Google Reviews in Mountain View, CA | Glassdoor.com.au

Google Mountain View Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2017 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
537 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities and smart co-workers.

    Cons

    You hit a barrier once reaching L5.

    Google2019-06-26
  2. "Inovative Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always wanted to come into work

    Cons

    no th ing mu ch

    Google2019-06-25
  3. "Great engineering, very political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great engineering, great teams, great benefits.

    Cons

    Anything to the right of Marx is political. Anything political is offensive.

    Advice to Management

    The vocal activist political faction will never be satisfied.

    Google2019-07-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best company ever! Google

    Cons

    We don’t have bad things at google

    Google2019-06-20
  5. "Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Automation Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    everything is fine over there

    Cons

    nothing as such. rest depends

    Google2019-06-22
  6. "Nothing to complain, but nothing to be excited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - User Experience Designer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Google for more than a year

      Pros

      Very cozy environment, and a lot of talented people

      Cons

      They care too much about the creative process but don't care too much about creativity itself.

      Google2019-07-03
    • Helpful (4)

      "Occupational gridlock, no leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Design Manager in Mountain View, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - amazing benefits - some of the most brilliant people you'll ever work with - great location(s) - incredible career development opportunities & training - potential* (see cons) to work on products that make a difference in peoples' lives

      Cons

      - working, the actual work part, at google, is paralyzed and tedious. - PMs. You could be a world-recognized expert in cryptography but because a first year PM has an opinion about cryptography that he read on Techcrunch, you are subjected to it. - Arrogance. Everywhere. Designers vs. engineers. PMs vs. designers. Everyone within their team is tight, but teams fight because the company historically only needed engineers....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      make google mean something again

      Google2019-06-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great place to retire"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Program Manager in Mountain View, CA
        Recommends

        I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        1) On certain teams you can cruise and do a couple hours of work per day max. Feels like retirement! 2) Great pay, benefits, and perks.

        Cons

        1) Too many overqualified people, too little interesting work to go around 2) Sometimes gets boring especially in large and established orgs

        Advice to Management

        Keep over hiring so I can cruise even more!

        Google2019-06-27
      • "Software Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Google full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Best environment, flexible environment, room to grow

        Cons

        I can't complain much about the company

        Google2019-06-17
      • "Meh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good food, benefits, work environment

        Cons

        Nothing special. Depends on the team you're put in.

        Google2019-07-01
      Found 2017 reviews