Gold's Gym Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Gold's Gym Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1050 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Gold's Gym CEO Adam Zeitsiff
Adam Zeitsiff
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay, lonesome at the front desk(in 67 reviews)

  • "They took away commissions for sales for the trainers(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gold's Gym full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leaders of innovation in the Fitness Industry

    Cons

    No downsides at present with this employer

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    Gold's Gym2015-08-03
  2. "I have passion to work on the fitness field , especially as a PT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Head Personal Trainer in Sweden, GA

      I have been working at Gold's Gym full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Gold's gym is one of the best gym worldwide, and i have a great experience in this field, as i can give classes and many things

      Cons

      Hard worker Punctual Patient Creative Positive

      Advice to Management

      Later on

      Gold's Gym2019-07-01
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service in Dubai
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gold's Gym full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good management , healthy environment, pay well

      Cons

      Long hours, no evaluation, all good

      Gold's Gym2019-06-30
    • "Poor training and micromanaging"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Front Desk 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Gold's Gym

        Pros

        Coworkers were all really nice

        Cons

        The management micromanages you to the point of making you feel dumb. There’s a much of niche things with the gym you don’t learn about when training so it’s hard to answer member questions although don’t worry because the OM will always be around to jump in and take over even when you’re doing something right their control issues will come out and they have to make sure you know what you’re doing even though you do....

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop being so condescending when correcting a mistake and calm down a bit it’s a gym

        Gold's Gym2019-07-11
      • "Okay, as a temp"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Receptionist in Hanwell, London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Gold's Gym full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nice environment Nice hours Good members

        Cons

        Low pay Not enough hours Management is rude

        Gold's Gym2019-06-26
      • "Good to learn the basics"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Personal Trainer in Thousand Oaks, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Gold's Gym part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The Thousand Oaks location was one of the better gyms in the entire franchise. It is a solid consistent member base. The personal trainers are serious about their health and very well educated.

        Cons

        To work for Gold's gym Socal you have to play their game, you have to make money when they want you to make money. I sat down with my manager after a very low paycheck amount and he went over how I did everything right, just at the wrong time. So let that sink in, because management made sales to my clients on the wrong day or time I missed out on over a grand on my paycheck. They have little support for keeping track...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Make the pay structure simpler to follow, if corporate can't keep track, how are we as trainers with limited computer access supposed to keep track.

        Gold's Gym2019-07-09
      • "About job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Udaipur, Rajasthan
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Gold's Gym full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good gym good managers good machine

        Cons

        Hectic schedule need to work really hard

        Advice to Management

        Improve staff it is really necessary

        Gold's Gym2019-06-20
      • "Bad organization"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Lifeguard 

        I worked at Gold's Gym part-time

        Pros

        i loved my team and we always had fun

        Cons

        The management was terrible, they were so unorganized and terrible at communicating

        Gold's Gym2019-06-21
      • "It's just ok"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Personal Trainer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Gold's Gym full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Helping others was a passion of mine

        Cons

        Golds only cares about the money not the clients

        Advice to Management

        Give trainers more time with their clients or work something out where the trainer can have 10 to 15 minutes of paid time after their session to help better inform their clients if needed.

        Gold's Gym2019-06-15
      • "Good College Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Childcare 

        I worked at Gold's Gym full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Free gym membership and another free one to whomever you choose e.g. your spouse/partner. They are somewhat flexible with your schedule if you are close to the right people.

        Cons

        A lot of cliques and co-workers can act childish. Large turnover in management.

        Gold's Gym2019-06-08
      Found 1050 reviews