Goodstart Early Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Goodstart Early Learning Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Goodstart Early Learning CEO Julia Davison
Julia Davison
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    I wish i could state something good

    Cons

    Pretty good at not informing staff about their plans

    Advice to Management

    God awful managment. Childcare I have been working at for well over a year is now currently under their manage and decide to fire me without warning as soon as they are in charge.

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-06-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time

    Pros

    Great team a lot of support

    Cons

    Ratios aren't always correct t

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-02-19
  3. Helpful (11)

    "2ic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 2IC in Melton
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are none. Directors been in the industry far too long. Work under roofline. Tell other educators about other people’s business. Smart remarks in front of other educators and are happy to overwork people as long as it suits.

    Cons

    Bullying is rife, is happy to have 10 babies with 2 staff members. Accommodate lazy staff and make the hard turkeys work harder.

    Advice to Management

    Move your directors around. Long term directors get complacent.

    Goodstart Early Learning2017-12-06
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Toxic management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The children and families and friends made with staff who are in the same boat as you.

    Cons

    There are bullies in this company that are promoted and patted on the back by upper management. Many Area Managers that tell you that you’re just a number, that pick on the staff in the rooms while telling directors to short staff the centre to save money. Ratios aren’t adhered to and if you don’t like under roof ratios then you’ll hate working here. It’s all about budgets and the mighty dollar, not the children or... staff. I left one year ago and there is only 1 staff member left in the centre I was in. They’ve all left the company in disgust. The staff turn over is huge, and new staff don’t stay as they soon realise that they’ll be expected to bend over backwards and cut corners which is horrifying. There is constant talking behind backs - constant ‘get rid of her’ speak to directors and an upper level managers insult centre staff - ‘don’t use big words to directors when you’re speaking to them as they won’t understand you.’ Insulting, nasty, bullying culture and good staff end up leaving as it’s cruel to see children suffering and crying in corners being ignored and yelled out by stressed out staff. Area Managers will never support you, instead they will point out all the shortcomings and performance manage you out, rather than provide adequate training. But then there’s useless training that you’re expected to attend after hours which could have been an email. No work life balance. But then, this company doesn’t give two hoots about its staff. It’s all about the profit for the top heavy structure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really? As if they’d listen. The bullying is rife and staff that need their jobs have tried speaking up and are told by area managers to not be so sensitive. The bullying has been around for years. Management are focused on the profits - to say that children are central to everything this company does is the hugest joke I have ever heard. Money is central to everything they do in this company and there is no... reinvestment in to centres. The ones I saw were in various states of disrepair. Fees are way too high and other smaller centres around the goodstart I was at provide much more care and concern to the children. I would recommend management restructure and get rid of the bullies (there’ll be only a few staff left) bring back a proper HR team and overhaul the company as many have left and everyone is talking in the sector about what bullies goodstart are. There may be class action down the track, I would not be surprised.

    Show More
    Goodstart Early Learning2017-11-15
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Loosing faith fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time

    Pros

    My families and my team are the most important part of my job.

    Cons

    Absolutely no support or commitment from head office. Our centre has been without a permanent director for most of the year and before that we have changed directors at least six times. With each new director comes a whole new set of rules and expectations, many of which they fail to deliver or enforce which has had a massive impact on staff and families. Many fantastic educators have resigned and other loyal,... competent educators are left to take on massive workloads and responsibilities due to the centre being staffed mainly by casual educators. Area manager shows little to no interest when concerns are continually raised by staff and parents instead she prefers to focus on non issues such as children's art work being on display or whether someone is wearing a hat or not. Yet allegations of child harm are ignored.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and realise that the front line people in your company are the ones that generate revenue that pay your wages. Termination of one area manager that is not doing their job effectively could save the company thousands of dollars that could actually go back into the centres to provide for the children. What is goodstarts philosophy? Children are central to everything we do....only if it doesn't take the upper... management out of their comfort zone or away from their free lunches, then they might consider what is actually going on.

