Google Reviews in Mountain View, CA | Glassdoor.com.au

Google Mountain View Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
565 Ratings
  1. "Good for FTEs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Technical Program Manager in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at Google for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good management - Free lunch - Free commute

    Cons

    Different attitude towards TVC employees

    Google2019-10-09
  2. "No longer a startup... still pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people - definitely a culture of cooperation, and with lots of smart coworkers, this makes for an excellent work environment.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy has been over the top for a while now. The number of hoops you need to jump through to release a new project is crazy. I guess it makes sense for such a large company, but still not a great situation to be in.

    Google2019-10-07
  3. "Applications Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very very good experience Nice environment

    Cons

    No cons I can think

    Google2019-09-18
  4. "Get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Tech Support Specialist in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Google for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of tools for the job Free food and travel

    Cons

    Easy to get lost in the population Not much room for growth

    Google2019-10-01
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    > the best there is > pays well

    Cons

    > too large > too complex

    Google2019-09-13
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A wonderful place to work before you get too burned out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Google is a truly exceptional company to work for in so many regards. From the amazing perks like unlimited food, to free transportation to work, to everything in between, the company really does have everything you could want from a benefits package.

    Cons

    The downside of having all of this, is that you attract the worlds best colleagues. Seemingly you would think this is a good thing, and while to a degree it is (pretty much everyone I work with is outright brilliant), the repercussions of this are far greater than you would initially assume. Imagine the most type A, overachieving folks in your old college classes. You know, the ones that will literally go way above... and beyond to do a truly exceptional job (chances are if you work at Google you were one of those folks). Now imagine only the top 1% of all of those people are in one place at the same time. Now think about what happens to the culture when you put all of those folks together and keep hiring them as your company scales. Suddenly everyone is taking on the max possible amount of work and doing the equivalent of 3 people's workload, and then that becomes the norm for everyone. And no one will ever complain about it because at the end of the day everyone wants to be a team player and never say no to a request, regardless of the time commitment. This leads to everyone working long hours, working on vacations, and even while sick. To make matters worse, your manager is probably the same way. Since Google will hire a director from another company and make them a manager at Google (because Google is so big a director's scope of work will be similar to that of a manager at Google), chances are your direct manager has the ambition of a top preforming senior leader. And while they are likely to be very nice (for example my current manager is absolutely amazing) , they will set your workload based on your peer's workload since the average assumption is that if the others on the team can do it, why can't you? Put this all together and you quickly have folks burning out left and right, and consequentially a very low average tenure for your team despite people loving their core jobs. It quite sad really because everyone I know in my Org is very happy outside of the amount of burnout they feel. Another important note is that it takes forever to get promoted at Google because regardless of how good the quality of your work is, you have to compete against colleagues who generally speaking are willing to do whatever it takes, and make any life compromise necessary to get promoted. Overall, I think Google is a well intended company, with well intended employees that sadly have fell victim to losing their own culture through scaling and hiring the best.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be consciousness of what example you are setting for your directs . It is completely okay to be ambitious and hard working, but understand that type of workflow isn't sustainable over long periods of time. Very few people want to leave the team because they are unhappy, most leave because they simply are burned out and have already given everything they can to the team. We love Google, but it has to be a team... effort to keep making it a wonderful place to work as we continue to grow.

    Show More
    Google2019-09-19
  7. "Very comfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits, and resources

    Cons

    Not that inspiring or motivating

    Google2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Processing job at Alphabet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Processing in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is competitive and one can grow in industry.

    Cons

    There is lack of work-life balance. Sometimes i would work seven days a week.

    Google2019-09-21
  9. "University Recruiter -- Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - University Recruiter in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Google for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, utilize Google benefits. Part of an incredible team

    Cons

    Work is repetitive, contractors are treated like second class citizens, do not get to utilize all benefits like a FTE

    Google2019-09-22
  10. "All-Around Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - SWE Intern in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    - The best infrastructure. Developing at Google is so easy. - Open, nice culture. I've only been there for two internships, but everyone was super easy to talk to. - Great work life balance. My manager was very understanding. - Nice perks (discounts on tickets, massages, etc.)

    Cons

    - It's size is also a con. Can feel like you have little impact.

    Google2019-09-02
Found 2066 reviews