Google Product Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Google Product Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
73 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Sydney
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very inspiring workplace, fantastic colleagues, mission driven and culturally pretty good for its size

    Cons

    Choice of Office matters for career progression and visibility

    Google2018-05-29
  2. "Marketing manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is great. You get free meals/snacks, massages in the office, and a great work environment. There are also a lot of educational opportunities and trainings so you feel like you're always learning and growing as an employee.

    Cons

    Expectations are very high and people can be very competitive depending on your field. It can be stressful. In addition, it seems most people work round the clock and I found myself on email nights/weekends, not because I had to be, but I felt that it was the norm. It can take over your life a bit.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend more fairly giving perf. It seems that the calibrations for people's final perf scores are based mainly on hitting a certain average for each team which can be very unfair.

    Google2014-04-15
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenge, growth, autonomy, smart colleagues, learning, perks and compensation

    Cons

    The company is getting too big

    Google2019-07-06
  4. "Life changing experience both personally and professionally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Product Marketing Manager in Nairobi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart People. Exciting Projects. Supportive Managers. Growth Opportunities. Stimulating Environment. Amazing and Encouraging Perks.

    Cons

    None. I knew what I was getting into when I applied and from previous research, I was ready for everything. What some may call cons, I called opportunities for growth and learning.

    Google2019-07-01
  5. "great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free breakfast, lunch, and dinner free snacks and drinks and tons of perks

    Cons

    lots of between you and management hard to make impact

    Google2019-07-09
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, flexible work schedules, transportation offers, food

    Cons

    Sluggish culture compared to startups, has become large enough that internal politics are a lot more noticeable now.

    Google2019-06-12
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to coast, not great for ambitious people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Some of the best colleagues you'll ever find. Kind, brilliant, reliable, funny. - Great compensation for non-tech; I will not easily be able to match my total comp package elsewhere for a PMM role - Lots of responsibility available if you want it - Prestige factor; once you have Google on your resume you can work anywhere I used to love working at Google - a factor of being early in my career, and starting out...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Stakeholder management is rough. It's a huge company that refuses to adapt to being a huge company. If you worked at Samsung or Amex, there would be a clear hierarchy of decision-making and approvals. Google is huge but teams rarely have any clear approval processes, decision-making processes, etc. It is all decided by individual team managers, most of whom don't set up a process at all or stick by it. So you end up...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The above cons are well-known and will not be fixed unless an SVP cares to do so, and even then, it'll only be because the market demands those changes. So, there's no point to giving advice.

    Google2019-06-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Empowered, open, collaborative, satisfying, joyful

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, ambiguous, arrogant, big, inflexible

    Google2019-05-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great comp, scattered leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Design Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits, including food, shuttle buses, insurance, etc.

    Cons

    The leadership style is not top-down, so fiefdoms emerge that sometimes compete directly on products, and often compete for resources. The promotion system is not merit based, and instead rewards how well you can game the rules.

    Google2019-05-23
  10. "Overworked but well paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 

      I have been working at Google full-time

      Pros

      smart people that are looking to do the right thing

      Cons

      Long work days and very political environment

      Google2019-05-29
    Found 205 reviews