GlaxoSmithKline Reviews in Philadelphia, PA | Glassdoor.com.au

GlaxoSmithKline Philadelphia Reviews

Updated 22 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
10 Ratings
  1. "Great firm, caring people, solid products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    GSK is a great place to work. The work-life balance is great, and most of the people truly care about each other. Friendly atmosphere within a highly mission driven organization

    Cons

    Because of size, decision making tends to take a long time. Need more diversity in C-suite level management

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-22
  2. "GSK - An Employer of Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Recruiter in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Great culture Lots of opportunity Diversity and Inclusion Strong pipeline of cancer therapies

    Cons

    Decision making can be slow at times, but that is due to a culture of collaboration. For example, gaining buy-in and consensus across matrix teams.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-22
  3. "Get a job at another pharma company. Avoid this one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to fill in a certain number of words. Think I met it now.

    Cons

    Wow, where do I begin? Shady managers, no training, treated like crap, belittled, humiliated, extreme favoritism for certain employees. There’s not enough money to put up with this b.s.

    Advice to Management

    Teach your employees to do their job and empower them so that you don’t have to micromanage.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-08-18

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    August 21, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We really value our employee’s feedback and it’s important that our employees feel supported. We are focused on creating a safe and inclusive workplace where everyone at GSK can feel able and inspired to realize their ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Good company but incentive comp lower than other big pharmas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent products and people. Big focus on integrity and compliance but for sales teams incentive comp plan not as competitive as other big pharma companies .

    Cons

    Reorganization with possible layoffs recently have been every year for last 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    Re-structure once and for all and be stable for a few years and simplify and increase your incentive comp plan as GSk is about $10-15k lower than other big pharma co and even a much greater gap with device companies .

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-28
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Company used to be like family, but environment in HQ has turned toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Above average compensation package including salary, bonus & LTIs (managers and above). Generous vacation time plus company shutdown between Christmas and New Years. Cutting edge HQ offices utilizing open space seating. Ability to WFH as needed.

    Cons

    Reorganizations every other year resulting in layoffs. People who survive the cuts keep their heads down and worry about when their time is up. Limited career advancement or opportunities for rotations. Very few people in late 50's or 60's.

    Advice to Management

    Over 20 years ago GSK was the kind of place that sent workers with young children home to go Trick or Treating on Halloween. Those days are over. Upper management does not even know the names of everyone in their department or care about their team. GSK has become so politically correct trying to be diverse and meet ratio targets, that people with years of knowledge & talent are walking out the door (with generous...

    Show More
    GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-04
  6. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analytics Intern in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment, helpful colleagues, as an intern can build network which might be useful down the lane

    Cons

    Not that I am aware of

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-03-28
  7. "Great work experience and addition to your resume."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Promotions Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People to work with more like Extended Family

    Cons

    Work ethic difference between the PA and NC offices.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees, Better process is needed when evaluating employees during reorganization.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-08
  8. "A good company to work for that is moving towards Digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    People, work environment, training, core values

    Cons

    Slow to make decisions, difficult to use systems.

    Advice to Management

    As you make changes, ensure critical efforts and services are maintained.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-04
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, nice people

    Cons

    No real issues to talk about

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-02-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent learning and advancement opportunities, generous benefits and friendly working atmosphere.

    Cons

    Can sometimes have excessive processes that can be cumbersome.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-01-15
Found 146 reviews