Google Reviews in Mountain View, CA | Glassdoor.com.au

Google Mountain View Reviews

Updated 21 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2021 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
540 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic place to be, horrible recruitment process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    - Dozens of cafes and food options on-site - Gyms on-site - Amazing perks, competitive pay for the Bay Area - Large housing stipend - Solid work-life balance

    Cons

    - Winter/Fall semesters lacking in intern events - Horrendous recruitment process (extremely slow, very stressful host matching process) - Conversion interviews. This is the only company I know that does this. If you want to return full-time after your internship you need to complete two HARDER technical interviews.

    Advice to Management

    Cut conversion interviews out, make host matching guaranteed.

    Google2019-06-03
  2. "Googlez"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Free food and free bus a huge plus.

    Cons

    Not a lot of freedom of speech. Employees pitted against each other.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent about all salaries.

    Google2019-06-03
  3. "It's better than you can imagine."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Strategist (Contractor) in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant and friendly people, great work/life balance, hardworking individuals, learning at a rapid pace, MASSAGES & WORKOUT CLASSES, free food

    Cons

    My anxiety has been higher lately

    Advice to Management

    Keep being awesome :)

    Google2019-05-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Myeh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly amazing people. Exposure to cool industry leading projects and talent.

    Cons

    Passive aggressive culture. Open floor plans kill productivity. Operationally a mess. Worst work life balance of my career.

    Advice to Management

    Ideas and processes that worked when you were in the Wojcicki’s garage in the 90s won’t work for a 100,000+ company. Grow up. Make some strategic plans.

    Google2019-05-27
  5. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture, workflow, inclusion and potential for growth here is amazing.

    Cons

    Maybe the company is too big, you feel like one more little cog.

    Google2019-05-15
  6. "Awesome place to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart coworkers, great perks, learned a lot

    Cons

    Long commute from the city, but hey, that's Bay Area traffic

    Google2019-05-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great comp, scattered leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Design Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits, including food, shuttle buses, insurance, etc.

    Cons

    The leadership style is not top-down, so fiefdoms emerge that sometimes compete directly on products, and often compete for resources. The promotion system is not merit based, and instead rewards how well you can game the rules.

    Google2019-05-23
  8. "Good Company Good People."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of variety at Google, plenty of problems, teams, and locations. The company mothers you and is very kind to it's employees.

    Cons

    Living in suburbia Mountain View is boring. SF is far away from the main office.

    Google2019-05-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Still a great company but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - People - Pay - Benefits - of course the Food

    Cons

    - Bureaucratic - Political - Empire building - Lack of direction (Typical problems of a big company)

    Advice to Management

    - The company needs less consensus building and more action. - Don't over analyze, be brave and make a decision. - Performance review decisions should only be made by the employee's manager. Why have calibration meetings when 90% of the other leaders don't know what your employee does? - Don't boast that we have the smartest people in the world. That way of thinking promotes arrogance and complacency. - When did...

    Show More
    Google2019-05-21
  10. "Loved my time @ Google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Specialist in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited charter on obtaining your goals, and investing in yourself.

    Cons

    Sometimes there's a few bottlenecks in terms of processes, but overall, the experience is awesome!

    Google2019-05-09
Found 2021 reviews