Google San Bruno Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
7 Ratings
  1. "Awesome job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks. Great people. Great products.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times trying to be as productive as all the other hardworking and smart folks you work with.

    Google2020-05-20
  2. "Great job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Interaction Designer in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Design and build product that impact nearly everyone in the world!

    Cons

    Company has gotten larger and it takes longer to get things out the door.

    Google2020-03-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lousy experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice perks, hours not too bad

    Cons

    Dysfunctional management structure, pressure to do new things over good work.

    Google2019-07-29
  4. "Best Company in the world!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer, Tools and Infrastructures in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart & hardworking teammates, perfect work-life balance and great benefits

    Cons

    Google only use its own tools, as a new-grad student, I do feel some pressure learning so many tools at the same time.

    Google2018-08-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Loved working for Google!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Monetization Analyst in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits, food, people, and the work itself is great!

    Cons

    It's very hard to move up the ranks at Google. Everyone is a superstar so you are competing with the very best of the best for that next promotion. The review process is pretty brutal.

    Continue reading
    Google2018-03-14
  6. "Great perks! Less than ideal treatment to contractors..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Marketing Project Manager in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google for more than a year

    Pros

    Full time employees are treated like everyday's a vacation!

    Cons

    Contract employees are treated like disposable chopsticks...

    Google2017-07-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Bruno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time

    Pros

    None, everything is horrible at this place

    Cons

    Horrible place to work at

    Continue reading
    Google2017-07-04
  8. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super flexible working hours Good pay Do as much work as you want and get recognized for as much as you do

    Cons

    Getting somewhat cumbersome to do some development tasks, due to larger overhead

    Google2017-05-13
  9. "Awesome company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing perks, competitive pay, cool work environment

    Cons

    It's hard to have a work-life balance

    Continue reading
    Google2016-11-21
  10. Helpful (22)

    "User Experience Researcher / always was Product Specialist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Researcher in San Bruno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Teamwork, always someone who can help, competitive, fun environment, free food, intelligent colleagues everywhere

    Cons

    not family-friendly now that I have kids - I don't wan to spend time playing ping pong and taking advantage of free fun events. I want to get home with my kids.

    Continue reading