Goodstart Early Learning "centres" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Goodstart Early Learning Employee Reviews about "centres"

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Goodstart Early Learning CEO Julia Davison
Julia Davison
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "I enjoy the camaraderie that I have with a handful of professional educators(in 6 reviews)

  • "Any surplus is spent on staff development, centres and advocacy(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have worked at all three centres in Melton and not one offers high quality early learning and it all filters down from management(in 8 reviews)

  • "And that people in office are counted towards ratios(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "centres"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Beautiful community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Early Childhood Educator 

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time

    Pros

    The community at Goodstart is so great as at most childcare centres the staff are so supportive and lovely and there is lots of support for training and career progression available to staff from the management

    Cons

    Some financial aspects sit uncomfortably with me, the directors don't always seem to understand the needs of the rooms or the staff. There is often a feeling that our director won't stand up for us, so we need to protect eachother

    Advice to Management

    This is something that is quite common in the industry I think there has to be a big systemic change to fix these things

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-02-01

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We think our Goodstart community is pretty special too. It is tricky to balance all the needs in a centre and we're working on ensuring our centre directors have the skills and resources to achieve that balance for their teams, ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Disappointing 🤯"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Leader in West Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relationships built with the children and families.

    Cons

    Built beautiful relationships with the staff in this certain centre. After a few years, had a big change in staffing and environment, now the environment isnt so joyful to come to, a few toxic personalities makes it very hard to spend 5 days 37.5 hours a week in, bullying is high in most centres ive been to as this is evident through the reviews on here as well as if you walk...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If only you knew what it is like to live and breathe our role you will understand.

    Goodstart Early Learning2018-11-10

    Goodstart Early Learning Response

    February 4, 2019National Lead Employee Experience

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback - and sorry to hear that you had a mixed experience with us. Early Learning is a highly regulated industry and there are a lot of requirements we need to meet by law, including recording children's learning and maintaining ...

    Show More
  3. "Goodstart has a very noble purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A social enterprise that has children at its heart Any surplus is spent on staff development, centres and advocacy Cares about inclusion and disadvantage - Mission, the Brotherhood, SVA and Benevolent were its founders

    Cons

    Some centre leaders are stronger than others Some centre buildings need upgrading

    Advice to Management

    Keep going on the journey - we have come along way since ABC days There is still so much untapped potential

    Goodstart Early Learning2017-01-15
  4. "Right person right role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toowoomba
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a big focus on attracting and retaining the right person. It's not for profit so profits go back to the centres and children.

    Cons

    Need more casual educators.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course to achieve great outcomes for children.

    Goodstart Early Learning2016-12-13
  5. "Committed to leading professional development for all staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Early Childhood Teacher in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well organised and established learning and development opportunities.

    Cons

    Some of the centres could use a face lift.

    Goodstart Early Learning2016-12-14
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Children's Service Worker in Sunshine West
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount on childcare fees. But even this is hardly a pro when you know your child will not receive the care and attention they need from Educators due to understaffing.

    Cons

    The company cares only about profits. The company spends big dollars on publications and training that supports great practice but does not adequately staff centres to implement the content. Centres staff across the Building to cover ratio leaving many staff in direct supervision of children way outside the maximum legal ratio. Children...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop talking the talk and start walking it. Your company is toxic not only to the over worked floor staff but sadly to many Australian children.

    Goodstart Early Learning2016-12-12
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Has Not Changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free uniforms and great discounts on child care fees. The Director makes the centre so a great Director = great workplace

    Cons

    The company may have changed names but the culture is unfortunately still toxic, in some centres. Management need to listen to employees rather than just directors and area managers

    Advice to Management

    Start acting like a not for profit organisation which puts the children first. At the moment, you are still too concerned about profits

    Goodstart Early Learning2016-05-13
  8. "A looot of rooms for improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Perth, Western Australia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning

    Pros

    it's supposed to be non profit so the play yards are better maintained now than the time of ABC.

    Cons

    some centres are better than the others. But generally, smaller centres are better than the bigger ones. Children in the bigger centres tend to get less attention and individual attention can be quite bad. The management successfully trains robots with no face of humanities. As long as following...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    your management has no personal face, just robots. Some of your staffs are friendly and genuinely nice and love children. But the management team can be something else.

    Goodstart Early Learning2016-03-11
  9. Helpful (9)

    "All about $$$$ NOT kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brisbane
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    There ISNT many. There are some LOVELY staff that just leave after a while cause of the BS that goes on. Some of the kids are lovely to look after.

    Cons

    POOR pay, POOR conditions, LACK of resources in many Centres, TOO MANY cover ups, LACK of support from MANY directors. EXPECTATIONS too high.

    Advice to Management

    CARE about your staff, instead of $$$$$' & trying to save $$$ to get your bonus. Good staff leave cause of the crap & the ones that stay are the CRAWLERS.

    Goodstart Early Learning2015-06-30
Found 57 reviews