    Show More
    Goodstart Early Learning2017-11-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The company that's going to change lives!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ferntree Gully
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support from the new managment team. I feel appreciated by the families and the beautiful team of people i work with. Currently being renovated and the fresh look is also giving all the team a fresh outlook on the centre. I love being given the opportunity to extend my current knowledge and feeling the support from everyone around me, but also the resources that are provided to us are fantastic and... cover more than i could ever imagine.

    Show More

    Cons

    Still awaiting for the renovations to be complete.

    Advice to Management

    Just a big thank you for making this centre a place that i look forward to coming to every morning.

    Goodstart Early Learning2017-09-15
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Big organizations always come out best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    Families appreciate the care.

    Cons

    2IC Is an absolute bully and scares all the staff. not under any circumstances work at good start if you are pregnant. Management is absolutely disrespectful as I quote comment "pregnancy is a choice not an illness, so dont expect any special treatment" when expected to lift extremely heavy play equipment at 34wks AND they DO NOT support breastfeeding working mothers. Resulting in a 4mth old to starve. have pushed... staff to the point of having anxiety attacks. Please do not put yourself through this. They have caused so much emotional demage. Paper work will be done in your own time. Goodstart is all about profit and this under house ratio is absolutely a joke. Be prepared to be pushed to breaking point. Im now left to pick the pieces up from my experience. Just remember organisations like this always come out best.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are the heart and sole to this company. How dare management treat thes staff who are on the floor like absolutely filth while they sit behind a desk all day. Serious advice, your educators are to scared to speak out because they will get targeted. If the board really care about staff a formal investigation needs to be carried out on all managers, I suggest interviewing all the staff and pick the rats... in management out and get rid of them. They are distroying your company.

    Show More
    Goodstart Early Learning2017-10-06
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Bullied by 3 Co-workers, two in senior positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Early Learning Educator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    the Children, their families and a few of the Staff

    Cons

    After induction 2 years ago, I was swiftly bullied by an Assistant Director, I almost made a formal complaint, as it involved Direct and Indirect Bullying but as I was new to the organisation I didn't want to lose my job, so I stopped working at that Centre. The bullying took place in front of many witnesses (other staff). I then starting working for a different centre, one I thought was a wonderful, supportive... place to work and do further studies in. After a year there I was mistreated by another casual but fortunately she eventually left. 8 months ago however, another Casual started, she pushed and bossed her way through, severely bullying me in the process. I tried to speak to the co-worker but it fell on deaf ears. I then spoke to the new Director (who started only 6 months ago), advising her of the bullying and that I had been trying for 2 years to attain permanent work there and of my Diploma studies and my apparent eligibility for permanent work. (I was advised by the organisation that I was eligible) She said to try and speak again to the co-worker about the bullying and offered no feedback on how to attain a permanent position. My State Trainer advised me to email my Director, outlaying all my Qualifications, 15 years Employment in Children's Services, Personal Statement, and details of my approved application of RPL towards Diploma (Director said she would have a face-to-face discussion with me about the email but it never eventuated) After the discussion with the Director, she also started bullying me! I now had 2 associates bullying me!. For more than 2 years I expressed my desire for permanent work in the Kindergarten Room and applied a few times for employment there. It always seemed to fall on deaf ears. I approached the People and Culture Department, Fair Work Commission, Working Women's Centre, etc. etc. about the bullying. It quickly became clear that I would be singled out and made the scapegoat. The attitude from the organisation was negative and defensive. There would be a series of interviews with me, the 2 associates and any witnesses (there were many) I felt outnumbered and extremely stressed at having to fight the system single-handedly, I had serious stress-related illnesses and decided to leave the Centre, feeling defeated and with low self-esteem.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Interview Process to all new employees of Goodstart ELC should firstly include a "zero tolerance of bullying" policy and should be made a priority in Mandatory Training and regular meetings. Employees who are being bullied do not feel supported by the organisation at all, if anything they are victimized and ridiculed for speaking up.

