Google Product Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Google Product Manager Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
78 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Sydney
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very inspiring workplace, fantastic colleagues, mission driven and culturally pretty good for its size

    Cons

    Choice of Office matters for career progression and visibility

    Google2018-05-29
  2. "Marketing manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is great. You get free meals/snacks, massages in the office, and a great work environment. There are also a lot of educational opportunities and trainings so you feel like you're always learning and growing as an employee.

    Cons

    Expectations are very high and people can be very competitive depending on your field. It can be stressful. In addition, it seems most people work round the clock and I found myself on email nights/weekends, not because I had to be, but I felt that it was the norm. It can take over your life a bit.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend more fairly giving perf. It seems that the calibrations for people's final perf scores are based mainly on hitting a certain average for each team which can be very unfair.

    Google2014-04-15
  3. "Amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Crave for innovation and drive to constant improvement

    Cons

    Sometimes decision making could be faster

    Google2019-10-15
  4. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - culture, perks, compensation, treatment of employees, ability to do impactful work

    Cons

    - large, pace of work is slowing down, red tape,

    Google2019-09-23
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and teams that can build anything

    Cons

    Sometimes things are slower than you'd like

    Google2019-09-21
  6. "Good company but not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Top notch engineering teams - Company still cares about their employees - ICs have a lot of freedom and flexibility

    Cons

    - Not what it used to be; company has definitely matured to a larger company and cost measures are definitely in place (definitely noticed the difference after Ruth) - Weak middle and senior management; this is largely compensated by strong ICs - Benefits are okay but not industry leadining

    Advice to Management

    Hire more competent management who fit the Google culture.

    Google2019-09-18
  7. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They take care of their employees.

    Cons

    It's incredibly bureaucratic and hard to do new things.

    Google2019-09-04
  8. "PMM pay at google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good base, equity and bonus

    Cons

    Terribly slow promos and career advancement

    Google2019-07-27
  9. "Google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time

    Pros

    Challenging projects. Great pay. Great colleagues

    Cons

    Nothing at the moment to share.

    Google2019-07-17
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenge, growth, autonomy, smart colleagues, learning, perks and compensation

    Cons

    The company is getting too big

    Google2019-07-06
Found 211 reviews