Great Expressions Dental Centers Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Great Expressions Dental Centers Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Dan Hirschfeld
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "GEDC has great Benefits and room for growth with in the company(in 10 reviews)

  • "I had childhood dentist phobia but desperately needed dental treatment(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management treated us like toys instead of people(in 13 reviews)

  • "No cons really, new employee so time will tell(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pretty good work culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Openness of all executive team.

    Cons

    Vacation time isn’t the best.

    Advice to Management

    More group meets about company improvements.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-09
  2. "Wonderful until my position was eliminated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people at offices to work with. Patients are wonderful and helping them makes you feel good about your job.

    Cons

    Downsizing due to financial concerns.

    Advice to Management

    Have loyalty to your long time employees.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-08
  3. "22 years in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Southfield, MI
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great hours, no nights or weekends

    Cons

    Bad management at the upper level trickling down to the offices. Restructuring the bonus system so that it's almost not worth trying. Taking away commissions, etc.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-07-26
  4. "Prepare to sell sell sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist 

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time

    Pros

    Full benefits, open line of communication with hygiene director

    Cons

    Medical benefits are through an unheard of company and not widely accepted

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-09
  5. "Not worth it, apply elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly hygienists, doctors, and their assistants.

    Cons

    Owners are stuck up and NOT friendly, horrible training program, not flexible AT ALL, owners are not understanding, one certain location has a toxic and highly inappropriate work environment. I personally dreaded going to work because of the environment. At the very least, you want to enjoy the work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Get a better training program, look into your staff and how offices are ran when upper management is not around.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-08-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employees, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Department in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every same level coworker I had was amazing, dedicated, and awesome to work with. Great people who kept the organization going.

    Cons

    Mid-level management is a joke in IT. More than one person in that department was run off by one, single person. Created hostile work environment and used degradation and intimidation to manage employees. Often micro-managing and taking credit for other people's work.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-07-22
  7. "Over worked not enough pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get an hour lunch.

    Cons

    Very pushy and demanding doctors. Very low compensation and expected to do a lot of work.

    Advice to Management

    Better pay and get respectful Doctors that do not speak down to the assistants

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-07-03
  8. "Great company, bad leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People and team members were great

    Cons

    Upper management treated us like toys instead of people.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-06-09
  9. "Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some of the reasons Great Expressions was a great place to work were all the employees I trained and had promoted.

    Cons

    Great expressions does not support employees. Long time employee working OT and not paid. Found out I was fired while on FMLA. Then company claimed I quit. My dedication to years of employment, ability to hire and train every level of employee, and stellar performance was overlooked when I had to tend to 2 immediate family members dying. Although supporting my position during an unpaid leave I was presumed quit. Found...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Regional management is more concerned about themselves than creating a team. Listen to each employee via different avenues. Do not allow recourse from regional management during reviews. Create more collaborative platforms. My successful team was dismembered soon after my denied dismissal, Doctors included. Look at your long term staff and try to maintain their efforts

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-06-30
  10. "Former Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Expressions Dental Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice patients, guaranteed lunch breaks

    Cons

    You are just a number. Nothing more.

    Great Expressions Dental Centers2019-06-06
Found 280 reviews