Goodstart Early Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Goodstart Early Learning Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Goodstart Early Learning CEO Julia Davison
Julia Davison
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Goodstart West Street - Horrible place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time

    Pros

    Great children, families and colleagues

    Cons

    A place full of bullying, discrimination and favouritism

    Advice to Management

    Would be great having random meeting with the staff in different centres

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-13

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sorry to hear that some aspects of your time with us were not so great. While we appreciate you may wish to remain anonymous, if you would like to talk more about it, please call us on 1800 890 933 or email : people@goodstart.org.au.

  2. Helpful (10)

    "Disappointing 🤯"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Leader in West Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relationships built with the children and families.

    Cons

    Built beautiful relationships with the staff in this certain centre. After a few years, had a big change in staffing and environment, now the environment isnt so joyful to come to, a few toxic personalities makes it very hard to spend 5 days 37.5 hours a week in, bullying is high in most centres ive been to as this is evident through the reviews on here as well as if you walk into any of the centres, it is female... dominant so it is highly expected, it would be great to have a few male teachers and directors within the environment to balance out the aura as the atmosphere itself can be intense with so many females. Used to be inspired to inspire educators as dedication and aspirations have gone out the door. Too many expectations with little help to improve quality programs within the centre. Encouraged to attend meetings, conferences and workshops but bombarded with too much work and no pay raises but very high expectations oh and the paper work! . Doesnt make sense to put extra duties but not to pay the educators and teachers extra, mind you we are also apparently cleaners too, constantly cleaning, doing the laundry, sweeping yards, taking out rubbish bins because goodstart cant afford to pay the professional cleaners to take out the bins, mopping the floors, wiping down surfaces, wiping windows, cleaning the childrens bathrooms because theres urine all over the floor, cleaning ALL the toys because the chn LOVE placing toys into their mouths and we need to ensure we stop the spread of infections and diseases/sicknesses, changing experiences, observe chns play, build great quality relationships with the chn through our interactions, feed them, cuddle them, change their diapers, wipe their noses and on top of all that folks, we need to ensure individual observations are completed, daily reflections are completed, program reflections, critical reflections and personal reflections are done!, we are interacting with the children and finding ways to extend their learning/play/development, changing experiences around, making sure the paper work is also completed such as playground checks, sunscreen checks, routines are checked oh and you also got to deal with the attitudes you get from both chn and educators .. all of this on a daily basis. Have been told if you work over your 37.5 or 38max that you will be owed it the week after n sent home early( in my entire work life as a teenager/adult the hours ive worked i have always been paid for until i begun working for this company). Ratio to children is obviously out of our control as its part of the NQS although it can be annoying when you are over ratio and theres nothing you can do besides try your best to juggle if its over 3s 12 or 13chn on your own and if its under 3s you may have 5 or 6 on your own as staff tend to call in sick frequently and is not replaced. Crazy right. Yup and thats how accidents start and they wonder why.. oh not to mention we have no benefits..you get back pain as well dont foget that but no benefits with massage discounts or physiotherapy discounts no care for our health n wellbeing what so ever... i could go on but i may make a novel out of it.... to end the cons all i can say is.... have respect for earlychildhood educators and teachers as a lot of people have no clue what our day is like. We get told we dont need a pay rise... in our eyes we feel we deserve it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If only you knew what it is like to live and breathe our role you will understand.

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-10

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback - and sorry to hear that you had a mixed experience with us. Early Learning is a highly regulated industry and there are a lot of requirements we need to meet by law, including recording children's learning and maintaining ...

    Show More
  3. "Casual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    Flexible pay is decent

    Cons

    Work not garinteed and can get some really short shifts that don’t work for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Ensure you tell casual employees when you have put them on the roster.

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-10-05
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Children's Centre 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The children and the families

    Cons

    Bullying culture Profit oriented Management get cars, phones and laptops while staff scramble for supplies Won't hire extra staff so staff need to work past shift times No support at all

    Advice to Management

    Maybe you should rethink your organization. I still have nightmares thanks to your people.

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-02
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Want to make a difference but can't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The children and parents and SOME coworkers

    Cons

    Too much favourtism, gossip, lies, unfounded allegations, if someone doesn't like you they will cause trouble for you all the time, management doesn't care about you. Profit comes first. If you are given a new shift (you are just given it without any discussion) and it doesn't suit then you are told to just leave. I get disheartened when I am treated badly like this, always couldn't wait to get to work but was... slowly ground down. Went from full of energy and excitement to depression.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They don't listen anyway

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-10-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    room to transfer from centre to centre Very structured

    Cons

    People get away with too much

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your team, make sure you're all on the same page

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-09-13
  7. "Senior Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Educator in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great philosophy in terms of children's learning and families.

    Cons

    Work life balance is hard because of long shifts with one hour unpaid break.

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-08-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment with care for children

    Cons

    Low pay and rare financial growth

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-08-01
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    Not much some staff where nice

    Cons

    Not good pay packet, director not very nice 2ic also not very nice

    Advice to Management

    Get some people skills and also treat all staff the same as where I was unless u where friends with the director u where nothing

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-06-08
  10. "Education is Key"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time

    Pros

    Above award wages, great Professional Development opportunities, flexible working conditions

    Cons

    Some processes are too long

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-05-17
Found 66 reviews