waxes. I questioned whether the finance team ever left the office for months (during times I was working 11-12 hour days, no less). Bureaucracy is growing. As the company grows, so come more layers that slow everything down. This is exacerbated by new hires higher up on the food chain since they need to ramp on more things. Zero-to-market time on products has taken a hit. MVP delusions. Many products are initially built as lightweight as possible, or the "Minimum Viable Product" with the intention of filling out later, but... never quite get filled out. This mindset hurts engineering as much as it hurts the product by encouraging hacky, non-reusable code. A bit behind the tech curve. The product brainiacs (I don't mean that in a bad way; they're just smart) drive their roadmaps with gusto, leaving less time for engineering innovation and infrastructure. There have been some internal drives to address this, but there has been little penetration.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A company is just a collection of idea and people

    Mar 19, 2014 - Senior Software Engineer in Sausalito, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been at Glassdoor only for 6 months now. From the moment I interviewed, to this very moment, I have been thrilled to be here. Glassdoor has a collection of wonderful people with wonderful ideas. Our goal is to help people to find the job they love, and as work is such a critical part of our lives, it is so important to be in an environment you love. I love being at Glassdoor. I have worked in many places over the years. I feel like I am home now with Glassdoor.

    Cons

    Every company has cons, we live in an imperfect world. Nothing of significance here.

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Start!!

    Jan 6, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This review is after my first month at GD. - Great people - Smart coworkers - Great learning experience - I have got to do meaningful contribution in my first week itself.

    Cons

    - Commute is long. But its not so much of a problem for me. - Still need to improve some aspects of continuous integration and delivery. But the plans are in place.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Glassdoor Response

    SVP Engineering, CTO

    Definitely agree we need to continue to make progress on our continuous integration solution. Hopefully even in the time since you joined you have seen significant progress. But we will keep pushing.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Glassdoor Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Glassdoor? Share Your Experiences

Glassdoor logo
or