    Goodstart Early Learning2017-09-08

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    September 12, 2017Corporate Affairs

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and offer some advice. We take the issues you’ve raised very seriously and would be happy to talk them through with you if you wish. Please call us on 1800 890 933 or email: people@goodstart.org.au.

  9. Helpful (10)

    "TOXIC, BULLYING CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Educator in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are none, bar some lovely kids & families.

    Cons

    Cliques, heavy workload, inconsistent treatment of staff, inconsistent everything from Centre to Centre. This place has every con you can think of & then some. Calls to work when you are still unwell & not cleared to work. Incredibly soul destroying & unprofessional when one passes the office & hears a group of woman & 2IC gossiping in that nasty way only a group of "favorite & safe" woman can do. Hard to believe... that every Center has different policies (?)., most certainly different procedures. Log on for work early & stay back, but try to get paid for it! Get called in - only to be sent home after 40 mins & a lot of kids away, so sent home - & only paid for that (usually 30 mins due to time increments). Open at one Center then on lunch break drive to another centre (so NO lunch & few $). Given warnings for unfounded accusations (by who?) Why a huge Company (with Head Office having a Manager for every single on-trend area ie: People & Culture, Talent acquisition, & a lot more nonsensical jobs that seem to overlap on top $) with predominantly woman working closely together - where is the Manager for Floor (& the Company's most valuable assets) Staff to workshop regularly in how to support, mentor, encourage & lead by example & some kindness would be gratefully received -rather than gossip then run to their Director (whose so inconsistent with who, what & why & often gossipy herself), many other Educators don't get either. Ive watched with horror as Nursery babies cry for hours but "don't you dare go in & pat. They have to learn from day 1 - they self soothe". Where their is collusion & cover ups & outright lies, how much other dirty laundry is there? This Company makes me physically sick when I think of how myself (& I suspect others) have been mistreated. I have been witness to some shocking treatment of great Educators - all the " old girls" band together. Truth & integrity don't count. Only the exact number of Educators at any given time to cover ratios - then "you can go home now". Lastly - some Centre allow you to take your 10 min breaks, others tell you straight up " we don't do that here" & guilt you if you take your entitlement. What ARE all those millions of Managers doing to bring about some positive change. For Gods sake - working with children should be a gift & joyful - not a nightmare.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Jokes right? Like management gives a toss about staff well-being, give advice at your own peril. How many managers can one Company have & still get it so wrong?

    Goodstart Early Learning2017-08-30

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    September 6, 2017Corporate Affairs

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take the issues you’ve raised very seriously. While we appreciate you may wish to remain anonymous, if you would like to talk more about it, please call us on 1800 890 933 or email: people@goodstart.org.au

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Lead educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casual Lead Educator (Senior Educator) in Toowoomba
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The families like most are very welcoming easy to build relationships with as well as the children. Many educators are there for the right reasons and there to do their job.

    Cons

    It seams educators that do less or do not meet tasks at hand get more positive outcomes then those who do their job. We are treated like numbers not people. I was full time for 10 years and currently casual after having a baby 3 months. Time went by and as i am finding thoughall my years i am not getting a chance to get my foot back in the door to support my family. I put in all the extra work went above and beyond... for the company and now i get tossed to the side! While pregnant i was bullied badly and nothing was dond. I was told it was a hormone imbalance and wasnt really happening..........

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff for who they are what work they do and how good they are. After all its the staff who continue to keep families who line pockets. We are the ones who bend over backwards to try do the company right when the company doesnt care!

    Goodstart Early Learning2017-03-27

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    September 6, 2017Corporate Affairs

    Thanks for your review. We share the same objective, we want to make a positive difference to children and families. And our educators have a big job that takes loads of energy and commitment. So firstly, thank you for your commitment over the past 8 years. Your feedback speaks ...

    Show More
Found 66 reviews