Google Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Senior Software Engineer

Google Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Google CEO Sundar Pichai
Sundar Pichai
62 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "It's Google, and it's better than the reputation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Where else can you work at this scale?

    Cons

    If you're not in California, there are somewhat fewer opportunities. Not you can take all the opportunities that show up anyway.

    Advice to Management

    Spread the company out more... Silicon Valley is a risk factor because there are too many eggs in that one basket.

    Google2017-08-12
  2. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks, smart colleagues, heaps of cash, products with huge impact

    Cons

    Big corporation, slow to change or create new stuff, general sense of disillusionment

    Advice to Management

    Make coding fun again.

    Google2017-02-28
  3. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google

    Pros

    Work life balance, technology, learning, and career growth

    Cons

    Long working hours sometimes, otherwise its perfect.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on new technologies.

    Google2017-01-21
  4. "Great engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Google full-time

    Pros

    Great engineering culture. Best place to work

    Cons

    Sometimes it's too slow to move projects forward

    Google2019-10-09
  5. "Awesome place when you find a good fit team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation, culture, possibility for big impact.

    Cons

    Finding a team you're interested in can be hard if you're interested in something specific.

    Google2019-10-06
  6. "No longer a startup... still pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people - definitely a culture of cooperation, and with lots of smart coworkers, this makes for an excellent work environment.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy has been over the top for a while now. The number of hoops you need to jump through to release a new project is crazy. I guess it makes sense for such a large company, but still not a great situation to be in.

    Google2019-10-07
  7. "Really nice in terms of focusing on your job/research."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Google full-time

    Pros

    Good culture. I really love it.

    Cons

    Feeling a little sad that less hard workers here.

    Google2019-09-15
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    > the best there is > pays well

    Cons

    > too large > too complex

    Google2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Still a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    * Almost everyone around you is pretty darn smart and works hard. * Managers are generally competent, smart, well intentioned, but not experienced and trained as managers, as they were mostly former engineers. (this is me :-) ) * Salary and benefits are good. Free food etc. * Performance review system is complicated but understandable. You can generally understand pretty clearly what you need to do to get... promoted and succeed. At least up to L5, Senior Software Engineer.

    Show More

    Cons

    * It isn't as good as it used to be. 10 years ago, focus was entirely on doing the right thing for the user. Now, focus is on keeping the money train going. This short term thinking is hurting long term potential, and is often bad for users. * Management "Ethics" seem to be mainly: Whatever they can get away with, without annoying European and US governments too much, and makes money, is good. Even if it is not... good for our users. * 10 years ago, we had a lot more bottom up innovation. 20% projects, taking risks, trying crazy innovative things. That's pretty much gone now. Top down planning, lots of status updates to management, proving that what you are doing is working and contributing to the organization's goals. Much more bureaucracy then there used to be. * It's just another big company now. Good, but not exceptional the way it used to be.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get back to the long term thinking that made the company successful in the first place.

    Google2019-09-18
  10. "awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very good work life balance

    Cons

    moves a bit slow sometimes

    Google2019-09-01
Found 249 reviews