GlaxoSmithKline Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

GlaxoSmithKline Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4933 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
GlaxoSmithKline CEO Emma Walmsley
Emma Walmsley
873 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance could be poor(in 102 reviews)

  • "Too much political concern on decision making; sometimes short-sighted decisions were made(in 90 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    - Values based organisation - Fantastic opportunities if you're mobile (able to move countries) - Flexible Working, work life balance is achievable - Salary

    Cons

    - Consolidated decision making in London and US, if you're not based in a key location expect to spend a lot of time in teleconferences out of hours - Large organisational change currently going on, great opportunities, but also a large amount of uncertainty. - Slow decision making

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-09-17
  2. "Do More, Feel Better, Live Longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great brands, great vision of company. Good people too.

    Cons

    Not so digitally focused when I worked there. However, I heard that the vision and company has changed since to be more innovative. Highly regulated industry makes marketing challenging - slowing down any momentum with innovative ideas.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-28
  3. "Great support with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is genuinely interested in developing your skills. People there are extremely friendly. As an intern, you are treated at the same level as any other employer. Great benefits Great work opportunities, encouraged to take on any work you are interested in.

    Cons

    Systems there are quite outdated.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-07-17
  4. "Good work atmosphere & future opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    The people were great, and the projects were quite interesting.

    Cons

    Some of the upper management could use some changes in their dealings with other staff.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-04-13
  5. "Engaging place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    Big company with lots of talented people who were passionate about their work. Flexible working was well supported.

    Cons

    Perhaps this was more due to the fact that I and my peers were interns, however I felt that there was some internal lethargy to making changes.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-03-09
  6. "Pleased with the IBL Programme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical IBL in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming, supportive environment High safety standards

    Cons

    Ermington factory closing down :(

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you are doing, you're managing a difficult situation well.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-02-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Culture needs to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    Resources - big teams

    Cons

    Culture needs to be addressed. Lot of good people left in the transition with the joint venture between GSK & Novartis.

    Advice to Management

    Work on culture.

    GlaxoSmithKline2019-01-20
  8. "Data analysis Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline

    Pros

    Good culture, standard process to follow

    Cons

    Same as all elsewhere, people are most important so managers will be a key in any business.

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-12-06
  9. "Commercial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GlaxoSmithKline full-time

    Pros

    Has a great work life balance.

    Cons

    Difficult to reach, not located in the CBD.

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-12-02
  10. "No Career Progression Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GlaxoSmithKline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free cake almost everyday - Some great young employees - Work hours flexible

    Cons

    - Poor management - No emphasis on career development and progression - Lack of transparency amongst leadership and HR team - No accountability - Roles and responsibilities not clearly communicated and defined, resulting in overwork - Lots of admin - Turnover rate way too high - Long and unnecessary back to back meetings on a daily basis, leading to almost having no desk time to do work

    Advice to Management

    Genuinely care about your employees’ well being and career development. Give opportunities for employees to voice their feedback anonymously.

    GlaxoSmithKline2018-11-13

    GlaxoSmithKline Response

    January 8, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s clear from your review that during your time working at GSK you had more challenges than positive experiences and this is something we take seriously. We would encourage you to contact us via our speak up line here which will ...

    Show More
Found 4933 reviews