Google Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Google Account Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 180 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
60 Ratings
  1. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Diversity and internationally focussed mindset is inspiring

    Cons

    Overqualified staff led to being under challenged at times

    Google2019-07-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Not what used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Generous benefits package, including competitive salary, free food, a beautiful office... - Friendly colleagues from all over the world. - Company is supportive of internal mobility. Google is a great company for anybody considering international career opportunities.

    Cons

    - Many sales jobs are extremely repetitive and boring, and they offer very limited room for growth. It sometimes feel like working in a glorified customer support call centre. - Sales organisation at Google is extremely political. Career growth is completely linked to internal politics and zero-impact projects purely made for visibility. - Promotions and your level affect the amount of internal opportunities available,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Pay more attention to actual clients' needs, rather than focusing in internal metrics and priorities. - Support employees' career growth by rewarding real impact projects, and not just internal politics and visibility.

    Google2019-07-13
  3. "The Best Training Ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to expand your knowledge

    Cons

    Limited ability to pitch new ideas

    Google2019-05-09
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Golden Cage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits: Great remuneration package, free food, paid insurance, generous share and bonus scheme; maternity/paternity leave etc. In general, you'll find amazingly talented pool of people to work with, flat organisational structure, collaborative environment. Geographical moves are easy and also encouraged within the company.

    Cons

    Highly competitive, overly metric driven, constant reorganisations and management changes making career development difficult. Career progression can be an issue if your manager is unsupportive, and may be limited depending on the location you're working in. Smaller offices have less career development opportunities. In sales, there is a strong 'me, myself and I' culture where you will need to position your achievements...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Eat your own dogfood and support your team during tough times. Management frequently passes the buck when the going gets tough. Get your hands dirty!!

    Google2017-07-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The best company to work for. Period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work culture, free food

    Cons

    You feel like a small cog in a big machine

    Google2013-04-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Killer place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture and people are the essence of Google. This culture fosters great innovation.

    Cons

    Change is constant at Google. We hire people who are flexible, but not all react well to change.

    Google2012-08-06
  7. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Google full-time

    Pros

    Great company I loved it all

    Cons

    None it's a great company

    Google2019-08-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stable, Excellent Leadership, & Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perks aka "the golden handcuffs" -- food, laundry, gyms, discounts everywhere, etc. Exposure to the best leaders in the world Resume = set for life

    Cons

    Not able to make direct impact on the businss

    Google2019-08-05
  9. "very good really enjoyed it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Google Adwords Account Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    everything was very good to be fair

    Cons

    nothing if im honest I love google

    Google2019-07-27
  10. "Good to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    apartment medical insurance life quality

    Cons

    salary was low but it was good, you can live easily

    Google2019-07-24
Found 180 reviews